The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Join Hands
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-11-15
Reviewid: 149933Chapter: 1
This is beautifully done and heartbreaking. Sometimes the choices we feel we have to make in an instant can take a lifetime to undo.

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149582Chapter: 1
I've read this story over and over. I feel compelled to comment but I have a hard time saying anything that isn't obvious as the events seem so inevitable. The situation just gets sadder and sadder. Am I right that Hannah is pregnant and Neville suspects that is the reason she is leaving her job. I feel sorry for every one - Ernie, Neville, and Hannah and can see no satisfying end for the three. Neville and Hannah still have sexual and romantic energy. Hannah seems disappointed in Ernie.

I wonder why Neville didn't write her for six months and waited so long to see her again? There is a lot left unsaid in the story.

Everyone acts as I would expect they would. I wouldn't think that Neville would take well to an ultimatum and he would be hurt by her suggestion that she was thinking of marrying another man and would simply back off.

I found myself a little frustrated with Hannah allowing herself to drift into a life because it is safe or what she thinks will work for her rather than living the life she wants.

I'm unusual in that I feel a little sorry for Delilah. I almost wish the story could be written without her. I feel embarrassed for her, especially when he shakes her arm off. She just makes the whole thing more painful so it is probably good that she is in the fic.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-08-26
Reviewid: 149030Chapter: 1
It's hard to read this because of the bitterness surrounding Hannah and Neville's break up. If they had separated in a better way, this wouldn't be so bad, but the unspoken recriminations and regret make any future meeting very bittersweet. I feel sorry for both of them, and also for Ernie, because it's not nice to have a wife who loves someone else, even if he doesn't notice. The cameos from the other characters were amusing and provided some relief from the sadness at the centre of the story. Romilda hasn't changed a bit!

I'm glad this is a one shot.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Rincewind the WizzardDate: 2007-08-25
Reviewid: 149011Chapter: 1
I'm just going to pretend that I never read this story, and that Neville and Hannah lived happily ever after. You should be really proud of this fic, because the thought of Hannah settling for Ernie made me feel physically ill. To hell with the idea that not everyone can marry their highschool sweetheart! This is fanfic, for Bob's sake! :D This is just crying out for a sequel... ;)

Reviewer: tangerineDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148902Chapter: 1
Gaaaah!! I love the story but please tell me this isn't how Hannah and Neville end up in your Asking for Roses universe.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-08-11
Reviewid: 148795Chapter: 1
Oooooh, Dogstar, you are *cruel*. Yet awesome. I loved reading this..... first piece of fanfic since DH and it's definitely motivated me to read more. As ever the realness of your description and the depth of your characters is just wonderful. It fits very naturally with DH canon as well and makes perfect sense of Neville apparently being single in the epilogue (well, we don't know if he was single but teachers generally seem to be). I can imagine him not finding anyone else after Hannah but living on quietly as Hogwarts Professor.... even though the thought of that future makes me want to cry, Neville deserves to be with Hannah, dammit! Even though I wouldn't want Ernie to get hurt.

I loved poor Neville valiantly forcing his way through the party with the awful food (I hate mayonnaise in sandwiches too) and his awful date. I loved his particularly Neville train of thought that he 'supposed she was quite pretty' and he manfully tries to motivate himself to make second date..... It's so Nevillish... stupid and adorable and brave at the same time. I just had to laugh as Neville was cornered by both Romilda and Delilah! Poor guy, it must be his idea of hell....I loved your characterisation of Romilda here as well. Her catty glee when Deliliah screws up her date, the way she flirts with Neville (even though she is married) and spies on him and Hannah. It's funny because she has no idea that her behaviour is at all wrong.... but I find myself feeling quite fond of her somehow inspite of all that.

The break up between Neville and Hannah makes perfect sense characterwise.... it would be hard for anyone to keep faith in a relationship when you haven't heard from the other person for six months... especially someone like Hannah with her insecurities, I can see the lack of communication just tearing her up. And of course Ernie, though not even remotely close to Neville in terms of sheer awesomness would always reliably *be there*. And I can just see Neville working so hard for Hannah and their relationship but not thinking that she would need reassurance that he actually did still love her... typical male *rolls eyes*. You know, I think this fic is just crying out fot a sequel.... Neville/ Hannah/ Ernie in Egypt, hmmm? Although I can see that you might want to just leave it as it is.... it's just so wonderfully bittersweet and sad.

<Romilda had the feeling that if either one of them had held the embrace a second longer, they would have Disapparated away without a thought, unable to help it.>

*lip wobbles* *cries* Nooooooo, it can't end like that! You have to write me many many pages of Nevile/ Hannah fluff just to make up for that moment *stern look*.

Reviewer: kerosinkanisterDate: 2007-08-10
Reviewid: 148789Chapter: 1
I know I've read this before but I like that Neville and Hannah don't have their happily ever after. Let's face it, not many relationships of that age last.

<i>On the surface, it looked perfectly innocent but Romilda had the feeling that if either one of them had held the embrace a second longer, they would have Disapparated away without a thought, unable to help it.</i>

That made me really sad for Ernie who I think is perhaps a bit pompous but is a well meaning guy. If you write N/H set after this I'd like to see how you handle Ernie. A lot of writers that do triangles in fic end up making the other man/woman horrible so it's easy for the main pair to get together by the end. But you always wonder why the characters would go out with that person in the first place.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-08-08
Reviewid: 148773Chapter: 1
Oh, Dogstar. What am I to say? I love your writing. I liked St. Margaret's Roger and Lisa romance, and I liked your Neville and Hannah romance, whatever canon now tells us. But the combination? *Sniff* I'm just going to have to 'forget' about this little story and keep your happier ending in mind as separate from what St. Margaret wrote (and in a parallel universe from canon), b-b-b-because I'd hate to imagine Neville and Hannah meeting up again in this way.

And, well, I like Ernie. I've always had a soft spot for the guy (just like Harry does :), and never pictured him as a pre-DH-Percy/Barty Crouch Sr. type who, while solicitous, ignores his wife's conversation, and is altogether boring. :)

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148752Chapter: 1
Wow! I love your Neville and Hannah. I think I must read more of your fics!

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148751Chapter: 1
THe first time I read this story, it saddened me to see that Hannah and Neville had split up and moved on; I didn't get the same feeling of a nasty, bitter end this reading. There was still a bit of bitterness there, but it seemed more like Hannah and Neville had unfinished business. I still get the feeling that Hannah doesn't truly want to be the over-made-up ministry wife who has nothing to say except about her children. I can see her causing trouble for Ernie by speaking up when she shouldn't; perhaps he'll divorece her when she becomes detrimental to his career :O She and Neville are really made for each other.

I really enjoyed your portrayal of Delilah and Romilda; I can just see them: bleach-blonde (or some other unnaturally intense haircolor), blown-out, fake tan, Gym-toned, visible lipliner, ostentations designer-bag, fake breasts, skin tight, tacky, but obviously expensive clothes-but maybe this sort of woman only occurs in the US. Anyway, how did Delilah get to be an attorney, she's so busy man-hunting? :D

As usual, you have polsihed this story without really changing it; I couldn't say what you had done, but the story is sharper and clearer. I hope you can see your way to getting Hannah and Neville back togeter! :D

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148747Chapter: 1
Wow, this must have been tough for you to write, but you did a great job of it. Not all school romances end up in marriage, do they? But after the time and thought you put into Hannah and Neville, now to have to show them angry with each other, and apart... I liked the way you moved the "camera" through the party, the little snippets of other couples that hint at their family life, and the ever-loathsome Romilda (I particularly liked her, b/c she doesn't come across as a caricature, but as a very realistic person; we all know her type, don't we?). Great overall job.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148742Chapter: 1
I loved how you showed so much of this through Romilda's point of view, with the added bonus of her "interested" commentary of Hannah vs Delilah. I'm rather cross with St Margarets for separating Hannah and Neville but it is totally unrealistic for all of the characters to marry their school days sweethearts so I suppose I'll just have to accept it as likely. I'd feel sorry for Ernie except that he probably doesn't think he needs sympathy for all he's a decent sort really (has to be or else Hannah wouldn't have maried him).

I'm glad you posted it and it does survive Deathly Hallows.

Reviewer: Alexis CartwheelDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148715Chapter: 1
Wow, Dogstar! Once again you've done an amazing job understanding what makes Neville tick. I haven't read Roger and Lisa, so I can't comment at all on how this compares to the original scene, but I think this piece stands very well on its own. The tension between Neville and Hannah was palpable during their entire conversation, it was clear that something had happened to come between them, but I wasn't sure what. I liked that you revealed that later in the dialogue, rather than disclosing Hannah's ultimatum in Neville's earlier narration. And I really liked this line at the end: "On the surface, it looked perfectly innocent but Romilda had the feeling that if either one of them had held the embrace a second longer, they would have Disapparated away without a thought, unable to help it." What a bittersweet moment!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --