The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Watching Harry
Review(s): 48

Reviewer: KimmieDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132865Chapter: 1
Aw, this was very cute. I read a quote from this story on Fiction Alley and it got me curious enough to click in. Can I just say I rarely click on the story that the quote came from, so feel special, lol.
No really, this was an excellent story. I really enjoyed many things about it: how it was written, the way the point of view was done, the fact that Hermione and Ron were "together" and several other things. I'm not completely sure whether this takes place after fourth year, during fifth year, or after fifth year, but it really doesn't matter nor does it take away from the story in any way.
Great job!!! :)

Kimmie
(Red Bess Rackham on fanfiction.net and hermoine_wood on fictionalley.org)

Reviewer: polaDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130286Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this fantastic story! I do like the way it´s written, i mean all from Hermione´s point of view. Unfortunately i don´t see myself able to write a lot of helpful stuff because i´m from germany and so i´m speaking practically nothing ;) Anyway i just wanted to let the author know, that i´m looking forward reading the continuation.

Reviewer: serpentilewitchDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128547Chapter: 1
Aww, this was such a nice, short piece! I liked the tone of it, the whole...air, was very nice! ^__^

Reviewer: KatDate: 2005-07-21
Reviewid: 127564Chapter: 1
I just discovered I've never actually written a review of this, so I had to comment... Oh, I just love reading this, really. It's so simple and so effective. The friendship between Ron and Harry is perfectly described: the joking and the more serious moments as well. I also like Hermione's perspective: logical, but emotional as well. She was a good choice of narrator and you write her very well.

Whenever I need a Harry Potter pick-me-up, I come back and read a bit of this lovely fic! :)

Reviewer: KathyDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125305Chapter: 1
I read most of your stories and they are lovely. They are well written. Even though i like many pairings in the Harry Potter series I love the way you write Ron and Hermione and bits of Harry and Ginny. Well,thanks for posting your wonderful writing it is inspiring and you have lots of talent.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120624Chapter: 1
Ouite Enjoyable. Thanks.

Reviewer: B_BootyfulDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118231Chapter: 1
Wow! This story-er, well, not really a story. More of an...opinion. Kind of. A perspective, really. It's really cool, though. Your way of describing things and telling things, like they are really happening, like you're just waiting for that owl, is so awesome. Tell me this: Are you waiting for that owl?

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117438Chapter: 1
There's something so intimate about this--a moment of peace while the world falls to pieces. Beautiful.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116865Chapter: 1
Excellent piece of work. I really enjoy reading your stuff, and I think this is a really good example of it.

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114689Chapter: 1
That really was great. Love the running idea since I run myself...lovely

Reviewer: MadoldmrsfiggDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109862Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful interpretation of how the Trio would mature, and how the awful outside events would effect them. It has such a serene calming quality, which is special and rather unique considering the topics your discussing. Gave an impression of being in 'the eye of the storm', if you get my meaning - gathering themselves for the plunge.

In a word: beautiful. Definately a fanfiction classic. Thank you B Bennett!

Reviewer: RowingGoddessDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109630Chapter: 1
Very nice. I like the introspection, and also Hermione's characterization of her relationship with Ron as feeling "scary and strange, but wonderful." I can imagine this scene actually happening, which is really what I look for in good fan fic. Wow!

Reviewer: KayjalDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106202Chapter: 1
i like this.i wonder why i never saw it before? i really do enjoy all of your stories. this was so nice, the kind of nice that makes you smile.

**I really do enjoy watching them run**. the ending is nice. :D

Reviewer: ADate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100802Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed the mood of this piece, especially as the year got later. The quiet snowfall and the insulation of Hermione not being able to hear the boys running complemented the silent, quiet reflectiveness of the entire story.

One suggestion -- I had to reread the first paragraph three times before I understood the time and location that were set up in it. At first I thought it was tense mistakes with the verbs, but it's not. I'm not really sure how to make it easier to read without taking away the mood, but I just wanted to let you know that it is a bit difficult.

Otherwise, I love this story.

~A

Reviewer: jayceeDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98371Chapter: 1
You are such a gifted writer. I think I've read this story about a hundred times and I still love it. Are your stories on Fanfiction.net?

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95964Chapter: 1
I think that having them run every morning is a really neat way for them to be together without other people interfering or without them feeling the need to talk. Also it's cool how Hermione always sits and watches them. Good job! :D

*Geena

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95097Chapter: 1
*sighs* I know I said this in the last review, but this was perfect.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93903Chapter: 1
This story is simply amazing. Everytime I read it, I forget that I'm sitting at a computer in my house in the middle of Texas. Suddenly, I'm a student at this school, my two best friends are ones running around the lake, I'm the one watching their progress and remembering the horrible things we have all dealt with. This is one of the few fanfics that gives me that lump in the throat and for that I thank you. Excellent piece of work, please keep writing.

Reviewer: AdharaDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86921Chapter: 1
Well, if you are writing as Hermione, I personaly think that she and Ron would not be a couple. And where is the random running thing from? Are Harry adn Ron not talking? What the heck is going on? Kinda weird.

Reviewer: Susie AndersonDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81566Chapter: 1
Wow this was totally awesome! I love the tone that you used with Hermione! I loved the underlying message in it, and I loved the way you linked the heavier stuff into the end.
Excellent!

Reviewer: SuzyDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63949Chapter: 1
I'm touched and moved. I've spent the afternoon reading every story on the list, your writing makes me smile. Your stories are both hilarious and sweet, you write like a pro and I've thoughly enjoyed myself. Thanks.

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50878Chapter: 1
This is just plain good writing. Hard to believe it's over a year old, and that it was written before OotP.

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48601Chapter: 1
ok I've been reading all ur stories down the list and I think it's safe to say you are probably my favorite author. U actually give me that warm gushy feeling inside! I think you have all the personalities down perfectly. I really liked that bit about Ginny asking Harry about Quidditch even though she didn't care about it, it was so sweet. I LOVE U, Worlds greatest author! Don't be scared but my days been really happy since I started reading ur stories 2day!

Reviewer: Isobel MoodyDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47664Chapter: 1
Re-reading this after OotP, I can't help but noticing how, when this didn't turn to be how it was, it just as easily could have. And on several counts, it did.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47647Chapter: 1
This is one of my favourites. It just feels so real... I love how your writing is so versatile, you aren't just stuck on fluff fanfics, but you can still write a bloody good one. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Celestina BlackDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47357Chapter: 1
hmm. interesting.
i think this was a good peice, i DO enjoy things from miones POV.

Reviewer: meDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43242Chapter: 1
I don't have words to describe it, it's great, more than great it's...there are no words...

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33160Chapter: 1
That's really sweet.I imagine she's writing in a diary or something.

Reviewer: ElaineDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32599Chapter: 1
Lovely

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30926Chapter: 1
*This was one f the first things I ever read on the Sugar Quill, and since then I've run in2 it a kazillion times. Really, it's very moving. I can sort of relate 2 it, therefore it's gotta B one of my favs! Groove on!*

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25351Chapter: 1
I love the voice in this. Without spelling it out for us, you make it obvious that these are kids who have been forced to grow up too fast, have had to carry far too many burdens for their years, but who have been equal to the task. Very nicely done!

Reviewer: ivyDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25251Chapter: 1
what a beautiful story. you've captured the melancholy of the times and the protectiveness they all feel toward one another so well. i'll have to read more of your stuff.

Reviewer: CorvidaeDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21273Chapter: 1
i love you! what would i do w.out you? i would have horrible withdrawels about what would happen next and start foaming at the mouth muttering something about tickling squids...thank you for being such a talented writer!

Reviewer: AllyssaDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19430Chapter: 1
This is a really good story...I liked it.

Reviewer: LinaliDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17309Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I like the whimsical feeling of this fic, the way it doesn't have a real plotline exactly, but is more abstract than that. It's really very nicely written as well.

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 16970Chapter: 1
B, this is just an exquisite story. Its quiet, understated tone is perfect for the things Hermione’s discussing, and gives them even more cadence and meaning.

> They run well together. I don't think Ron asked Harry if he wanted a running companion, but I get the feeling Harry likes the company.

This says everything about their friendship. In situations like this, actions really do speak louder than words. Just this simple gesture says more about the loving friendship between the boys than any words could.

There are so many bits in here I’d like to comment on, but that would be the entire story. I love how the pain and love are mingled so quietly, how all of Ron and Hermione’s actions say so much more eloquently how much they love Harry.

The framing device also works especially well. Wonderful job, B :)

Reviewer: Scribe2Date: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16640Chapter: 1
I just love all of your writing. It's so concise and beautiful. You manage to write all of the right things, and not overdo anything. I love everything in your stories--the distinctions you make between the twins (I absolutely love George, and was thrilled that you made him a writer) and this last story just took my breath away. It's so perfect, so in character, and the writing is beautiful. I usually hate present tense, but when it is done right--as it is here--it can be perfect. You've captured it, and you've captured these characters. They seem so real when you write them, and I can't wait to read everything else you've written. (I'm not sure how many more I have to go!) ;) ~Scribe

Reviewer: clumsy_maniacDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14728Chapter: 1
Beautiful and sweet. This is a lovely piece, and it 'flows' really nicely. Very well done.

Reviewer: Mellon CollieDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8005Chapter: 1
Hehehehe..."I thought a moment then told her I don't care for the way Harry ties his shoes." LMAO! I can't imagine Hermione actually saying something like this, but it's hilarious anyway! I really like this fic! It's very well written, and there are a lot of things mentioned that I think might actually happen in canon (not the running, but the other stuff). Good job!

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2002-09-23
Reviewid: 4582Chapter: 1
I adore this. Beautiful. This story sounds like you could read it out loud. Crisp and straight forward. Once again, I absolutely adore this.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2002-09-07
Reviewid: 3480Chapter: 1
I adore this piece of writing. It's the one piece on the whole site which I come back to again and again. It feels so real, I can just picture everything.

I love it. I might just go and read it again.

Reviewer: MarshaDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3047Chapter: 1
I love it. It made me misty-eyed. Your handling of the characters in all of your stories is phenomenal. I love this fic because I know that JK would never put anything like this in her books, but I believe they need it. This way I can pretend its really in there.

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2689Chapter: 1
it's sweet to see how much hermione is concerned for harry. i also like the fact that it was from her POV. nice job! :)

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2318Chapter: 1
I love this fic. I love this fic. I love this fic. I love this fic...

I could keep saying that forever. This is wonderful: touching and heartfelt without being either sappy or fluffy. The writing style is in perfect... rhythm, for lack of a better word, with the storyline. All in all, wonderful.

Oh, and we miss you like crazy on the Good Ship R/Hr (http://www.fictionalley.org/fictionalleypark/forums/showthread.php?) at Fiction Alley Park. *sighs, remembering the old days*

*trisha*

Reviewer: DavidDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2140Chapter: 1
This was the first fanfic I ever read (quite a while ago now!) I was nervous about reading another author's portrayal of the world I'd grown to love, but this beautifully understated story drew me right in. It's one of the few first-person HP fics that I've seen work well, and so many little touches (the snow, Ron's baseball cap, the obituary column) add up to make a bittersweet vignette that (it seems to me) captures perfectly what it wants to show. Thanks for the story.

Reviewer: DavidDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 884Chapter: 1
Of all your stories, I think this is probably the best one :D

Reviewer: MelissaADate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 863Chapter: 1
I know I've said this in person, but I have to say it again: This fic just makes me so...I don't know...satisfied. It's so sweet and so in character, and just makes me happy. Thanks. :-)

Reviewer: RogueAngelDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 329Chapter: 1
I really liked this, and I don't know how I missed it before. The whole mood...you've captured it wonderfully. I'm always amazed by those who can write poignant stand alones. Of course, I would love to hear more, to see more of what is going on in this fic's reality, but... it's not necessary. This is a glimpse, but it's so full and real, I'm totally satisfied. Thanks for sharing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --