The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: SlugClubMemberDate: 2007-08-23
Reviewid: 148993Chapter: 1
Oh my, that was so beautiful, it made me cry, which takes a lot. =] I can't believe I never really thought about how much George would suffer. That was so amazing. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: raindropshpDate: 2007-08-11
Reviewid: 148801Chapter: 1
omg...that was too sad.
ouch...my heart hurts.

()
()
()
()raindrops

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-08-10
Reviewid: 148787Chapter: 1
I'm confused. I thought...

It took me a while to digest this one. The blocks of narrative in normal print were George's thoughts, and the blocks of italics were Fred's.

Now that I understand it, I REALLY understand how masterful this piece was. Thank you.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-08-10
Reviewid: 148786Chapter: 1
Oh, George! It took me a few minutes to piece it out, but George has died.

Beautifully written, but... so sad!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-08-08
Reviewid: 148775Chapter: 1
You made me nearly cry. Dammit.

Seriously, though - amazing.

Reviewer: Azel SadlacDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148763Chapter: 1
Oh sorry about the incomplete review, accidentally clicked. As I was saying:Fred's death was the hardest to bear, it was brutal and sudden. One minute he was laughing and the next... I liked your story, well written and sad. "He’d have to speak to George about that, how to make a light stay that bright…except George wouldn’t understand this light…George couldn’t know this light…not yet…"-this part was particularly good.

Reviewer: Azel SadlacDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148762Chapter: 1
Fred's death

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148759Chapter: 1
A definite tear-jerker. Lovely, but I'm heading off to look for a tissue. Thanks for writing this.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148749Chapter: 1
You ever read any Virginia Woolf, Arya?

This is wonderful. Really first-rate writing.

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148735Chapter: 1
So heartbreaking, I liked how you worked your story around the actions from the book. I also mourned the loss of Fred, I bawled, and was so worried about what would happen to George, it really shocked me. Great write, I like how you ended it off with Fred being in a place where he was "wrapped in one of mum's warm blankets."

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148734Chapter: 1
Whoa. That is such an onslaught of emotions and words. Is it from George or Fred's point of view? Or both? This is good, very good, but confusing. I doubt you could make it unconfusing, though.

Good job!

Reviewer: scholtzDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148730Chapter: 1
fred was the only person i felt sad about dying. he was my favorite weasley. i mourn for a couple of days after too. i felt the same as you did, if one died it felt like they both did.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148727Chapter: 1
A masterful use of different points of view.. I was very moved by the beginning-
"Alone. So utterly alone. Empty, helpless, incompletely alone. Standing in an empty, dark cavern, the sound of the silence bearing down on him as he walked, a child in the void, the silence louder than his faltering footsteps, which echoed horribly into the emptiness." contrasted with
"White taking over as he left the cave behind, the warm water flowing over his body as the silence wrapped around him like one of Mum’s warm blankets. . . Peace, calm, tranquility, and everlasting satisfaction as a smile crossed his face for one last time."

Reviewer: Alexis CartwheelDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148718Chapter: 1
Arya, you made me cry for Fred and George all over again. The incomplete dialogue throughout the piece was very effective because it makes the reader feel so disoriented, like George must have during the end of the battle. I really loved the way you switched between classic Fred and George moments and the scenes of George's isolation and Fred's journey. Well done!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148717Chapter: 1
I deem this a two-tissue fic! I've been crying since the first section and think this is a wonderfully sad story. I love the exerpts you use from the books; they sum up the essence of Fred and Fred and George and I'm sad that it's going to be just George now. Thanks for writing this story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --