The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 68

Reviewer: Nooboobaby724559Date: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144746Chapter: 1
awe! so cute!
keep writing!!!

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144367Chapter: 1
"Hey!" He looked indignant. "Almost? When've either of you ever beaten me once?"

I love that line. It's amazing how clever you are with your subtle humor. I wish I could write like this. Really sweet piece.

Reviewer: raindropshpDate: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141263Chapter: 1
That was really cute!
(that book would have come in handy for me)
Please keep writing!

Reviewer: dobbinDate: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140515Chapter: 1
This is one of the most touching fanfics ever. I keep on comimg again a and again to it, it's so simple and yet so insightful. Keep on writing, B Benett!

Reviewer: beardieDate: 2006-01-21
Reviewid: 138773Chapter: 1
Heartwarming story

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130371Chapter: 1
That was sooo cute!!!

I LOVED IT!!!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129633Chapter: 1
I have always loved this fic. I've read it about a million times. The notes on Hermione's presents are exactly the type of things that I imagine Ron would write. Very sweet!

Reviewer: Katie L.Date: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129458Chapter: 1
sighhhh. I've read a LOT of these but I keep coming back to this one. its so simple and concise but really beautiful and totalllly realistic. thanks & keep writing!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122002Chapter: 1
That was great. Like reading hot chocolate, if that makes sense. Hell, this is the Quill, of course it makes sense ;). Anyway, great fic.

Reviewer: plinkoDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121567Chapter: 1
awe...that was sweet, i loved it

((plinko))

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120721Chapter: 1
Enjoyed.

Reviewer: I like itDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118338Chapter: 1
Is there gonna be any sequel to this fic?

Reviewer: EndicottDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118029Chapter: 1
Awww That was cute I love when Ron and Hermionie flirt without really flirting :D

Reviewer: HopeDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105976Chapter: 1
So good. I especially liked the part where Ron had picked out all the bad Bertie Bott's flavors. :D xo, H

Reviewer: kateDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99270Chapter: 1
Aw! That was really SWEET!
Too bad Ron actually gave Hermione perfume...but I like your version better. Cool.

Reviewer: FioDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96452Chapter: 1
I've reviewed this before, but I just never EVER EVER get tired of it! It's just so perfect! I make a habit of coming back and reading it every few months, because it always leaves me feeling warm and snuggly. It's so simplisticly perfect. It doesn't happen all fast and rushed. It's so tentative and carefully done. I love how their shoulders touch, or their knees not quite touch and stuff like that. It's so subtle, but so beautiful. This is definitely one of my all time favorites. I love how it shows theeir development, and ron's changes over the years just by candy and notes. In the beginning, he was insensitive, but they weren't quite close enough yet for him to be outright mean. Then in second year he was a little prat. How devious of him! Then in third year!!! She noticed there were no horrible flavors...awwww. He slowly but surely matures. Heehehe, well now we know she ends up getting PERFUME from him (EEEP!) but I somehow will always have this version in my head as canon.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95965Chapter: 1
Awwww! That was so cute! Gotta love how the presents got better each year ;). Way to go! :D

*Geena

Reviewer: LydiaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94667Chapter: 1
'The Non-Enthusiast's Guide to Playing Chess and Beating Friends and Relatives Who Almost Always Win and Are Obnoxious About It.' Now THERE'S an oddly specific book. LMAO.

EXCELLENT! Very funny story, made me laugh for *quite* a while ;] and I loved the fluff.

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87845Chapter: 1
Yay. That made me feel all warm inside (and now I want hot cocoa!)

Reviewer: QDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87244Chapter: 1
*happy sigh*
That was really sweet (no, Siriusly sweet!), especially the reference to the Agrippa and Ptolemy cards. And that last four lines. Mmm-mm.
Loved it.
~Q

Reviewer: JoDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86378Chapter: 1
it ended! grr!, i wanted to carry on reading. a lovely, cosy tale to make you go all fuzzy inside!

Reviewer: maryDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85480Chapter: 1
i love it! *Neither moved until Harry stood, half an hour later, and announced that he was hungry.* brilliant!

Reviewer: StarlightDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80326Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Reviewer: crafygurlDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78745Chapter: 1
ohhh......sooooo sweet and sooooo cute!!! i loved it. keep up the good work!!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73779Chapter: 1
That was really cute! I'm not sure why, but my favorite moment was when all three of them were sitting in the common room, with Ron and Hermione next to each other. It was just very sweet.
But then, I LOVED the humor in this, i.e.:

"Checkmate," Ron read aloud. "The Non-Enthusiast's Guide to Playing Chess and Beating Friends and Relatives Who Almost Always Win and Are Obnoxious About It."
Hilariously silly! and the other very funny moment was:

"Dear Hermione,

Happy Christmas.

Your friend,

Ron

p.s. Who are you going to the ball with?"

That was sheer brilliance, can I just tell you? Brilliance. I can't believe you didn't overlook that, and that you made it as funny as JKR did. Brilliant.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73052Chapter: 1
"Almost? When've either of you ever beaten me once?"
LOL!
Nice little fluff.

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69258Chapter: 1
That was such a great idea, using the Christmas gifts!

I really did laugh out loud to Ron's messages with his presents but it was still very sweet.

A really nice ending and what a great book title!

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66833Chapter: 1
AWWWWW! There's just some wonderful fluff quality that makes you want to scream "AWWWW!" over and over again!

Reviewer: KrissyDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64603Chapter: 1
aww soooo cute!!

Reviewer: Laura Elizibeth WilsonDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64587Chapter: 1
Aww!
I absolutely love love the Christmas fluff!
Too bad there wasn't any mistletoe on the way out to breakfast.. that would be interesting.

Reviewer: sbDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61006Chapter: 1
hahha im re-reading all your story's and well ..i love em
thats why im re-reading them.
theyre sweet and long live the SHIPPERS !

Reviewer: katiaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60655Chapter: 1
Awwww...so sweet...

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60380Chapter: 1
If I've read this once, I've read it a dozen times. It's one of my favorites. You do just a great job of moving from humor to emotion. And the humor is really good! Hermione's response to Ron's each year is perfect! Adn when you get to the emotion, it is subtle and not over the top! Very well done!

I love this bit:
>>By the time I finished, Ron's grin had disappeared. He instead looked horrified - and rather impressed.

I smiled at him, then left for breakfast.

Prat.<<

That's just perfect Hermione!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54053Chapter: 1
Awww =) That was cute! I wouldn't be surprised if Hermione went tearing through all the chocolate frogs she could find for those two cards :p

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53829Chapter: 1
i dnt know how u do it but u write in such a way that makes me feel great, and i love al the soppy romance!

luv me

Reviewer: C. LordeDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48635Chapter: 1
Ahhhh...good ol' fluff!!

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48594Chapter: 1
How can u ALWAYS accomplish such sweet and funny stories? I was giggling like mad at all Ron's stupid Christmas notes! He's such a guy! And that's why I (and Hermione) love him! He's so dumb that he's sweet! I think I'm gonna read this again!

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47611Chapter: 1
This is a lovely story. You show the progression of Ron and Hermione's relationship perfectly through his gifts!
Loved this line:
"Checkmate," Ron read aloud. "The Non-Enthusiast's Guide to Playing Chess and Beating Friends and Relatives Who Almost Always Win and Are Obnoxious About It." "Hey!" He looked indignant. "Almost? When've either of you ever beaten me once?"

Hehehe it reminded me of Han's "Who's scruffy looking?" line from the Empire Strikes Back.

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47521Chapter: 1
forgot to mention this earlier: while everyone else may say that you should have kept writing and continue on, I think you had perfect timing and ended it just at the right moment! okay bye now for sure.

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47520Chapter: 1
alright! finally! a good story where they don't kiss or anything! (not like it's a bad thing or anything, but still gotta get away from it everyonce in awhile, you know?) I think you portrayed Ron really well, Hermione too! except i don't think she'd eat the cockroaches. I wouldn't. yeuck. have you ever seen one? they're huge!! i feed them to my turtle!! ahem! enough ranting. just saying your story was great.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47386Chapter: 1
Aha! I think I have found what makes your stories so PERFECT! (other than the fact that you are a very talented writer) You're descriptions are nothing short of magnificent! The way you describe the characters feelings, the details, everything about your stories are so well thought out and superbly written that it flows as nicely as hot butterbeer! Keep writing, and I will definitely keep reading, and keep leaving comments praising ure brilliance!

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47106Chapter: 1
ist cute
i cannot belive that he actually got her PERFUME
its one of those sublteties that i went searchign for- i didnt think that the good luck kiss could be "it" for ron and mione in the 5th... but then i noted the christmas gift.... :)

Reviewer: BrandyDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44940Chapter: 1
You left us hanging!!!!!!!!!!!

But this was very funny:
"Checkmate," Ron read aloud. "The Non-Enthusiast's Guide to Playing Chess and Beating Friends and Relatives Who Almost Always Win and Are Obnoxious About It." "Hey!" He looked indignant. "Almost? When've either of you ever beaten me once?"

Reviewer: AmiyiDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43940Chapter: 1
It was so lovely, and bittersweet. Not to gushy like
other fan fics. I think JKR would be very impressed.
I know I was...

Reviewer: AutumnWindDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39617Chapter: 1
Please write some more!

I love the way things are going.

Reviewer: brittanyDate: 2003-06-25
Reviewid: 38550Chapter: 1
awwwww cute

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33158Chapter: 1
"Checkmate," Ron read aloud. "The Non-Enthusiast's Guide to Playing Chess and Beating Friends and Relatives Who Almost Always Win and Are Obnoxious About It." "Hey!" He looked indignant. "Almost? When've either of you ever beaten me once?"

Classic.

PS-Jeez,just KISS already!

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25353Chapter: 1
Funny and beautiful! Thank you for never, not once ever using the word "snog!"

Reviewer: jessDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23258Chapter: 1
if you hadn't written this so well, i would've called this another fluff story. ur writing is soo distinct. i love it... great job! i was giggling, and thats hard to make me do. good job!

Reviewer: tickle the squidDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19740Chapter: 1
hey dont' be surprised if you see a lot of my notes i've just read two of your stories and im a total fan now. the chainsmoking was hilarious, this one was true to the characters and incredibly endearing. it really shows your range as a writer and i've got a lot of respect.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2002-12-31
Reviewid: 14583Chapter: 1
Lovely fic! Very well written, and loved the beginning and how it showed the transition of their relationship. Again, very well done! :)

Reviewer: CaderynDate: 2002-12-12
Reviewid: 12339Chapter: 1
Wow, I love this fic!!! I love how Ron's changing messages/presents for Hermione reflect his changing feelings!! Your present ideas are so totally creative!! and the characters are so in-character!! I love how Ron's so cute and harry's so... easy-going

Reviewer: TayloireDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11821Chapter: 1
This is so sweet. Im a hermoine/ron fan and i love all your stories. *Clap Clap* Bravo!hehee
~Tayloire

Reviewer: Mellon CollieDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8012Chapter: 1
Hehehehe...you are the Goddess of All Things Sweet and Fluffy!!!! I love you!!! And I love the fic!! Awesome!!!! ROX on!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-25
Reviewid: 7050Chapter: 1
This was amazing.. what else happens? :)

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-10-22
Reviewid: 6823Chapter: 1
Very sweet. Good use of flashbacks.

Reviewer: bambieDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6147Chapter: 1
uh... great writng!

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3560Chapter: 1
AND THEN? What happened?!

Fantastic writing!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3559Chapter: 1
You're a great writer!

Reviewer: KaytieDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2898Chapter: 1
PLEASE MAKE IT LONGER!!!!!! IM HANGIN HERE!!!!!!! lol

Reviewer: soupytwistDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1066Chapter: 1
I was just re-reading this, and it struck me again how very cute it is. It's all 'awww'-y and sweet and just perfect. Lovely.

Reviewer: Ashlie KauffmanDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1047Chapter: 1
This story was SO sweet. The beginning was my favorite part, but the entire thing was VERY sweet. I love this story, and am THRILLED that you've updated so much. You are among the three writers I continually check for- thank you.

Reviewer: umm ...Date: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1041Chapter: 1
SPLENDID! as always. i think it's extremely cute. thanks!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 804Chapter: 1
Amazing, I love that one. It's a classic, baby!!

Reviewer: JillianDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 687Chapter: 1
Wow! Truely wonderful fiction... Please continue if you can! Loved it :)

Reviewer: mosyluDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 636Chapter: 1
I'd just like to know how many Chocolate Frogs Hermione had to snarf down before she got those two cards. *raised eyebrows* HMMM???? Hehehehehehe. Anyway, thanks for the moosh dose! And those gifts--SO like Ron!

Reviewer: lotrfanDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 632Chapter: 1
*can't help the big grin on her face* Awww...full frontal fluff, that is! And yes, redheaded boys in blue, that's always good. Absolutely lovely, as is all of your work:)

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 302Chapter: 1
*sigh* I just love this fic--no matter how many times I read it--and even if it is the middle of summer- I really like how you describe all of Hermione's gifts from other years- very wonderful:-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --