The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Chocolate and Spice
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149581Chapter: 1
I loved this story because it is both very sad and romantic and sweet and sexy at the same time. "“The letter said both of us,” Neville said stubbornly, his voice full of hurt. “I don’t see why you can’t stay with me and accept the job.” They’d been talking round in circles for over a week but Hannah didn’t feel any impatience with him." The situation is so sad and yet seems inevitable given the personalities of both Neville and Hannah. They both are convinced of the rightness of their "sacrifices" and are very stubborn.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148874Chapter: 1
Eeee, I love this fic! It's both romantic and so sad, in light ofthe coming split. This reminds me I have been meaning ever since the first time I read this to actually try chocolate and chilli... hmm maybe I'll make it for my parents wedding anniversary.


<Hannah had felt ice starting to form around her heart the minute he’d gone remembering the eagerness in his eyes winning over sadness at leaving her behind again. The separation between them was turning into more than physical distance. She feared she was losing him, and it hurt almost unbearably. >

This is actually brought a lump to my throat.... poor Hannah trying to deal with that loneliness and fear on her own. It makes me want to smack Neville over the head, although I suppose he can't help it....Poor Hannah, stuck at home with her crap job and her selfish father while Neville travels the world..... it ain't easy being a hufflepuff.


I lovbe how you describe the joy of their meeting as well as the sadness though... I love the exactness of your description... it makes it creates a world that is both real and matter of fact and is at the same time wonderfully sensual. I love Hannah noticing the physical differences in Neville... it's hawt but at the same time shows the differences between them... fluff with an edge to it, that.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148866Chapter: 1
This was even better than I remembered it. I love your Hannah.

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-08-16
Reviewid: 148861Chapter: 1
I don't know whether to say this is bittersweet, or bitterspicy (like the chili con mole). As always, your writing has a gentle flow that belies the tough situations you describe. I loved every phrase. Hopefully you'll write more one-shots - since this one, while foreshadowing the drift, still leaves them too close to each other to explain the eventual outcome of this relationship.

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148854Chapter: 1
Beautiful, as usual!

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148852Chapter: 1
This was a great view into how 'happily ever after' doesn't usually work out for high school sweethearts (with the notable exceptions of Ron and Hermione, Harry and Ginny, and James and Lily), although Hannah and Neville are trying. But all the same, I must protest the comment below...kill off Ernie?!? I like Ernie. Just not with THIS version of Hannah. I'm still begging you not to mix this story with St. Margarets...in that story, I had pictured Hannah and Ernie as HAPPY together.

I'm waiting for JKR to write that encyclopedia and go on tour so we can ask her who Neville DID eventually marry...maybe it was Hannah...or Susan...or Pavarti...or Rose Zeller...or Gabrielle Delacour...

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148848Chapter: 1
HOW have I not read this?

*has melted into puddle*

this is lovely. so. lovely. the extreme hawtness of the chili and mexico and the bikini contrasted with the meh-ness of the countertop and kitchen in a London suburb, neville all rugged and sexy world-traveller, and to hannah, he still smells like england. they're so right for each other.

i love this. and you.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148843Chapter: 1
Very interesting, I really like this one-shot. Having read the last one you posted on Sugar Quill I appreciate the glimpse into Hannah and Neville's deteriorating relationship and the forces that are driving them apart. Having enjoyed "Asking for Roses" I rather hope you'll eventually let them work things out--kill off Ernie in Egypt, perhaps? The struggle between emotion and career and how they're letting their love slip away is very realistically portrayed.

Question--does chili really taste good with chocolate?

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2007-08-15
Reviewid: 148834Chapter: 1
Cute! Sorry, I don't have anything else constructive to say--but this is quite well-written and it's left me all smiley. Hence: Cute!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --