The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Dance
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2007-02-21
Reviewid: 147257Chapter: 1
Odd, but deep. Good work.

Reviewer: weasleybabe24Date: 2007-02-17
Reviewid: 147228Chapter: 1
That was wonderful in all its' sadness. I absolutely loved it.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2007-01-24
Reviewid: 146992Chapter: 1
Just commenting to say how much I liked this little short of yours, J Forias - especially the first half. You've evidently dipped into your poetic repertoire to construct the dream-like atmosphere that pervades throughout the first section. The prose even seems to sing in some places, and the isochronicity of certain lines creates an irresistable rhythm - both of which neatly coincide with your title. Very nice. Because it's so good, though, there were a few instances where I would question your word-choice, but that's subjective.

Cracking one-shot, J. Forias. May many more like it follow.

Reviewer: jemDate: 2007-01-16
Reviewid: 146902Chapter: 1
What I like most about this piece is how you have captured that moment of deep insight; that feeling of peace and understanding that comes so rarely--but when it does it comes with great power. I like the suggestion that it is found in a balance of one's greatest desire and one's greatest fear. That meaning and purpose seem to come from the space between the opposites.
The imagery adds to that idea, with the constast of dancing and battle, and the idea of finding one's freedom in giving in to the physical aspect of movement.

Thank you for this piece. It is beautiful.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2007-01-16
Reviewid: 146901Chapter: 1
*sigh*

Such angst.

Poor Ginny.

I love the spinning and whirling of the battle going on around her, it is truly like a dance - albeit chaotic and roughly choreographed but one of beauty nonetheless.

Great job, hon!!!

~ Hez

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-01-16
Reviewid: 146897Chapter: 1
*claps*

I love this, Forias. The imagery is so powerful and then the discussion afterwards. It's so very Dumbledore. I love how he's touched by Ginny's determination and devotion. It makes sense, considering how much faith he holds in love.

Bravo.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146891Chapter: 1
Hey it's Julu's daughter (really). This was really sweet. Super sweet. Not much else to say other than that it rocked. A lot.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146884Chapter: 1
Indeed, it was not what I expected from the title, but it is illuminating about Ginny's inner strength. Well done.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146882Chapter: 1
This is magnificent. Not at all what I expected from the first sentence. You take us on a brief, but long journey. Well done!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146879Chapter: 1
Short & nice.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146876Chapter: 1
Fascinating and different. I think I like it. You write Ginny very well, very angst-ridden and angry and full of that fiery Weasley passion. The idea of a battle being a dance is very interesting, too. But I especially like the idea of Ginny having to face Voldemort in the final battle, or sometime before the end of the series. Having to confront him and...I don't know what, but it seems like she would let him know how she felt. Anyway, a good fic.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --