The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: When All Seems Lost
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: RonkaperplexousDate: 2007-07-09
Reviewid: 148491Chapter: 1
Wowzer. Yikes. Zounds. And all those other exclamations of surprise.

This did a magnificent job of making me feel lost, afraid, angry, and hopeless. The idea of Voldemort winning the war is terrifying, and you've shown exactly why that is. For all the jokes we make about Lord Thingy and Voldie, he really is a truly evil villain. Not only because he kills innocents, but because of how he manipulates people.

When Percy showed up and I saw he was on Voldie's side, I went, "Oh, that *bastard*!" I'm not sure if I was talking about Percy, Voldemort, or you. ;) The torture of Seamus Finnigan was also awesome (in a terrifying way). This line:

“You regret it, don’t you?” I asked snidely. “You’d join the Order, now, given half a chance. You’ve tried to live in our world and it kills you a little, every day.”

sent chilld up my arms. It makes sense that the Death Eater way of interrogating/torturing prisoners is not to break their bones, but to make them feel shame. It's really chilling, and it rings true.

As I said before, this story made me feel angry, lost, and hopeless, but the ending... I love how you ended it. With hope. Because that's what Harry Potter is all about: the faintest, slimmest, wildest chances. Well done.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2007-07-08
Reviewid: 148470Chapter: 1
I can't believe you wrote this. Well, it is sort of your style of writing, but...Snape. Not turning out to be a complete...something that I probably shouldn't say on the review boards. Very cool, and yes, it did give me something resembling chills. And Ginny and Percy were brilliantly written. And Neville's role was perfect.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-07-05
Reviewid: 148443Chapter: 1
James! You are brilliant and evil and chilling and creepy and did I say brilliant? Why didn't you tell me you wrote this? Not, "Oh, I wrote something about Snape." So sick of Snape. No, why didn't you say, "I wrote this story about despair and hope that completely messes with your mind and inspires you and uses parallels and stuff?!?"

"But she was alive and fighting and she was reminding me of someone."

(favorite line, but the whole thing rox)

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-06-24
Reviewid: 148344Chapter: 1
Although it is my personal opinion that Severus Snape is the last person in the Potter universe to embody hope--I loved this piece. Ginny's insight was a nice touch. It was beautifully realized.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-06-24
Reviewid: 148334Chapter: 1
Oh fun! I love the clever twists here! You do a great job of taking the core of canon and turning it into a slightly different world. Of course, I loved your Percy with his contolled shrewdness (what a cool moment when he blocked Snape's attempt to enter his mind!), and Ginny with her wisdom born of pain, but I was surprised how much I liked your Snape. You do a great job of getting inside his head and keeping him conflicted but still somehow sympathetic.

Reviewer: MontavillaDate: 2007-06-22
Reviewid: 148312Chapter: 1
Very nice, J. I very much like the idea of Ginny Weasley being the leader of the opposition.

I also like the "1984" feel of the Voldemort Ministry. It's very dark. I got chills as they descended into the Level Eleven. Like any good distopian story, I couldn't help thinking about what's going on in my own country vis-a-vis torture, what we are allowing and how it really never accomplishes what we think it will.

I'm looking back at the beginning now and very much liking that opening. It immediately sets up this question in my mind. We know it's a killing, but [i]who[/i] did Snape kill? Why? The answer was not what I was expecting at all, but it packed an emotional punch when it was revealed.

I love that for all the importance of the "Chosen One," ultimately the outcome didn't depend on one person, but on everyone holding on and continuing to fight even when the symbolic Hope was dead.

I'll admit there was a point--right about the time when Snape and Percy got to Level Eleven--that I was sighing and saying to myself, "Geez. Why is it that Snape AND Percy have to be so evil?" So, I love that you turned it around.

Also, I'm really partial to characters who go around for most of the story nodding politely and saying, "Yes, sir. May I have another?" when they are secretly running an underground railroad in their basement. So, more than liking your Snape, I ended up [i]loving[/i] your Percy. :)

Reviewer: IseultDate: 2007-06-20
Reviewid: 148300Chapter: 1
An interesting story and well written with plenty of the unexpected. Not a direction I expect JKR to take (Harry dead and V alive at the end of the book -see the epilogue!)but a good read.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2007-06-20
Reviewid: 148297Chapter: 1
Hm. Interesting. I know we've never really seen Snape for who he is (we certainly can't read his mind and I think he is far more complex than he seems), but some of this stuff seems to be stretching his character a bit far. All the same, it's a very interesting idea.

The idea of Voldemort setting up a government is strange. Actually, he's just taking the current (messed up) government system and reworking it to his liking, isn't he? Is that what Voldemort's ultimate goal is? I can't imagine him hiring Percy and completely trusting him. Voldemort seems a bit too...human? Strange, though.

I like the idea of Ginny carrying on the Order for Harry. It's very touching.

Overall, it's a very interesting look into one view on Snape's character. Like you, not a view I necessarily agree with, but it was still an excellent fic.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2007-06-19
Reviewid: 148292Chapter: 1
Yummy! So good it gives me shivers!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --