The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Minding the Baby
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: FictionGoddessDate: 2007-12-02
Reviewid: 150064Chapter: 1
Beautiful.
I smiled, I very nearly cried, and I kinda want to hug Draco.

And I really love that Teddy's morphing is inacurate because he's still to young to notice details. I'd never thought of that before but it added a real depth to his age and his development.

Reviewer: BrittaDate: 2007-09-29
Reviewid: 149445Chapter: 1
Great story. Yes, Andromeda has lost most of her family and I'm glad that she had at least Teddy Lupin left. She'll probably spoil him, but of course not too much.

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149398Chapter: 1
"Did it hurt enough to make you forget everything else? Because this isn’t working, Remus; I still remember you…"

This line rang so clearly for me - I could hear Andromeda as if she were here in my living room.

The progression from the first shock of the news to when she breaks down while holding Teddy was very natural, particularly her attempt to exchange one pain for another. Having the Malfoys turn up at the funeral was not something I expected, and was quite a powerful moment, but not as powerful as when Draco showed up at the end.

Thank you for posting this. It was lovely.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-08-22
Reviewid: 148976Chapter: 1
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this because I know I read it on the day it came out. Maybe it was the fact that I was crying after the first time I read it and so I forgot to leave a review. Anyway, I loved this. Andromeda's grief was so raw and painful. I could totally envision her, biting herself, trying to keep the mental anguish at bay. I kept thinking and thinking about the ending. It just made me smile. It sounds horrible, but to me it was just one of the funniest lines in all of DH. I couldn't believe that Voldy made a funny! Then I read this and I kept thinking, no wonder Harry and Draco have to keep a more civil relationship now; they have Teddy between them. Then I started thinking about how they might compete over Teddy's affections, like arguing over who gets to buy him his first broom and all. Oh the possibilities!

This was beautiful. Thank you for this little gem.

Reviewer: QueenravenDate: 2007-08-14
Reviewid: 148830Chapter: 1
She really is the biggest victim in the whole mess. It's so sad to even contemplate. And reading it is heartbreaking. I had to stop reading at this: "The baby cries for his mother as the mother cries for her baby."

It's an excellent story, thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-08-13
Reviewid: 148814Chapter: 1
I loved it. Everyone was perfect. The baby cries for his mother as the mother cries for her baby was the best line ever. *cue waterworks* I loved Harry and Ginny's part and Andromeda's reaction to her sister and Then Draco at the end...surprising but wonderful.

Reviewer: rachelindeedDate: 2007-08-08
Reviewid: 148772Chapter: 1
That was so lovely and sad. Thank you so much for writing this! My heart goes out to Andromeda too.

Reviewer: Kit of DarknessDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148765Chapter: 1
You've captured a great deal of everyone's character in a short story which is really lovely and rather moving. Also good are the details of the post-DH lives.

Reviewer: hphirofanficDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148764Chapter: 1
WOW!!!
You rule!!!!
VERY NIIIIICCCCEEEEE!!!!
I loved your stories!! Minding the baby is incredible!
AMAZING!
Please keep going!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148761Chapter: 1
I'm to the point of needing a box of tissues every time I start reading a DH compliant fic. Thanks so much, this was lovely!

Reviewer: stnky605Date: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148760Chapter: 1
Beautiful! I imagine losing so many people so quickly would affect Andromeda. I love the way Harry and Ginny are able to help her move past that.

I look foward to reading more of your stories.

Reviewer: hey there delilahDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148756Chapter: 1
Absolutely lovely. I cried.

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148754Chapter: 1
That was really beautifully and emotionally written. I really love the idea of Narcissa trying to reconcile with Andromeda and you had me crying at the funeral as well as Harry and company. I'm not so sure about Draco... still torn on *how* he's changed over the years. But I love Andromeda's reflections on Harry and Ginny as well.

Reviewer: lilastarDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148744Chapter: 1
This is brilliant!

I think what I loved most was the Malfoys' behaviour,especially Draco. "I've come to babysit the cub" - brilliant how he's using Voldy's own words there.
I agree that the "curt nod" definitely implies a huge change in the relationship between Harry and Draco and I think you've done a great job of showing this. The effort it takes Draco to visit Andromeda is clear and really makes you feel for him.

Great work!

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148743Chapter: 1
Andromeda's grief, so raw, so painful to read, so tangible.
'The baby cries for his mother as the mother cries for her baby.'
Just heartbreaking.

Andromeda's words to her sister at the funeral:
'“I once had a sister who looked like you,” she tells Narcissa. “But she was much younger, at least twenty-five years younger. I think she must have died; one of us did, anyway.”'
And then she turns away. Yes, I don't imagine the rift between these sisters can be healed readily. Great reactions from both sisters, inlcuding Cissy's dropping to her knees to plead her case.

Loved loved *loved* Andromeda's observations of Harry and Ginny, especially the wry, 'Andromeda doesn’t know what to say to that, but begins to re-evaluate her earlier assessment of Molly Weasley’s wishes.'
I'm very glad the H-G fluff and the baby games snuck in there too, if only because it shows how Andromeda has moved on with her grief, how loving and caring for Teddy, and for Harry and Ginny too, has helped to heal some of her pain, and made her loss more bearable.
I loved her dry-eyed, smiling recollections of handling-a-metamorphmagus-child. And I hope that perhaps the ideas you touch on here might inspire you to write more of Andromeda and Teddy, Harry and Ginny to continue this story.
*Superbly* written, Rhetor. Thank you.
Helen

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148740Chapter: 1
Oh wow... I'm bawling! Lovely story.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148737Chapter: 1
It's so sad! But you do a very good job of telling us how Andromeda feels. I love how she knows exactly where Harry and Ginny's relationship is going. Very nice fic!

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148728Chapter: 1
Eeeeee, what a lovely and sad story! You have really captured Andromeda's pivotal position and it's heartbreaking. This is the first post-DH fic to bring tears to my eyes, great job!

Reviewer: adeleDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148716Chapter: 1
"The baby cries for his mother as the mother cries for her baby."

Wow.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --