The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149604Chapter: 1
Last line killed me dead. You horrible person, you!!

But otherwise, it was a thoroughly enjoyable, uplifiting and completely wonderful story. Oh, Fred...

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2007-09-06
Reviewid: 149181Chapter: 1
This is a work of art, in the sense that it was comical, and also heartbreaking, because Fred died only a few months afterwards. I always wondered how his death would be dealt with, how George would feel. great missing moment!

Reviewer: joebob1379Date: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149153Chapter: 1
Oh man, that ending was sad... :-(
Great story, though!

Reviewer: setthewindonfireDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149042Chapter: 1
This was excellent characterisation and nicely humourous. I doubt I was alone in thinking that it was Fred's funeral at the beginning! I liked the banter between the twins, the idea of the 'ear funeral' was perfect and the fic had good pace. All the references to 'living for a long time' and 'not having to plan their funerals' were cleverly placed in- did you have fun with that? ;) Considering what actually happens in DH this story is both funny and sad which is just how I like them.

Well Done!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-08-22
Reviewid: 148984Chapter: 1
I've been hearing so many good things about this story on the forum boards and they were all true!

[He was sitting exactly at the center of the Burrow’s rough Quidditch Pitch, where he’d spent a great portion of his youth, running around, learning to fly, collecting insects to put in Percy’s bed]

*snert* I love how you mix in the funny (insects in Percy's bed) with the ordinary activities of youth.

The swearing ,mourning garden gnomes are too hilarious and cute!

["Well if I die before you," Fred said, "I want my funeral to be exactly like that. On a much bigger scale, of course. Family and friends and all. I want it to be an enormous party. Gallons of firewhisky, loads of fireworks. No moping around." After a moment he added, "Though the gnome chorus could stand to be a bit more rehearsed. And I’d prefer them to sing something a little more upbeat, maybe a Weird Sisters tune..."]

Oh, that just made me sob! I loved this fic! You can see how close Fred & George are and it was so special seeing them share a comical moment even though there is chaos all around them. Absolutely awesome insight into the twin dynamics. Please write more stories!

Reviewer: Molly LassDate: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148867Chapter: 1
This was absolutely wonderful and funny and heartbreaking. I registered a forum name just so I could comment on this and tell you how much I enjoyed it. Truly brilliant, and one of the best I've read in a long time.

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148862Chapter: 1
Made me cry... great job, font was a bit small though...

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148860Chapter: 1
I didn't know whether to laugh or cringe while reading this. It was so funny, and so creepy all at once! Kudos to you. You got Fred and George exactly right - given their reactions in canon after George loses his ear, the ear funeral is precisely the kind of thing they'd do. Small nitpicking though: I don't think that George is half-deaf. The way I understand it, he lost his outside ear, but not the eardrum. Maybe he lost some acuity (since the exterior part funnels the sound). Though I have to say that the half-deaf jokes were great!

Reviewer: JendoraDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148857Chapter: 1
'ear 'ear! Thanks for this story. I really thought it was Fred's funeral for the first few paragraphs. The twins are my favorite characters so I cried at the last line, but this was a very cute story. Nicely written.

Reviewer: PakismithDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148856Chapter: 1
It's a very good idea, well developped and with an end so bittersweet. I would like to assist to Fred's funeral plenty of family and friends, gnomes and fireworks, looks as very funny but it will be very very sad.
Thank you.

Reviewer: Azel SadlacDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148853Chapter: 1
Very clever, you had me fooled at the summary, I thought it would be a story about Fred's funeral(much too obvious). I like how Fred planned a funeral for George's ear, it does seem like something he would do and how important this is for them because, all jokes aside, it does represent the death of their identicalness. The ending is very sad because George clearly believed that he and Fred still had a long journey together ,the death of his twin was brutal shock.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148850Chapter: 1
This was wonderful and perfectly in charcter. I thought your summary was extremely clever as well. Of course the ending was bittersweet. The last line has such an impact! I'm currently obsessed w/ writing twin fics as well. DH was everything I hoped it would be and more, but why Fred? Why?

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148847Chapter: 1
I loved this. A wonderful blend of humour and pathos. I'm so glad I read it.

Reviewer: Seshat23Date: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148842Chapter: 1
Funny, touching and poignant. I love the idea of the twins holding a funeral for George's ear. And I can imagine the funeral that George might arrange for Fred, honoring his memory with fireworks and gnomes despite his sadness.

Reviewer: BlitheDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148839Chapter: 1
That is such a Fred and George thing to do. The garden gnomes were an especially nice touch.

Melissa

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148837Chapter: 1
I loved this story. It was great how the summary sucks you in, and you think you're going to be reading about one thing, and really the story is about something different. I really hope that there were gnomes at Fred's funeral. What a bittersweet ending. You also did a really good job of differentiating between the twins's characters.

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148833Chapter: 1
This *is* the sad story I was expecting from the description--but not in the way I was expecting it.

I love the typical Weasley humor, love the elaboration of Fred and George's personalities...love how much it hurts to know that there won't be a hundred years until Fred's funeral. And I love how it makes it better, to know that Fred really would want a funeral exactly like this.

Thank you for this.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --