The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Dress Robes
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143361Chapter: 2
You have a huge talent for writing subtle (and outrageous) humor!! I want to quote a line from this story in my profile. Would that be okay?

Reviewer: Raneynr LerrquDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135310Chapter: 2
The idea behind this story is wonderful and well thought out. I like the way you let harry's mind flash back to what had happened before he told the family. You have a good writting style and I would love to read more. (doubly so) If you were to write the Beater play you mentioned. ~Raneynr

Reviewer: serpentilewitchDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128549Chapter: 2
^________^

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120720Chapter: 1
:-)
Thanks

Reviewer: Lila the Ice Cream QueenDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114973Chapter: 2
Very Nice. PLEASE continue. I loved George's outburst. I am so glad you think he likes to wrtie, becuase writing is probobly the best thing in the world. Except for reading.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112839Chapter: 2
I liked that (written before OOtP came out, right?) Ginny seemed a bit too motherly- too Hermione like really- but then I guess if it was written before OOtP we hadn't seen much character developement from her then. I really liked the part about Harry telling the Weasleys about the Triwizard winnings, and his memories of Cedric (poor kid). Good stuff.

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109870Chapter: 2
"Look, I don't want it!" he shouted. "I tried to give it to the Diggorys, but they wouldn't take it, and I can't keep it!"

This one line gives me chills every time I read it. Perfectly in character, and perfectly appropriate. Extremely well done!

Reviewer: MorganDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106314Chapter: 2
I really liked this piece. I thought it was funny in the right spots (love that Fred & George), and yet it had a seriousness that was just lovely. The moment when George expresses himself about being his own person, and listing the things that make him and Fred different from each other - I loved that. And anything involving GoF and what happened with Harry and Cedric... that just brings tears to my eyes. I loved that whole exchange when Harry finally admits to giving them the money and why. I got all choked up, damn it. ;D Thanks for the story.

Morgan

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102294Chapter: 2
'Mrs. Weasley paled. Percy had moved out at the beginning of the summer. He wasn't speaking to his father.'

Are you part Seer? You have an uncanny knack for reading Rowling's mind!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95962Chapter: 1
Yeah for Harry and the Weasley twins! lol. That was cute how Ron was always blushing, but grabbed her hand and everything. :D

*Geena

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95094Chapter: 1
Oh, your writing is so.../perfect/. I'm jealous. The unfairness of it all is balanced by the fact that at least I get to read it. ^_^ The '"Why didn't we get hugged?" Fred complained,' made me laugh. A lot. And then I read the rest and laughed some more. I always admire people who can write Fred and George so well.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93356Chapter: 1
Wow, the twins were *perfect*. I don't know how you managed it, but you did. I wondered how they could get Ron his robes, and this seems just right.

Reviewer: Skut PersionDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78421Chapter: 2
im luvin it! fred n gorge R sooo cute, n i luv the story, its real kool! :)

Reviewer: Skut PersionDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78188Chapter: 2
this is AMAZIN' ! i luv it, it wuz writtin real well. :)

Reviewer: FeroniaDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77017Chapter: 2
Great Job! You've got Fred and George behaving and speaking just the way they should, and personally I don't think that's very easy to pull off! Harry, Ron, and Mrs. Weasely also really rang true for me. Just one bit of "criticism": George's sudden tirade about the differences between himself and Fred seemed a bit heavy-handed. You're revealing some rather important character attributes without identifying any basis for them; I almost thought George was joking when he talked about the short stories. It's great to diversify the twins' personalities that way, but perhaps this is a case when "showing" could be more effective than "telling." I think that if you could in some way demonstrate a connection between what we know of George's interests and personality with what he writes about or where he gets his inspiration, for example, his announcement about his notebook would be more believable. However, this is just something to consider, and I'm certainly no authority on this sort of thing. You're obviously very good with character, and I just thought you might appreciate another perspective. ") Well, I guess I'll close by saying, "thank you," for an entertaining and well-written Weaseley twins story!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76731Chapter: 2
I think this was very well done. Great idea about the family coming to terms with the shop.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60383Chapter: 2
I never realized how much this story influenced the letter that I have the twins send Molly in my "Letters to Mum" series! I can see now that when I have the twins come up with business plans I was following your lead! Mine are different, but the manner in which I treat the twins is straight from you! I'll have to see about acknowledging that somehow!

But enough of me! This is another great story where you switch so well from humor to emotion and back. Without ruining either! Just great!

I LOVE this line:
>>Mrs. Weasley sounded exasperated. "George, don't be melodramatic. Of course I know you're two people. One person alone couldn't possibly cause so much trouble."<<

And this:
>>Fred took a brave step closer. "Mum…we can't tell you."<<
You know they are Gryffindors!

Reviewer: TaylorDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55541Chapter: 2
That was a great story, very true to character. I'll be sure to read your other stories!

Reviewer: krazigurlDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52573Chapter: 1
lol! very interesting and clever! The last thing said was so funny and really sounds like somethin' George would say!

Reviewer: AdelaDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47965Chapter: 2
This is one of my favriote stories. So funny. Perfect charechterizations( I can't spell). Read it, and I am just going of to read B Bennetts other stories. Bye bye!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46536Chapter: 2
B. Bennet’s The Dress Robes, shows excellent character development, depth, and humour, which makes this story an engaging and enjoyable read.

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41460Chapter: 2
great story...

write more soon :)

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2003-06-27
Reviewid: 38738Chapter: 2
i liked it alot thanks for a great story

Reviewer: narcissaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33518Chapter: 2
aww very cute. great job!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-21
Reviewid: 32986Chapter: 2
Awwwwwwwww.

Reviewer: CatDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28624Chapter: 2
ooooo.... that was great! You have GOT to write more, please!!! ^<>^ Good Luck with future fics!

Reviewer: magwanaDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26596Chapter: 2
wow, I could really see JKR writing this. It hits all the right notes in the right ways. Brilliant!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26459Chapter: 1
This is brilliant--I love how naturally the conversation flows. Each of them are so in character, it's fabulous. :D

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25380Chapter: 2
Ooh! Ooh!! Write more, write more!!! A definite two thumbs up on the ivy and Gracie Scale of Excellence.

Reviewer: MINABEANDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24827Chapter: 2
interseting, finish it!

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21489Chapter: 2
Just a beautiful story, with the second chapter even better than the first. Your Weasleys are so *real* - especially the parents. With just a few words you've given them great depth. I also like the character evolution: George and Fred declaring their independence and individuality, Ginny's unerring perception, Ron's steps toward maturity - and best of all, Harry's emerging sense of humor! Of course he has had the very best teachers...

Thank you!

Reviewer: CorvidaeDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21271Chapter: 2
*sniff* awesome

Reviewer: StoicLionDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16862Chapter: 2
Great story. It kept me interested from beginning to end. Wonderful portayal of the Weasleys, all around.

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16707Chapter: 1
You know what...I just realized that all of your short stories are connected...don't I feel observant. *I feel pretty...oh so pretty...*

Reviewer: BeatrixDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15962Chapter: 2
Awesome... never read a better one on that one subject..

Reviewer: Radcliffe's galDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15356Chapter: 1
WOW, that was really good. I ecspecially liked it when hary told them strait out that he had given Fred and Gorge the money. I so wish I could write that good and i wait to read the rest of your stories. I hope they're just as good as this story. My favorite chapter was the second because it didn't have as much lovey-dovey stuff with Ron and Hermione (I'm a H/H type of person.) My most abbsolute favorite line through out the whole scene was "I gave it to them," Hary blurted out. You so have my sister beat on that one. At least it's not DRACO and HERMIONE like she's writting in her story (It's 300 pages!!!!!!!!!!)

Reviewer: scgDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12254Chapter: 2
very cute and in character, as all your stories are

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11896Chapter: 2
COoooolll! That was funny and cool and well written and totally in character!

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11826Chapter: 2
That was a great story!! So well in character! I love it! Your such an excellent author! Keep it up!

Reviewer: ArielDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10842Chapter: 1
That's cute.

Reviewer: KilmenyDate: 2002-11-30
Reviewid: 10727Chapter: 2
Fantastic! You portray the Weasleys so well! And I love when people write the fanfics from Harry's point of view like Rowling does. It makes it seem more realistic. Loved the R/Hr moments as well as the Ron and Harry friendship moments. Exactly the way I imagine things. Good job all around!

Reviewer: Mellon CollieDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8010Chapter: 2
I love it! Good work!!!

Reviewer: belleDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6149Chapter: 2
wow it thot ron was gonna b mad... but great story!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-09-08
Reviewid: 3562Chapter: 1
Had me laughing!

Reviewer: Megan LucasDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1191Chapter: 2
Adorable! I like this account of how Ron got his dress robes, and also that the truth came out about the source of Fred and George's funds. I most enjoyed the argument between Fred, George, and their parents. Once again, good show! :)

Reviewer: Mea/ZwonderssDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1124Chapter: 2
I always cry when i read the cedric part

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 874Chapter: 1
This is great! I especially love the way Hermione makes sure Harry isn't left out, even though she and Ron are a couple. It's very sweet, and very Hermione-ish. Because of course she's going to keep loving Harry as much as she always has!

And your Ginny is also lovely. Responsible, but with a sense of humour :). Also, she's growing out of her shyness and learning to be herself around Harry, which is nice. I can't wait to read some of your other stories!

Reviewer: dumbledoreswhoreDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 682Chapter: 2
I loved it!

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 259Chapter: 2
Just as fantastic as your other peices! I'm becoming a big fan!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --