The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: Gred And FeorgeDate: 2007-11-27
Reviewid: 150022Chapter: 1
'...Today there are many in the Wizarding world, including no doubt some of you are here now, who need do no more than grieve for their lost heroes and be grateful for those who were spared. In the back, Kingsley spotted a clump of red and swallowed hard. Arthur and Percy.

Yes, we need to all morn the loss of Dobby,Hedwig,Snape,Tonks, Collin,Remus,and Fred. I love Fred so much.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-10-21
Reviewid: 149678Chapter: 1
I'd love to see Kingsley talk to Blair. He could have used some good news back then. Thank for the story.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-10-08
Reviewid: 149547Chapter: 1
Didn't review this when I read it the first time -- my apologies. I imagine the crowd rather vividly this time, especially given movie 5's visualization of the Ministry.

Good show - VERY good show.

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148975Chapter: 1
I thought that this was a nice break from all of the funeral stories.

And you're right, the MoM scene scene made me sick, too...

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148881Chapter: 1
Love it. Perfect way to start his new job.

Reviewer: QueenravenDate: 2007-08-14
Reviewid: 148832Chapter: 1
Bravo! Bravo! *clap, clap, clap*

Reviewer: kokkinaDate: 2007-08-14
Reviewid: 148821Chapter: 1
Thank you for this piece. I am always amazed by the stories I read here. I admire your ability to take something like Kingsley's 1st day and make it so purposeful. It is a very tight piece of writing.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-08-12
Reviewid: 148807Chapter: 1
A good idea for Kingsley's first day, I think it's definitely what he would have done. I particularly liked the moment when he realised he wasn't alone:

<More were coming to join them, drawing their wands with an expression of fierce determination as they blasted the graven image they had been obliged to walk past every working day for the last year.>

Good job.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2007-08-12
Reviewid: 148805Chapter: 1
Very dramatic. Part of me was put off by the concept that his first act as minister was to destroy something, however hideous, rather than to build something. But when I read the author's note about the Berlin Wall, that put it in a different light, especially since it became a common act of tearing down in order to build up.

(Glad no one was hurt... all that stone flying around!!!

Reviewer: RhetorDate: 2007-08-12
Reviewid: 148804Chapter: 1
Well, I've said this before -- this is a lovely story. I especially like Kingsley's well-worked POV, and the way in which his impulsive, emotional, utterly truthful rage at the statue becomes the emblem of his leadership by example. How completely different he is from Fudge or Scrimgeour, and how much better the world will be because of it!

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-08-11
Reviewid: 148803Chapter: 1
Loved it! And I got choked up (I love hope in politics - must be why I look at the West Wing like a sort of religion). Kingley's blowing up the statue was perfect - that statue was one of the most horrible images in the book for me, and its destruction is a wonderful way to start the new era. This could be the great beginning of a series of stories about Kingley's reign...if you were interested... :).

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-08-11
Reviewid: 148797Chapter: 1
That was lovely. It brought me to tears. Admitedly, I've been a hosepipe since reading DH, but still, this was touching. I loved the touch of Kingsley keeping the piece to remind him of their strength. I immediately thought of the Berlin Wall, then of course I read your author's note. Oh, and having Arthur and Percy in the crowd was a nice touch as well. I agree that despite their horrific loss, they would still be there in the thick of things, helping to rebuild their world. Nicely done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --