The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Torch
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2007-08-11
Reviewid: 148800Chapter: 1
OHHHHH i really like it!!!! you should have done a sequelll....!! It would be weird but so cool
congrats
!

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2007-06-15
Reviewid: 148263Chapter: 1
Wow, this is amazing! It was absolutely heart-wrenching, but the ending is hopeful. Do you plan on adding onto this, or is it just a one-shot? Either way, you've created a beautiful work of fiction :)

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2007-06-13
Reviewid: 148249Chapter: 1
Oh My Goodness, Why such powerful magic to wipe out
the wizzarding world. But alas, Our gifted one,
Hermione Granger left to start Hogwarts all over
again. Very Well done and well written. Please
keep up the good writing....

Reviewer: IseultDate: 2007-05-29
Reviewid: 148124Chapter: 1
Really good. Very original and emotive.

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2007-04-03
Reviewid: 147661Chapter: 1
Very gorgeous. Very beautiful. I got goosebumps reading the ending. It's so well written. It draws the plot out into the perfectly spun piece of story.

Reviewer: ClytymnystraDate: 2007-03-30
Reviewid: 147634Chapter: 1
What a lovely story! And so appropriate to illustrate a Phoenix moment. Well won!

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2007-03-22
Reviewid: 147573Chapter: 1
A very good, bittersweet story!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2007-03-22
Reviewid: 147571Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. Very good job of showing Hermione's progression from despair to hope.

Reviewer: queeniorekDate: 2007-03-22
Reviewid: 147569Chapter: 1
I can't even describe my reaction to that piece. It was very powerful. I'm still feeling residual shock. "...the last witch in Britain..." Shills went down my spine.
I know others have reviewed and asked you for a sequel, but one more can't hurt! Please, please continue this story.
Thank you for this. I read a fair bit of decent fanfiction but it's stories like this one that keep me coming back to the 'Quill.

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-03-21
Reviewid: 147560Chapter: 1
Fantastic.

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2007-03-21
Reviewid: 147558Chapter: 1
Whoa, that is awesome! (And it's so awesome I just said that out loud)

Reviewer: FictionGoddessDate: 2007-03-19
Reviewid: 147532Chapter: 1
Oh wow!!!
This is an amazing story. I have goosebumps. I love it, I'm glad you won. This is brilliant.
A new era of wizardkind with Hermione as it's teacher/founder. It's beautiful and tragic and moving and I love it.
Thankyou so much for writing this.

Reviewer: jen loves ronDate: 2007-03-17
Reviewid: 147508Chapter: 1
Wow, I really enjoyed that story! It's really original, unique and well written. Loved it.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-03-16
Reviewid: 147494Chapter: 1
Whoa! This fairly shouts !!!sequel!!! Love the concept, ditto the writing.

Reviewer: shimotsukiDate: 2007-03-16
Reviewid: 147491Chapter: 1
Oh, my goodness. What a powerful story -- Hogwarts and the whole wizarding world rising from the ashes. But if anyone is up to the task, it's Hermione.

And I really like the twist of fate that the magical world in Britain would have entirely vanished, if not for the Muggle-born witches and wizards. Take that, Death Eaters...

Congratulations on your well-deserved win. This is a remarkable piece!

Reviewer: RhetorDate: 2007-03-16
Reviewid: 147488Chapter: 1
Let me thank everyone for all those kind reviews. I was honored and (really!) surprised to win the Challenge, and your supportive words are a luxury.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-03-15
Reviewid: 147475Chapter: 1
Wow. This was awesome. The mystery of the beginning is good -- What's going on? The last witch in Britain? Having those questions dragged out through the explanation of the curse was painfully slow, but I was really wowed at the end. The emotional impact of going from being so empty and hopeless, utterly hopeless, to suddenly realizing with such an overwhelming presence of hope, and pressure, but hope, what a brilliant witch in her right mind would have known all along (what I should have realized all along, but you did a good job of distracting from) was very powerful.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2007-03-14
Reviewid: 147470Chapter: 1
This story has left me breathless. It's truly wonderful.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2007-03-14
Reviewid: 147467Chapter: 1
This is one of the most beautiful pieces I have ever read. Thank you. Job well done and award well deserved.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-03-13
Reviewid: 147460Chapter: 1
Wow. I'm not surprised that you won the contest, because this is really good. I felt very sad when I read about Hogwarts being empty and neglected, and then I was shocked when you called Hermione the last witch in Britain. And then ... the awful story about what happened that killed all wizards and witches in Britain.

But fortunately the ending is slightly optimistic. If anyone has the determination to do this, to start a new wizarding world, it's Hermione.

I don't know how you managed to think of such a gripping plot or how you managed to write it down in such a way that it feels real and truly moves me, but you managed it. It's brilliant. Congratulations.

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2007-03-13
Reviewid: 147449Chapter: 1
A true Phoenix Moment - Hogwarts rising from the ashes and Hermione finding a new life with a new purpose. Brilliantly conceived and wonderfully written. You really deserved this win.

Reviewer: Megan13Date: 2007-03-13
Reviewid: 147447Chapter: 1
This story was GREAT! It deserved 1st place. I know you're probibily have other stories iching to come out, but save some time to do a sequel to torch. I'm dying to know what Hermionie does in 2009!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2007-03-13
Reviewid: 147444Chapter: 1
Woot! Your first review at the Quill for your first place story! It's still powerful. Go you! (All the way to New Orleans)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --