The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Black Cold
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: CarmenSandiegoDate: 2007-04-03
Reviewid: 147662Chapter: 1
This is very nice. You really put a face to the name -- and you make Regulus very likeable. Muy bien!

Reviewer: magicdustDate: 2007-02-19
Reviewid: 147242Chapter: 1
-claps- another brilliant display of writing.
this is why you are one of my favorite authors.
-MD

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2007-02-10
Reviewid: 147163Chapter: 1
What a delightful understanding of the characters! This is quite well done and plausable.

Thanks for a great read!

Reviewer: shimotsukiDate: 2007-02-09
Reviewid: 147159Chapter: 1
What a powerful, well-characterized piece. It's impossible to resist wondering what might have happened if Sirius had answered his brother's question instead of turning and walking away.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2007-02-09
Reviewid: 147151Chapter: 1
Interesting - good.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2007-02-07
Reviewid: 147125Chapter: 1
Excellent job here! I'm almost wanting you to pause HD and write more Regulus. As I said earlier, I've been waiting for some good Regulus fiction. Thank you.

TDU

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2007-02-07
Reviewid: 147122Chapter: 1
Ohhh it's been reborn! How sad that Regelus' wealth denies him the small delights of life, he may have been born with a (goblin wrought) silver spoon in his mouth but he's never gotten to run, sweat, get messy, and wear short sleeves.

And then he gets the responsibility of being the Heir when his brother deserves (Poor Regelus though, finding or feeling himself replaced by James) This presents a very real sketch of Regelus in a very short space, and he bears his new burden with aristocratic grace and the same haughty attitude and family loyalty he no doubt learnt at Mummy's knee! But the Blacks in the Background, Mummy Black especially are especially twisted, you can clearly see her both...loosing her mind and no doubt (well I suspect at least) experiencing the slings, and hot flashes of the "Change"

Lovely Jessie! I'm glad you didn't let this moulder, the cool air and the proletariat sweat!

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2007-02-07
Reviewid: 147118Chapter: 1
Very, very good story. It's so fascinating reading from inside Regulus's head. He's such an unknown character. While it explains his feelings toward his family and perhaps why he betrayed them, I still wonder what the exact events leaving up to the RAB note were.

I love the use of the cold and warm air to show that the Black family is a cold, uptight family, but outside the house, just outside the house, it is warm. It's also interesting that you had Regulus meet up with Andromeda. I would've liked to have seen that scene, because it would've been interesting. It seems a little stuck at the end without a whole lot of reason, but I suppose it sort of changed his feelings on things. I imagine Regulus was a bit confused...having a brother who hated his parents and loved Muggleborns, and having parents who hated Muggleborns. Whose side would you choose? It's similar to the conflict I put Narcissa in in one of my fanfics.

I love the way Walburga took Sirius out of the family. It was so convincing. Regulus had no choice but to accept that he had no brother. It's interesting that the blast took out part of his name...like Sirius leaving took a part of him, too.

This is getting long, but the more I think about this fic, the more I like it! I find it interesting that Regulus was the only thing keeping Sirius from leaving. He was holding out hope that his brother wouldn't turn out like his parents, but when Regulus called them Mudbloods and asked why they were special, he knew there was no hope left. But I don't think Regulus is to blame, really, it's just the world he grew up in. Had he been sorted into Gryffindor like Sirius, his beliefs would probably be similiar.

I'll stop now. I really like this fic! It was an interesting look into Regulus. He really is quite similiar to his brother, more than either would like to admit.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --