The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hedwig's Flight
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2007-09-06
Reviewid: 149182Chapter: 1
A wonderful write! I was so sad when hedwig died, just an innocent animal. This was really nice, I liked how you incorporated the afterlife as it appeared in DH, and Hedwig's loving indgination was spot on. Great work!

Reviewer: PakismithDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149081Chapter: 1
It was very sad and socked when Hedwig died, first of a lot of deaths,well the second as the first was Hogwarts's teacher.
Hedwig is one of the most perfect caracters of the novels and she died being trapped in her cage...and saving Harry's life.
I think you wrote a beatiful memorial for her.
To Hedwig! and...to you! .Thanks you.

Reviewer: StetchnikDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149064Chapter: 1
Gee, thanks for making me cry! :P Really that was so well done. I especially liked the part where Hedwig yearned to be with Harry and just had to go to him. Thanks so much for sharing!

Reviewer: Brin BranDate: 2007-08-26
Reviewid: 149027Chapter: 1
Beautiful, moving story! How beautifully you've captured the loyalty of a pet. And the passage of time in her new condition is so well done. This will be one of my favourites from now on.

Reviewer: FireboltPhoenixDate: 2007-08-24
Reviewid: 149007Chapter: 1
This was a brilliant piece of work! You had me in tears (and I'm sincerely glad that my roommate is still asleep, or else I would've totally looked like some kind of a fool). Hedwig's death was among what disturbed me the most in Deathly Hallows, and I love how you have made this fitting tribute to our favorite snowy owl. Thank you!

Reviewer: Pennilyn NovusDate: 2007-08-24
Reviewid: 149005Chapter: 1
This story made me bawl, literally sob. Hedwig's death was such an unexpected and devastating blow to me, and having lost many companion animals to old age and illness, I understand Harry's grief for his owl, after all these years. You told Hedwig's story so well, her thoughts, her worries, the no-nonsense way I always pictured her speaking. Her shame when she was lost, her confusion when she couldn't find Harry, her joy when she began to receive news of him, it was heart-rending and lovely. What an amazing story.

Reviewer: xMarauderxDate: 2007-08-20
Reviewid: 148944Chapter: 1
Oh...wow...!!! I'm so thankful to see that someone...someone is as sad about Hedwig's death and her importance to Harry as me! Hedwig's death hit me hardest(along with Dobby's) and even now, I can't bear read that chapter(The Seven Potters) ever again.

I was a bit indignant with Harry since he didn't seem to grieve enough for Hedwig!

But your one shot made me smile and I hope that Harry does remember her a lot...as he does in this one shot!
Thank You!

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2007-08-18
Reviewid: 148911Chapter: 1
Oh, I wept copiously when I read this. I think that only someone who has lost a beloved pet, and dreamed of seeing them again someday, can really appreciate the story. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148904Chapter: 1
I love this story! I love how possessive Hedwig is of Harry. The way the pets speak of their owners is simply delightful! My Ron, indeed!

Reviewer: cuddlybearDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148900Chapter: 1
You made me cry during work...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148899Chapter: 1
I love Hedwig stories and this one is no exception. It made me feel sad when she felt lost, but I began to smile when Fawkes brought Hedwig news of Harry that she found encouraging. I love Pig's part of the story and how she finally accepted the little flying ball of feathers because he brought her news of Harry. Thanks for sharing this story with us.

Reviewer: BlitheDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148891Chapter: 1
That was very sweet. Hedwig's death was awful for how completely unexpected it was. I'm glad that you gave Harry some closure on that subject.

Melissa

Reviewer: neanaDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148889Chapter: 1
I sobbed myself silly as well :) Wonderful, wonderful story. Thank you so much for writing this!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148885Chapter: 1
Oh my, oh my. I didn't even cry this hard when Hedwig died in the book (great, now my husband thinks I'm really mad)! That was extremely touching. I loved Hedwig's musings about 'her boy'. And the snarking with Pig was perfect! Those distant glimpses of Harry and his happy life were so sweet. I'm glad that you included Crookshanks as well. This was a beautiful tribute to Hedwig. I am so printing this out for my mom to read (if that's all right w/ you?) Hedwig is (was?) her favorite character, she'll love this. Wait, its her birthday today, so maybe I should wait until tomorrow. I wouldn't want her to sob herself silly on her birthday :)

Thank you very much for this story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --