The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Falling with Grace
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: evenstar1389Date: 2008-04-09
Reviewid: 150744Chapter: 19
AWESOME stories. I read all three ^^

Reviewer: nosyknosallDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149293Chapter: 16
I have read every single story you have written, even though it took me forever. I totally love your writings!!!!!! I totally hope you write some more.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149222Chapter: 19
So, this is finally the end. It's a pity that this chapter is no longer canon, but I can ignore that for a moment. I love everything about it: the way you described the Fidelius Charm, Peter's characterisation, Lily's thoughts about using James' friends to protect Harry, and the description of the attempts to hide and finally the choice to do the Fidelius Charm. Many people seem to think that the Fidelius Charm is the easiest option for whatever you want to hide, but I agree with your version: it's quite horrible to be completely unvisible and unnoticable to everyone around you.

I'm sad to hear that you might not be posting at the SQ again. I hope you enjoyed posting this series here despite the time it took to do so. I probably won't keep up with your LJ, but if you ever change your mind and return to the SQ, I'll be there!

Reviewer: setthewindonfireDate: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149161Chapter: 2
I like this story very much but I feel like I've missed something and I think it's because you keep referring to past events. It'sa useful technique but be careful not to over use it. Well done on the whole though, it's a good fic.

Reviewer: Andrew8604Date: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149148Chapter: 18
keep up the good story!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149055Chapter: 18
For a moment, I thought you had messed up completely and written the attack one year early. But you hadn't, fortunately. Instead you wrote a thrilling chapter. I could feel James and Lily's fear and anxiety, even though I knew that they weren't going to be attacked yet.

I also think it makes a lot of sense that they went into hiding right after Harry's birth like this. That explains nicely why they only used the Fidelius Charm so late: they first tried hiding in a different way.

I'm looking forward to the next (and probably last?) chapter.

Reviewer: setthewindonfireDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149045Chapter: 1
This is an excellent first chapter and I am eager to learn more but unfortunately it'sone o clock in the morning and I need some sleep!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-08-25
Reviewid: 149016Chapter: 16
Whoever heard of a Harry saving the world? Well, I did. ;-) I'm still enjoying your story, despite the fact that some bits are contradicted by DH. The way Regulus died, for example. But we didn't learn anything new about the relationship between James and Lily, and after all, that's what this story is about.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-08-24
Reviewid: 149008Chapter: 16
So adorable now in a post-DH world - you may have written this before reading the book, but to think there IS an Albus Potter running around!

Meanwhile, the exchange about no one believing a 'Harry' could save the world...very cute.

Reviewer: andrew8604Date: 2007-08-06
Reviewid: 148685Chapter: 15
very good story. please continue with it. I am on edge to finish reading it.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-06-28
Reviewid: 148387Chapter: 15
Scary! That Peter immediately recognized it . . . and the way he reacted to hearing the Dark Lord's name spoken aloud . . . *shudders* But Harry and Neville are on the way! I'm a little confused about how far along Lily is, considering that she's already having morning sickness and feeling movement, though. But yay! Harry! And no . . . they're all going to die! It's like I can hear a little clock ticking in my head as I read this fic, counting down to the moment when that tiny life will suddenly find himself an orphan, deprived of all love and affection for eleven long years.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-06-25
Reviewid: 148372Chapter: 15
(See the email I just sent you for an important something.)

Wonderful chapter! I love it that Lily found out about being pregnant in this way. I'm still a bit confused about the timelines, though: Alice is two months longer pregnant than Lily? So Neville was born a month too late and Harry a month too early, or something?

I also love the references to the whole spy thing. Remus is the one who is absent without warning over and over again, but there are little clues about Peter everywhere. To us readers they are obvious, while it's easy to see why to James and Lily and Sirius there doesn't seem to be anything suspicious about Peter. Good job on finding that balance!

The torture-Howler is just awful. I wonder whether it was invented by Voldemort or Bellatrix Lestrange -- they're both insane enough for it.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-06-12
Reviewid: 148247Chapter: 14
Such a sweet chapter! I suppose witches can find out very quickly that they are pregnant? Alice is already talking about a little one inside at the very day that Harry is conceived (I presume) while Neville will be born a day after Harry. No doubt Lily will catch up very quickly as well, with her being sick so often.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-06-09
Reviewid: 148237Chapter: 13
Wow. This gets better and better. Sorry I fell behind - I am recovering from a quite serious illness and I just graduated from college on top of that. Rest assured that I'm still reading!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-06-01
Reviewid: 148162Chapter: 13
You keep surprising me. I'm truly amazed at the amount of details and subplots from canon you manage to weave into this story. Last chapter it was the Order photograph, and now here's Regulus, having second thoughts about something (a very astute observation of Lily's) and asking Slughorn about Horcruxes. Poor Slughorn -- all these students reminding him of his huge mistake with Tom Riddle; first Regulus, and then Harry as well years later.

I wonder, though, who will take over Potions. It can't be Snape: he's not supposed to have a job before Trelawney makes her prophecy, which is not yet.

I'm looking forward very much to the next chapters! Lots of them, hopefully. :-)

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-06-01
Reviewid: 148161Chapter: 12
Ah, very nice, the Order photograph! I love it that you managed to include that. It also answers the question why and when the photograph was made (it's a secret organisation after all) quite nicely.

I also love James' proposal. I imagine that most wedding proposals happen like that, with the two people stuttering all over it and either not getting what the other means or saying 'yes' before the question has been properly asked. ;-)

Did James and Lily defy Voldemort for the third time here? I'm not sure -- they were there, and definitely defying, but Voldemort fled because of Dumbledore. Well, anyway, I suppose the war will be back on now that the wedding has been successfull; Voldemort is probably more furious than ever before.

Reviewer: orangesherbertDate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148155Chapter: 13
Great chapters (as always)! I love how you have managed to protray so well the members of the Order of the Phoenix, and the conditions at that time. You have done a great job so far and I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148141Chapter: 13
I swear, the chapters get better and better. I wait for the updates almost as impatiently as I have waited for the last four books to come out.
First, your plot is amazing! I can't believe how many small details you manage to work into story (the picture, Slughorn retiring in the middle of the year, etc.) and how seamlessly you make it all fit into the story.
Second, I am so excited for the next chapter! I don't see how Lily and James can stay unmarried for too much longer, since it's already about 10 months away from Harry's actual birth day.
Third, I'm a little confused about Peter. He hasn't seemed...odd at all. He's just there. In my own imagination, based on reading the books, he seems too cowardly to actually be a good actor at hiding his fear. Wouldn't he have been more...leery? Just wondering if he's joined the Death Eaters or not, and if maybe that accounts for his "niceness."
Keep up the good work and please, keep updating!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-05-18
Reviewid: 148048Chapter: 11
Wow. Awesome. I'm at a loss for words. Lily is just -- amazing. It's one thing to burn your notes -- it's inconvenient, but not disastrous. But to Obliviate yourself... that's incredibly brave.

But at least the upside of it is that she doesn't have to go in hiding. Well, she'll have to in a while, but together with James (and Harry). It's a pity, though, that the Death Shield now won't be used and the knowledge will eventually be lost (I guess, since it's gone in canon). Moody will be furious, I suppose. On the bright side, I don't have to worry about inconsistencies with canon any more. :-)

Keep it up!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-05-09
Reviewid: 147962Chapter: 10
This chapter just makes me want to have MORE! I want to see Lily make things up with James, and I want I know what this message to Sirius is about. Is it about the wedding and the charm that will change the date on the invitation? Or is it about Lily's brand new Shield Charm?

That Shield Charm is confusing me as well. They've actually succeeded! And yet years later everyone is convinced that there doesn't exist a block for the Killing Curse. Is something going to go wrong with this Shield Charm after all?

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-04-30
Reviewid: 147889Chapter: 9
Wow. Poor James. Poor Lily. And, though I wish I didn't have to say it, poor Petunia. I knew it was Polyjuice from the moment "Petunia" showed up, but I still think Lily did the right thing. She made the wrong call, of course, but she did what she had to for her sister. Love can make you do stupid things, but even if it was stupid, she was right to do it.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-04-30
Reviewid: 147881Chapter: 9
Poor Lily. Poor Petunia. Poor James. Everything is messed up, and it's all Voldemort's fault.

Of course, the Order members are viewing this in a completely different way than Petunia. You showed that very well throughout the chapter. For Petunia, Lily giving up magic for her and Petunia's life is a reasonable sacrifice. For the Order members, lives are less important than keeping the secrets of the Order. Lily must have felt horrible when she denied knowing anything about the Order while Petunia got tortured for it, but she did the right thing. Only Petunia will never understand that.

It's one big sad mess. And now James and Lily are fighting, while Petunia hates magic more than ever and hates her sister more than ever.

I think you did a brilliant job in this chapter with all the conflicting emotions. I would have liked to see more of James and the others searching for clues (how on earth did they find Lily so fast?), but I suppose you can't have everything. :-)

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-04-27
Reviewid: 147861Chapter: 8
I love that, for once, I waited a while to check for updates, and when I finally did, you had posted several chapters! I know it takes a lot of time to write, so I am glad that you have been so persistent in getting updates ready.
First, let me again say I love the back story you have created for these characters. Everything fits together so well, and the way you write it makes it believable. I can picture these characters actually playing out this history.
Second, I am so excited for what is left of this story and what twists will be thrown into the story. And will we find out which Death Eater was "imperio"ing Petunia?
Thanks again for such a well-crafted story! Keep up the good work, and keep posting!

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-04-24
Reviewid: 147846Chapter: 8
Your writing is excellent, but Lily's choice to go off on her own, no note for Merlin's sake, when she knows what Death Eaters are capable of, with all the training she has had, is so very foolish, it's a rather obvious plot device. James to the rescue!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-04-24
Reviewid: 147845Chapter: 8
Not really a bright move of Lily's, is it? Of course, she's blinded by the love or whatever she's feeling for her only family, but still it's a bit stupid. She could simply have asked an Order member to follow her out of sight. Then the Death Eater impersonating Petunia wouldn't have known that there was someone else there, and Lily would be safe. Well, safer.

But no, she went off alone and she didn't even leave a note. It's a good thing I know that Lily was still alive to give birth to Harry a year later, so I know she'll be saved. And Petunia will be saved as well, but I think she'll be scarred for life by this experience. I can completely understand her aversion to magic in this light.

Reviewer: birgitDate: 2007-04-20
Reviewid: 147816Chapter: 7
Fascinating chapter! I love it that you made Lily witness a mother sacrificing herself for her child. I'm not entirely sure what this means for the Death Shield, though, but you'll probably explain that later.

The part with Petunia is also highly interesting. My first thought was that someone's using Imperius on her to get to Lily -- I definitely agree with James that it's really weird that Petunia just walked into Diagon Alley when Lily was there. But the odd thing is that Petunia asked for help and it sounded quite sincere (well, that's how you wrote it, in any case). I'm having a hard time imagining a Death Eater telling Petunia to do exactly this, in particular the "they'll kill me" part. So, in short, I don't know what to think of it. Oh, and what did Petunia whisper in Lily's ear? You didn't tell us...

Looking forward very much to more!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-04-16
Reviewid: 147777Chapter: 6
And another great chapter. Much less thrilling than the previous one, but that's probably good for my health anyway.

I wonder whether the Death Eaters have been bothering Petunia? But what would they want? And why does Petunia think that Lily is sending them after her? Or is Dumbledore bothering her? After all, there's still the thing about "my last letter". Well, I'll wait and see what you've come up with.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-04-16
Reviewid: 147776Chapter: 5
Wow. A very different chapter. You truly excel in writing emotions. I'm feeling almost as shocked and heart-broken as James and Lily now. The whole chapter is simply extremely well-written, completely connected and leading up to the climax. Wonderful.

My favourite line:
>> James wrote countless letters to Lily, all of which he had to burn because Moody was adamant that they leave no trails for the Death Eaters to locate and assail them. <<
Great characterisation of Moody, of course, but also a wonderful way to show James' love for Lily and what it is like for him to be away from her for such a long time.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-04-16
Reviewid: 147775Chapter: 4
In a hurry, are you? Three chapters within a week, or maybe it was two weeks. In any case, lots to catch up with for me.

Nice chapter. I'm very intrigued by this spell developing thing, and I'm curious what Sirius and James will get up with. Nice idea to introduce the motorbike here.

Off to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-04-15
Reviewid: 147770Chapter: 6
Oh good, he's going to ask her to marry him. I mean, I knew he would eventually, but I wasn't sure when. I like how touchy Remus is about his own circumstances - that seems very true to the Remus I know and love from the books. He doesn't want charity, even from his friends.

The previous chapter was absolutely heartbreaking and beautifully written, though I do have one comment. If the baby was being strangled so it couldn't get air into its lungs, then it wouldn't be able to scream and cry. The only reason I noticed that is that I'm an EMT, and we're taught that as long as a baby is able to cry, its breathing is fine.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-04-08
Reviewid: 147704Chapter: 4
This is a nice, light-hearted chapter that warns of ominous times ahead. I can also tell that James and Lily's relationship is deepening, and I can only imagine that they'll be engaged soon enough!

The fact that Fred and George just arrived also puts a timing on this ticking bomb. The Potters only have a few years left to live.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-03-20
Reviewid: 147552Chapter: 3
Another great chapter. Action, tragedy, romance -- it's all there, and you write it all equally well. It's sort of cruel of you to make James' mother's coffin explode, but it's war. You have to be cruel to write a proper story set in the war.

I can't say I have a favourite line in this chapter, because favourite wouldn't be the right word. It's all so heart-wrenching. The story of Harriet, but maybe most of all the piece about the useless, stupid Auror. Amazing, really, how you can sketch a vivid image of the uselessness of the Aurors in a few sentences.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-03-19
Reviewid: 147546Chapter: 3
The horrible irony of losing your parents to disease in the middle of a war . . . It reminds me of the Civil War, when more soldiers died because of the rampant disease and lack of good hospitals for the wounded than directly of enemy bullets.

Then to attack the burial! That is a sign of true disregard for life. From the earliest history, even the most brutal of generals called a cease-fire when it came time to collect and bury the dead. In some ways, this is the most callous and horrible thing that Voldemort has yet done in this story.

I understand about RL catching up with you - this week is midterms for me of my last semester of college, so not only am I taking thesis seminars (Developmental Biology and Biochemistry II), but I'm juggling them with other classes AND job interviews at the same time! Fortunately, reading your wonderful story is the perfect break, and taking five minutes to leave a review is the least I can do in return.

No matter how long it takes until the next update, I'll be here waiting. Take your time.

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-03-15
Reviewid: 147487Chapter: 2
I always kind of figured that Dumbledore didn't know about the Room of Requirement, from what I read in GoF, but even so, my favorite part of this chapter was the..."foreshadowing" of the DA meetings later on. Loved that everyone crowds into this special room and the way they agree to become a part of the Order. It's just too bad Dumbledore didn't hex the thing to write SNEAK across a traitor's face or we would have known about Pettigrew long ago.

I am also immensely interested to see how Lily's charm work will pan out. There is no counter-curse to Avada, but she was able to use magic to protect Harry. I wonder if she will find that in some book or something later on (someone did call it "old magic") or if she brings it back through her research.

Keep writing!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-03-13
Reviewid: 147450Chapter: 2
How different and fascinating. I look forward to seeing what comes next. I'd leave a longer review, but midterms and I are engaged in a brutal (and final!) battle.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-03-11
Reviewid: 147428Chapter: 2
Interesting. This spell design thing is really fascinating. And Lily's description of what it takes to cast the Killing Curse made me shiver. Not to mention what it takes for her to analyse it. And I was disturbed by James thinking that the light was attractive, just as I'm sure you meant me to be.

Very good chapter. I'm still a bit shaken up. I wonder what will happen, as obviously Lily can't succeed with creating this counter-charm.

Reviewer: naazjuDate: 2007-03-05
Reviewid: 147366Chapter: 1
I was worried when I realized your story would be taking the Marauder's outside of the safety of the school because I generally don't enjoy the Marauder's stories once they have graduated. However, your style of writing and capability of nailing James' and Lily's personalities right on the head help you to easily transition their life stories from the school years to their adulthood. Thank you for continuing! I have loved reading Ashes and Embers and am truly looking forward to the updates that will follow this chapter. Good luck!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-03-05
Reviewid: 147365Chapter: 1
Nice chapter. It feels very real. You do a very good job describing the current situation in the wizarding world as well as James and Lily's thoughts and feelings about this. I feel sad that the Charms job isn't quite what Lily expected, but in hindsight, it makes a lot of sense.

You structured this chapter beautifully, weaving the two so similar story lines neatly into each other. I just think it's a pity you broke with this pattern by not showing Lily receiving her letter from Dumbledore. Or didn't she get one?

I'm very curious what will happen now. James will probably work full time for the Order, but Lily doesn't have the money for that. I'm also interested to see the way the Order worked in the First War. And of course, as you reminded me in this chapter, James and Lily still have to defy Voldemort two more times.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-03-04
Reviewid: 147351Chapter: 1
YES! It's begun!

*ahem* Right, serious review.

I love the idea that the Ministry isn't helping. I mean, I guess I knew the Ministry then was as ineffective then as it is now, but I hadn't really thought about it. It is so striking that Lily and James are rushing off to help, but they have no outlet for that enthusiasm that doesn't involve compromising the very principles they seek to defend.

I love the mention of Bartemious Crouch. We always knew he was brutal during the first war, but all we see in GOF is the harried and eventually murdered bureaucrat, not the ruthless head of Magical Law Enforcement who was so desperate in the fight against Voldemort that he would not only sanction but encourage use of the Unforgivables. Like all excellent fanfics, this will make me read the series differently.

Keep up the good work. I can't wait for the next chapter.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --