The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149367Chapter: 1
Oh, that was lovely. I do like that song, and the way you created their encounter around it works well.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-09-19
Reviewid: 149336Chapter: 1
Oh this is SO wonderful! Your characterizations are just beautiful. I love this song and have loved it for years. Saw Dan Folgeberg perform it many years ago! I love how the richness of your descriptions about the two of them. The little details of what they appreciate about each other are very sweet and very real. This is simply gorgeous...

"She could tell he was impressed; there was that little crease between his brows, and she could practically see the wheels turning behind his eyes. She had forgotten how lovely his eyes were, blue and as changeable as the sea. His lashes were far too pretty for a man, thick and long and coppery-gold. She remembered how they felt on her cheek . . . She pushed that thought away."

I think the perspective switching was a brave and successful move. It could have been confusing but you made it so seamless that we were pulled into the technique of realizing how they are thinking the same things but can't express them. And so we ache for them.

J Forias recommended this to me and I'm so glad he did! I hope you will consider continueing with this. It's truly lovely.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-08-11
Reviewid: 148796Chapter: 1
It's so nice to see this on the 'Quill at last! I love the improvements you've made to it.... the dialogue is wonderful, it just captures the combination of joy and awkwardness of meeting an old flame, and it has a wonderful sense of tension and things left unsaid... It's funny both you and Dogstar are posting gloomy fics about ex-lovers reuniting.... maybe Songbird Starsea and I should try our hands at one.... skruvsta too if she is around.

I love your description of the christmassy-ness at the beginning and it's contrast to Percy's bad mood. It's so like his over responsible self going out late on christmas eve just because he forgot to make the pudding he'd promised.... so conscientious, and I really like how you reverse it at the end with the snow turning into rain again.... Percy and Penny's brief meeting was a brief illusion of former happy times.... which just melts away again *tears up*.

I love how you show Percy and Penny's attraction for one another, especially the mirroring of their actions... wanting to touch one another and shoving their hands in their pockets etc. I'm not the world's biggest Percy fan but you really made me see what Penny saw in him..... I can just see him having wonderful listening skills, earnestly taking in everything his girlfriend said and taking it all seriously... so adorable. You also hinted nicely at his past gitishness and insecurity... imagine not letting poor Penny go travelling!

I like how you contrast their two lives... Percy very sucessful careerwise and Penny also successful but with a life that seems adventuresome and full of friendship as well... poor Percy! He really his own worst enemy. He should have run after Penny.... perhaps he will track her down again, in time?

Wonderful sad- sweet ficlet. I can't wait to see more of your stuff on the Quill (has there been any progress on Lucrezia, btw?)

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-08-09
Reviewid: 148784Chapter: 1
Gosh, I *love* what you've done with this. It feels much more rounded, and wonderfully nostalgic and very Christmassy. Percy is spot-on in this, and I adore your Penny- a nice take on Ravenclaw house, with brains but not without passion or, uh, spunk. And the Library of Congress/Muggles-In-America idea is completely brilliant. This is wonderful, and thank god you're up here at last! Yay!

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148750Chapter: 1
I'd forgotten how much I loved your characterisation of Percy in this fic. The smouldering passion underneath his careworn, limited workaday exterior. Especially after the tragedy of the battle he's at risk of heading that way, throwing himself into work as a substitute for really living. The habit of hiding and suppressing his strong feelings might prove difficult to break. I really hope he bumps into Penelope again, and there's a chance she might wake him up again. He deserves it.

It's so great to see this up here at long last.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148713Chapter: 1
Snow on Christmas eve had the song running through my head before I even hit the first really obvious reference! A nice tribute to the song, and to Percy and Penelope, but gosh I'd rather have seen them get back together at the end. Nothing about Penelope marrying an architect in there, after all, so they're both still available! ...I have often wondered, myself, whatever happened to the Percy/Penelope ship, since we heard nothing about her after they graduated. This is certainly one possible ending to the story. Thanks!

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-08-06
Reviewid: 148702Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this story. And it was different from how I imagined Percy/Penelope would be. You've done a good job with Penelope, by the way. Really fleshed her out!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-08-06
Reviewid: 148698Chapter: 1
I was a bit confused by the title but your author's note explained it well. I always think of Penelope and Percy together so it was intriguing to read about 'another path taken". Well done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --