The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: This Stony Pass
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2007-10-06
Reviewid: 149523Chapter: 6
Very well done. I really liked the portrayal of Tonks' complicated relationships with Remus and Severus. I'm looking forward to the DH year story.

Reviewer: Cassiel_WintersDate: 2007-09-20
Reviewid: 149346Chapter: 4
I am in love with the way you write Tonks, Lupin and even Snape. Don't stop now!

I'm hanging on for the next installment

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149314Chapter: 4
How could I not leave a review after a comment like that?! I love the story, thanks so much for posting a new chapter, now I'll be left to hungrily await the next.... oh well, life is hard sometimes. :-D

Sherellyn

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149302Chapter: 1
Um...best story ever? This new chapter was wonderful. I am so in love with Remus *sigh* Tonks is hilarious, changing her features to Christmas colors. No wonder Snape was taken aback, red hair and green eyes, Lily Evans much? I have to say I am so intrigued by this whole, Snape has a thing for Tonks. Whoa, when he asked if she slept with Lupin, Holy Moly I flipped. Snape love triangles are the best love triangles. Hes pretty sexy for a mean, greasy git. Anyway, enough rambling. I love your stories. You are my favorite. Keep writing!!! Yay!

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-08-27
Reviewid: 149036Chapter: 2
I'm not sure if I believe the credibility of Severus being romatically interested in tonks, but I am enjoying the story and hope to read more soon.

Keep up the good work!

Sherellyn

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148971Chapter: 1
I'm definitely coming back for more! I like your Tonks..she's very well-fleshed out. And the little details are wonderful. I especially like what you wrote about the effect of aconite on all shape-shifters and how it affected Tonks. Very nicely handled!

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-08-13
Reviewid: 148818Chapter: 1
wow, I feel like I just read a lost chapter out of HBP. You did a great job of integrating it very well with the book. I know this isn't from the book but I feel like I understand more about why Tonks couldn't morph in the book and why she was so sad and all. Great job!

Sherellyn

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148711Chapter: 1
Oh, gosh, jncarlin! This is *achingly* sad. I mean that truly - I could feel my own heart being torn apart when Remus left Tonks at her flat. And then again in the garden at the Burrow. I don't know how she found the strength to look him in the eye! So, so desperately sad for Tonks. I admire how effectively you've created such a sense of utter desolation for her as the people she depends on fall away, one by one.

'She feels like she’s losing her friends, she’s losing her family, she’s losing Remus, and now she’s even losing herself.'

The details you unload about Emmeline's death, and how it affects Tonks, give such humanity and pathos to this off-screen HBP event.

You really make Tonks come alive to me here, with her love for her friend Emmeline, her need to help Remus with his Wolfsbane, her dreadful realisation that he was leaving her as he admits to volunteering to his mission... I love how you wove into the breakfast at the Weasleys the misunderstanding which the Trio labour under during HBP that it is her guilt and grief over Sirius that is making her so unhappy. Very neatly done.

I also love the comments you attribute to Remus's mum, especially:
'"He never let himself settle down long enough to get close to anyone new after the war… If you aren’t steady, and patient, one of these days the tides of life will tug a little too hard, and he’ll let go of you and drift off in some new direction. It would break his heart—but he wouldn’t stop it. He doesn’t know how.” How well you understand Remus! This statement really has the measure of him, and describes his tragedy so perfectly, jncarlin.

I do hope the events of TDH do not discourage you from continuing this story. At least we do get some happy conclusions by the end of HBP and you can strive towards those without dwelling on the distant ending in TDH.
x HelenH

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --