The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 151

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2008-11-25
Reviewid: 151250Chapter: 20
Sorry Fern. Forgot to say anything here when you finished, because I'd already read the full story months ago when I found it posted on another site.

"Teddy Lupin" was done very well, just as all your stories have. I guess it has the same problem any "next generation" narrative is going to have: without a homicidal ubber wizard gunning to murder Our Hero, there just isn't as much at stake. However, Boy Trying to Find The Last Traces His Dead Father Left In The World is as good a substitute as anyone could expect to come up with.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2008-09-14
Reviewid: 151112Chapter: 20
Wonderful! Though I confess I was a bit disappointed to see that dreaded pair of words ("THE END") after the last sentence, even the best of stories must end somewhere, and I concede that this is a rather good stopping point.

Given my understanding of the status of SQ, I hope you'll let folks know where (else) you'll be posting your creations ... if you do (and I hope you will).

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2008-09-02
Reviewid: 151073Chapter: 19
Ohhh, good chapter! I really missed this story and kept on checking to see if you'd updated! I'm very tempted by the ending, and I do hope that you'll give us some answers soon. Honoria Higgs finally was of some use for the first time. I thought the use of the Map really imaginative and helpful--a good sort of reworking/reprise of Prisoner of Azkaban but with your own twist on it. Really a beautiful scene. I do hope you'll post again soon!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2008-09-02
Reviewid: 151071Chapter: 19
It seems that Harry has managed to learn that it is sometimes appropriate to limit disclosure of information, even to folks who have legitimate reason to have said information.

Excellent interactions, as usual. :-)

(And yes, I think having Pettigrew with the others in the "next great adventure" would be, at best, uncomfortable for all concerned.)

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2008-03-28
Reviewid: 150679Chapter: 18
Its great to have another installment of this story to read. It felt good to see that Frankie wasn't wasting his time. I'm very interested to see what is in the forbidden forest that has attracted the interest of the Aurors.

I hope we don't have to wait along time to see what has happened to Frankie.

Teddy gets a lot of support from the adults in his life.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2008-03-28
Reviewid: 150673Chapter: 18
Hmmm... so Frankie may be onto something after all, eh? Excellent interactions (as usual); nice to see Vivian show up again, too. And Harry seems to be an excellent Godfather for young Teddy.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2008-03-28
Reviewid: 150672Chapter: 18
Oh no! The finale draws closer...I'm hoping for some serious action, and I'm glad to see Vivian again.

Post again soon, please!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2008-03-20
Reviewid: 150637Chapter: 17
Ooh, nice ending. I particularly like your account of the Noble and Ancient House of Black and how it works and its history. A good ominous note here as well, as clearly Honoria will try something unpleasant against Frankie. Why exactly is she so unpleasant and bitter against everyone?

Reviewer: ngayonatkailanmanDate: 2008-03-02
Reviewid: 150585Chapter: 17
Goodness me. You seem to have done a lot of research before putting quill on parchment. What a history!

Well done, you.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2008-03-01
Reviewid: 150580Chapter: 17
Excellent! I *really* like Andromeda. And it does seem as if there's a fair amount of isomorphism between Harry/Molly/Ginny & Banan/Wilona/Mayda, at least superficially. Ruthless' "very Tolkien fashion statement" was rather amusing, too.

Eighth & ninth cousins, eh? Figuring things out that much is a fair accomplishment; I've been fairly pleased at finding fourth cousins. :-)

Teddy is very blessed to have so many folks who love him so much, especially Andromeda, Harry, and the Weasleys. But this issue with Frankie definitely isn't looking good, and Higgs would likely run away screaming if she ever encountered an honorable intention.....

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2008-02-28
Reviewid: 150575Chapter: 16
Thank you for posting again! I had been dying in suspense to know what happened next. I'm finding the Frankie-Sanjiv's soul plot considerably more engaging here, I suppose because the memory-ring plot seems to have been played out for the given moment. Honoria sounds dreadful, and intriguing for precisely that reason--I look forward to seeing what she does with the Charmer. I thought Teddy's thinking about his relationship with James particularly touching-and it's quite interesting that he makes the connection to his own mentoring of someone younger rather than thinking about Harry's relationship to him. Please keep posting!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2008-02-24
Reviewid: 150554Chapter: 16
It's nice to read this again. I look forward to more.
Grandma Kate

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2008-02-23
Reviewid: 150550Chapter: 16
Ah -- good to see a new chapter. I especially liked the characterization of Brother Francis -- he sounds very much like a "man of the cloth."

Reviewer: Angel of the NorthDate: 2008-01-12
Reviewid: 150388Chapter: 15
Great story - first piece of fanfic I've read in a long while, and wonderful development of the characters. Thanks

Reviewer: Severely LupineDate: 2008-01-11
Reviewid: 150376Chapter: 15
I found this fic a few days ago and just caught up. It's so very sweet and I love the stuff between the characters we know, especially when they're reminiscing. The whole mystery and puzzle with the map is great and I'm really beginning to wonder what's in the forest. This whole story is absolutely marvelous and heart-warming. I'm looking forward to more.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2008-01-07
Reviewid: 150351Chapter: 15
WOW!! Most likey the best chapter yet. What a GREAT way to start a week. Thank so much.

Reviewer: rosemaryeveDate: 2008-01-06
Reviewid: 150340Chapter: 15
very interesting developments, so nice to see some of the past stored for Teddy. I am really enjoying this story.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2008-01-06
Reviewid: 150334Chapter: 15
Ah, excellent! Moony was quite a clever fellow. And it's pretty neat that Teddy's first impluse (after being reminded to wait) was to think of (young) James.

Harry's reaction (to however much Teddy chooses to share with him) should be priceless.

Reviewer: feltonfan2Date: 2008-01-06
Reviewid: 150327Chapter: 6
I don't know if you know, but there is a group called the Forest Guard in the Circle Trilogy by Ted Dekker.

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2008-01-05
Reviewid: 150326Chapter: 15
To me this was a very successful chapter. I loved that Lupin and to a lesser extent his friends have become well fleshed out characters in the story. Peter was written very well. (If he wasn't a true friend before his betrayal would be less painful. And James and Sirius would have been stupid to trust him.)

I can understand why Lupin thinks of himself as so much older than Dora if he knew her as a baby. The meeting on the platform with Sirius and his family was touching. Peter's jaunty wave was a good detail.

Lupin's statement in the letter about Dora teaching him that gifts born of our limmitations being the best because they are so hard earned was wise and good advice for a son.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2008-01-03
Reviewid: 150309Chapter: 14
Ooh. I'm intrigued that there's still more to be found out from Remus' ring. Did he write this and link it to the ring? Or is it that the ring can "speak" as it were? I'm burning with curiosity. Post again soon!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-12-18
Reviewid: 150171Chapter: 14
One trusts that Moony's "thin, spidery handwriting" doesn't write "... One ring to rule them all, and in the darkness bind them," eh? :-} Seriously, I get that we're getting rathe rcloser ot finding out why Teddy was urged to find what was his, yeah?

Another excellent chapter. The background on Moony's parents was good to have; such things add depth to the story, which accounts for much of why I enjoy reading it.

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2007-12-17
Reviewid: 150167Chapter: 14
sorry I haven't been able to review for a while
another great chapter. I really enjoyed Prof.Longbottom's detention with Teddy.
If I have one complaint about the HP books, is that
Nevile never quite got enough attention.

Reviewer: MeganTDate: 2007-12-13
Reviewid: 150146Chapter: 13
Is it weird that I want to hug each one of the characters as you've interpreted them?
Well done, with the map recognizing objects that Harry had lost as well as objects lost by James. I was wondering how you were going to get around that, and around the fact that the Hallows should not be found again.
Neville is clearly an excellent teacher, but I wonder if maybe he isn't going a little too lightly on Teddy, who did, after all, put himself and others at great risk. Not that the kid should be caned or anything, but he was thoughtless and reckless, and he at least deserves a strong lecture, which Professor McGonagall would have given him. Just a thought.

Reviewer: Vega blackDate: 2007-12-13
Reviewid: 150142Chapter: 13
ONce again you have given us a fine chapter to read. The moments between Neville and Teddy were well done. Neville is well drawn as an adult, not an overgrown 15 year old. He has a special understanding of Teddy's actions because of the similarities in their lives, but you did not over write that point.

I liked his last statement that Teddy could use any means he had to escape an evil teacher. My first thought was of Neville escaping the Carrows, but I also thought of Lupin giving Neville the skill to fight Snape even in his own my mind by teaching him to bannish the boggart. (NO I'm not saying Snape was evil.) This was a link between Lupin as Neville's teacher and Neville as Teddy's. I thought it added depth to the story.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-12-12
Reviewid: 150139Chapter: 13
Fernwithy, you did it again! You created a wonderful Lupin story, but this time about the younger generation!

It never ceases to amaze me how completely you have captured all of the personalities of Hogwarts as I imagine them. Now that I have found this fic, I'll follow it.

Thank you so much for the wonderful writing.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-12-12
Reviewid: 150137Chapter: 13
So moving that Teddy went for his Dad's wedding ring...that bit about how his father's ghostly presence meant so much to him was one of the most emotionally wrenching passages you've ever written. Wonderfully exciting scene with the Red Caps too. I loved Neville's speech, your Neville is such a fabulous character. Funny though thinking about how Lupin had to have a similar speech with Harry about going out to Hogsmeade and putting himself in danger. I'm trying to puzzle out what Frankie's on about with the Forest, though I don't feel too much hope in it...

Reviewer: RowanRoseDate: 2007-12-12
Reviewid: 150136Chapter: 13
Your attention to detail is amazing. Now I'm forced to go back and see exactly where the Stag left footprints. But I have a suspicion. The letter from Harry poignant. Neville's gums wrappers. And the ring.

I solemnly swear I'll have a box of tissues from now on when I read this.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-12-12
Reviewid: 150135Chapter: 13
Quite good. Neville seems to have turned out all right. :-)

And I can quite readily identify with Teddy's desire to have more of a connection with his parents.

Reviewer: kismattDate: 2007-12-06
Reviewid: 150099Chapter: 12
Yay! I'm enjoying the story...I look forward to every chapter!

I agree with RowanRose about Sanjiv. Very nice.

I also wonder about what Harry is thinking. The two other parts of the Hallows may be where the hoofprints marked...that's got to be worrying. Hope Teddy doesn't think he should go looking for those.

Write more!! :)

Reviewer: RowanRoseDate: 2007-12-05
Reviewid: 150095Chapter: 12
Dang it, woman, I cried all though this chapter!

The paragraph on Sanjiv was so poignant, so heartbreaking. Dora's friends were always one of her strengths. And you have to give Andromeda every bit of credit - she is raising Teddy to value what's really important.

I wonder what Harry is thinking. What those places mean to him. I wonder if the forest spot that Prongs marked is where Harry died...

And Remus. Hard to see just a shadow of him. But glad to see it.

<chuckle> Write faster! <laughter> Oh, all right, I'll wait...somehow.

I will say that there are a few places with Harry and Teddy where you use Dad, and I'm not quite sure if you mean Remus or James.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-12-05
Reviewid: 150088Chapter: 12
Yes the plot thickening. Again what good fun this story is to read.Thanks so much

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-12-04
Reviewid: 150083Chapter: 1
I'm torn between grinning one moment and sniffing the next. I don't want to relate to Andromeda--I can't imainge losing a child, I don't know where I would find the dignity to go on except through the blessings of a grandchild. It is, however, wonderful to see that Andromeda does not try to tie Teddy to his past and goes overboard in the opposite direction of Augusta Longbottom--perhaps to deal with her grief. This is an wonderful read. I look forward to more meetings between Teddy and Vicky--I can't pronounce her name either.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-12-04
Reviewid: 150082Chapter: 12
Ah, excellent -- again.

I had started laughing at some of the interactions (especially those involving Victoire), and my spouse asked what was so funny, and I mentioned that I was reading a particularly well-written story. The second time it happened,she was involved in paceling out some food for storage, and invited me to read to her, so I gave her a brief "thumbnail sketch" of the background of this series, then gave her the option of starting from "Shifts" or going with "Teddy Lupin and the Forest Guard." She chose the latter, and after the first chapter, she agreed that it was, indeed, exceptionally well-written.

I think you have another fan. :-)

Interesting progress with the Map, there. And there appears to be an undercurrent of domestic dissatisfaction iin the Longbottom household. Pity, that -- though I'm sure you have excellent reasons for it.

Moony's "cameo" at the end was quite touching. And I rather suspect that that "golden key" wasn't merely metaphorical.

I still like Andromeda. :-)

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-12-04
Reviewid: 150081Chapter: 12
Excellent chapter. It's nice to have a Christmas one this time of year. I'd like to be able to vanish the wrapping paper.

So now Teddy has the key. He just needs to find :what is his:.

Grandma Kate

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-12-04
Reviewid: 150080Chapter: 12
Wow...delicious...I'm really invested in this mystery right now. I'm thinking that the Map is showing the location of the Elder Wand and the Resurrection Stone. Neither belonged to James Potter that we knew of--were we somehow wrong? Or does it show Harry's possessions as well, since both would belong to him? It's dangerous that there's a way to show where the Resurrection Stone went, and the Elder Wand. I'm also totally broken-hearted about Sanjiv and the Apcarnes. I am excited, however, about how you're using the wands. And I really love that Granny has found a way to reconcile herself with her Black family history, something Sirius essentially died for not being able to successfully do. Wonderful psychological subtlety in handling her and Kreacher. Also Harry's relationship with Teddy and his willingness to act as a fellow son of the Marauders. Really, it's just the two of them, the only two heirs.

The integration of the French and Victorie storylines is extremely clever.

My prediction--Victorie will be the first and perhaps only person to be matched with a wand with a core of Metamorphmagus hair.

Golden key--I'm thinking the Shrieking Shack somehow? Is there anything left in it, one of Remus' sketches perhaps?

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-11-26
Reviewid: 150004Chapter: 11
Thanks, I'll always be looking forward to the next chapter. The stories great.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-11-26
Reviewid: 150002Chapter: 11
I rather like Andromeda Black Tonks. :-)

But I seriously laughed quite loudly upon reading Harry's pronouncement (to Teddy) "You're a strange child on occasion." (I recaall my unlce (mother's brother) telling my mother that she had "strange children." This was, of course, before he became a parent himself. :-})

And Ginny's reaction to James's ... "request" ... was priceless. I see he had the sense to backpedal; perhaps that little lesson will stand him in good staed in further relationships with others. :-}

Interesting stuff re: the wands, there. And it's rather a relief that Teddy can keep both.

I note, too, that judging by the presents he selects for others, that Teddy is a rather thoughtful lad. That speaks well of his upbringing.

Excellent,as usual! :-)

Reviewer: aemilyl24Date: 2007-11-21
Reviewid: 149980Chapter: 10
Great story! I love it. Keep up the awesome work. I can't wait until the next chapter. Is there a way to get updates when the chapter is updated?

Reviewer: TrueDate: 2007-11-21
Reviewid: 149961Chapter: 10
I am enjoying this story a lot and am excited for the next chapter. :) One thing is confusing me though- Teddy has too many friends!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2007-11-14
Reviewid: 149918Chapter: 10
What a wonderfully sweet fic.

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149905Chapter: 10
Aww, too cute! It's so Christmasy, I sort of feel as though you should have held off till Christmas to post it...but since that would entail all of us waiting that long for it, I'm glad you didn't.

The thing that makes this story as good as it is is what you're doing with the map. I feel like the other bits are a bit derivative - and I'm not even sure what's going on with the Forest Guard. Right now it seems to be waffling a bit as a plot point. While the map just about cuts it for plot, I think we need a conflict or a bigger puzzle or something.

We all want to read about what happens next in terms of details, but that doesn't necessarily make a strong *story.* Just something to think about.

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149902Chapter: 10
This is a fun installment. I liked Professor Longbottom's inheriting Luna's Lion hat when he became Head. It was a nice touch having him give it to the team captain after each first win.

I should have mentioned this earlier but having Hogwarts over run with Redcaps was another clever idea.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149901Chapter: 10
Quite the breakthrough for Teddy, there, with Transfiguration: excellent! Very nice chapter, all in all.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149899Chapter: 10
Delightful! I can't wait for Christmas.

Grandma Kate

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149896Chapter: 10
Aw--I loved this chapter! I really enjoy your thinking through of magical theory and how it pertains to Metamorphing. The pale ivy intrigues me. I also like the division of spells and who created which ones. Your characterizations are wonderful...the plot is getting a tad slow, though. I hope to see more action shortly.

Please post again soon! :)

Reviewer: Doctor AichaDate: 2007-11-07
Reviewid: 149862Chapter: 9
I am loving this story, just LOVING it. I hope you're writing more as fast as you can!

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2007-11-06
Reviewid: 149843Chapter: 9
This. Is. Wonderful.

You've almost caught almost everybody - Harry is spot-on perfect - and Teddy is rather sweet. Muggles and Minions is *hilarious*. Great idea, and I love that it's set in the real world. Genius.

Best part is this one:
"Uncle Harry chased him, and they both nearly ran into the iron bars, breathing hard. Uncle Harry flicked his wand, and a great white stag flew from the tip.

"Will you teach me that someday?" Teddy asked.

"Teddy, I will allow absolutely no one else to teach you, of all people, that particular spell. And I believe we'll do it when you're a third year."

"A bit ahead of schedule, don't you think?" Professor Longbottom asked, emerging from the shadows of the grounds and smiling.

"It's exactly on schedule for a Potter and a Lupin.""

Had me tearing up - embarrassing to admit, but true.

Reviewer: MeganTDate: 2007-11-06
Reviewid: 149839Chapter: 9
I suppose begging desperately for you to write and post faster won't help. Therefore I won't, and will instead tell you that this is quite how I expect Harry's generation to grow up, and how I expect their children to develop their own personalities (although--heresy alert--I rather like your little James better than JKR's; in the brief glimpse we got of him in the epilogue, he was a bit obnoxious).

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-11-02
Reviewid: 149801Chapter: 9
How cool for Teddy to be able too find stuff from his dad. It would mean a lot, to bad Harry did't have his dad's wand.Thank's

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-11-02
Reviewid: 149797Chapter: 9
Amazing...really amazing story...I'm still on the edge of my seat.

He can morph to look like a robe? Seems a little extreme, but plausible.

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149794Chapter: 9
What a charming story! Please hurry with the next chapter!

Reviewer: mrrobertsiiiDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149790Chapter: 9
The scavanger hunt is a very clever idea. Thanks for not making him a Quiditch fan or putting him on the team.
The Moonhowlers made me laugh. I can just see his grandmother shaking in rage.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149785Chapter: 9
Ah; this seems rather encouraging (as far as Teddy's goal of updating the Map). And yeah, that was a clever way for him to hide. :-)

Very nice.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-10-27
Reviewid: 149737Chapter: 8
What a great cliff hanger. I was slow to start this fic, but what a treat. Thank's so much, looking forward to the next chapther.

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149730Chapter: 8
Brill!
I like the wand lore twists, too.
Keep it up.

Reviewer: Glynnis GriffithsDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149725Chapter: 8
Thanks so much for showing us a bit of the Neville-Harry interaction; I was so worried it would be outside of Teddy's perspective and we wouldn't get to see them! The Harry teaching moments were really lovely - I've thought since the DA that he would make a great teacher. Also, mad props to Maurice for sticking up to Honoria!

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149722Chapter: 1
Professor Longbottom shrugged. "Well enough. Will you come by the greenhouses after your last lecture? I've a nice bottle of"--he glanced at Teddy--"flavored water. A good year."

Man you are funny. Seriously. This is like reading sequals to the books. I love it. I only wish that Teddy could get his own "Ron", you know what I mean? I see potential in Ruthless. I just don't want him to be so lonely. :) Anyway, this is great. I hope you continue it through his seventh year :)

Keep up the great work. Thanks for the read.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149721Chapter: 8
Lovely. And Harry seems to have matured a bit -- while retaining an appreciation for a lad's perspective,it seems to me. So Moony's wand & the Map, eh? :-) Probably a Good Thing the Map is likely to resist destruction. :-}

I could spend a great deal of time reading your prose. (Indeed; I think I do -- though not as much as I'd like!) :-)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149719Chapter: 7
Wonderful! As if the "normal" interactions weren't done well enough, you have bits of communication from the "older generation" sprinkled here and there -- to great effect,I may add.

Excellent!

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149716Chapter: 8
another greater chapter.
OotP was my least favorite book - and probably the best written of the bunch. It was just so grim
but one of the best parts was after the mass breakout
at Azkaban. People started to look at Harry differently -- you got a real feel that at least a few
people began to realize what Harry's life was like.
This chapter reminded me of the best parts of OotP.
I guess you heard that Neville marries Hannah Abbott -- though JK didn't say when.

Reviewer: hossDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149715Chapter: 1
After a start this good, to say that I'm looking forward to reading the rest is an understatment. Thank's so much!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149713Chapter: 8
Nice, well written, but a little boring. A little action please.

You are handling the the whole wand allegience stuff well. I have trouble with that bit in any fic.

The werewolf..mad wife
-ouch. Spot on uncaring teenagers.

Reviewer: moggieDate: 2007-10-22
Reviewid: 149690Chapter: 7
Thank you for another fine story fern, We could really do with an rss feed so we know when to get new chapters

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-10-17
Reviewid: 149657Chapter: 7
Ooh! Harry Potter! How exciting! :)

Interesting that Teddy won't tell anyone about the map. He's as much of a loner as his father was, without James and Sirius to bring him out of his shell.

I really love your depictions of the classes, and I'm glad, so glad, Teddy finally gave into the temptation to switch wands. Are you ever going to explain why Tonks' wand worked better for him than Remus's did? Are you going to explain the Marauder's Map as well? Why can't Teddy just ask the Map who drew it?

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2007-10-16
Reviewid: 149645Chapter: 7
Oh My Goodness. What a very exciting fic about The
Lupins son,Teddy. But oh my what a troublemaker he
is ,since he has so many major members and family
and good friends. Please continue and we'll paitently
await for Mr Potter to return to Hogwarts as a professor

Reviewer: Glynnis GriffithsDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149637Chapter: 7
Oooh! Harry's coming! I think I'm just as excited as the Hogwarts students. Great chapter - I loved the enthusiasm from home that greeted Teddy's first detention (and Maurice Burke's awe at it - please do have him go home with Teddy for a visit; I like him very much!). Also, what on earth was Bernice thinking? Did she really think the willow presented a danger to Hogwarts - and if so, why was she on her own - or is something else mysterious going on? I'm hooked - can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: ladylorettaDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149635Chapter: 7
:) you definitely made my day. i saw the chapter title and just felt better.
thankyou for the chance to clear my head. you write beautifully and Teddys universe is great. i loved baby fred.
nice cliff hanger at the end.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149633Chapter: 6
Teddy's first Hogwarts Adventure, eh? Quite interesting, that. And the cast of characters is being filled out a bit more, I see; Ruthless (in particular) appears to be rather interesting in her own right.

Well done!

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149590Chapter: 5
"Mr. Moony is astonished that young Mr. Lupin hasn't been given the wherewithal to answer his own question, and certainly hopes he has better ways to ask, as he will certainly have been raised with better manners."

This part made me so sad, because it appears that Remus is assuming that he is the one raising his son (which is the way it should be- I'm still very sad that Sirius and Remus died). Very well written story, as they always are! I look forward to reading more, and hopefully more remarks from the marauders? Good job.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-10-03
Reviewid: 149488Chapter: 6
I love how Neville is pwning.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149477Chapter: 6
Forgot to add that your Sorting Song was great and the touch with candles very original.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149476Chapter: 6
The spoof on D&D made me laugh.

An excellent story as your stories always are. Teddy alone in his year was a surprise but I like the way you use it.

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149458Chapter: 6
what can I say, another great chapter.
I really enjoy all of the muggle references

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-09-29
Reviewid: 149435Chapter: 5
Yeah, I expect that Tonks would have had a few choice words for Robards. Probably slightly more emphatic ones when little ears aren't nearby, for that matter. :-}

Interesting clues abbout the Map, there.

Quite well done -- as expected. :-)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-09-28
Reviewid: 149434Chapter: 4
Ah, I've missed this! [Just back from 3 weeks with very limited Internet access 9 time zones east of where I normally live.] Excellent -- especially the Sorting Hat's song & the candles/images of former students.

I confess that I wasn't able to muster up much measurable sympathy for Honoria (when Teddy morphed iin the boat), though that (lack of reaction) was likely the reaction you were working toward.

I rather appreciated the comment on Harry's drawing skills, too -- it fits quite well, somehow.

And Neville appears to have gained a certain amount of experience in dealing well with children.

Nicely done!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-09-26
Reviewid: 149415Chapter: 5
I'm really enjoying this fiction. The Marauder's Map is particularly poignant--I'm guessing that using Remus' wand would enable Teddy to change the map. The Remus-Harry dynamic being echoed with Robards surprises me but I like it. I also really like how you're working in the echoes of the first war--interesting, in that Rowling's first war was eleven years before Harry & Co. go off to school and actually there seems to be a lot less acknowledgement of it, perhaps b/c it didn't involve the Ministry falling and Hogwarts being infiltrated and attacked by Death Eaters. But the conflict continuing to the present day really intrigues me...

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149400Chapter: 5
"Corky appeared to have decided that it was more of a conversation prop than a food item, and waved it excitedly as he described their classes" That was the funniest thing I have ever read. Its great to know some things, like Hagrid's cooking, never change. That scene made me nostalgic for the early books. Oh, to be young and visit Hagrid's hut. *sigh* I love this story, keep up the good work.

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149397Chapter: 5
Another wonderful installment. I'm enjoying this very much and I'm definitely hoping for dozen more chapters at least ;)
Oh, and this hit the spot so well:
Mr. Padfoot wishes to express his amazement to Mr. Moony that such a person as Mr. Lupin is here to ask such a question.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149392Chapter: 5
GAH! Will he just use Tonx's wand already?

Also, kid drawings are cute.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149391Chapter: 4
I like how HPish your names are, like Honoria.

I LOVE Neville as a teacher. How he admonished Teddy for morphing was PERFECT.

Canadian student! WHOOHOO!!

I'm a bit skeptical about candle-images of the dead coming out during the Sorting Hat's song. It seems a bit high-tech for the sorting hat to me. There were plenty of other places in the chapter where we are reminded of book-era history, so this seemed like overkill to me.

"the most threatening thing to appear in most of Uncle Harry's stories was a troll in the girls' bathroom"
--Interesting

Marauder's Map out of date! Awesome.

I like how you are incorporating surprising and new ideas into this fic.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149389Chapter: 3
Nice touch about Teddy's year being small. Wasn't exactly a baby boom, was it?

Also, A CANADIAN SCHOOL!!! AWESOME!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149388Chapter: 2
Ah. I thought that Granny might have a slightly unhealthy "Be your own person!" obsession. She's actively protecting him from his parent's personas, which will backfire.

I predict that, at some point in the story, we're going to get Teddy Lupin and the Tantrum About How He Doesn't Know Enough About His Parents.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149387Chapter: 1
Fernwithy--here I am, finally getting around to reading and reviewing your fic! I've been doing so much "catching up" that I'm really behind on my fic reading. So here's my impression of Chapter 1, with my deepest apologies for not having given them before:

I like a few strong threads you seem to be putting into this story already: like the one where Andromeda is trying to get Teddy to be his own person. Obviously that's going to pop up a lot.

I like how Teddy doesn't seem to quite have control of his Animagus powers yet.

I like that Victoire is a bit of a betch, just like her mom. I think she's okay deep down.

[i]"Why did you make your face purple?"
"I, er... well..."
"It really doesn't suit you,"[/i]

That was my favourite line!

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149380Chapter: 5
BTW, Whats an LJ? Cause if I could read more of this sooner I would REALLY like too!

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149379Chapter: 5
Very Good

Write. More. Soon.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149375Chapter: 1
You are weaving your tale very well. Teddy's friends are all interesting.

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149364Chapter: 5
your story is really the only one I am following since DH came out. I really enjoy it.

Reviewer: celestinaDate: 2007-09-20
Reviewid: 149349Chapter: 4
I'm really enjoying your story. The whole idea of Teddy's year being the smallest is clever (though sad), and you very effectively built up tension during the sorting. The hat's song was terrific, and the idea of honouring the fallen was inspired. Can't wait for the next instalment.

Reviewer: hickDate: 2007-09-19
Reviewid: 149333Chapter: 4
Great chapter Fern Withy. I especially liked the little requiem for the victims during the sorting. The only thing I missed is Teddy seeing the face of his grandfather Ted among the victims.

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149306Chapter: 4
I enjoyed this well written and entertaining story. The characters have aged as I imagined them. Really good inferences about what Hogwarts would be like for Teddy's age group -- a lot I hadn't thought of before.

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149305Chapter: 4
I enjoyed this well written and entertaining story. The characters have aged as I imagined them. Really good inferences about what Hogwarts would be like for Teddy's age group -- alot I hadn't thought of before.

Reviewer: iseultDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149301Chapter: 4
I've been overjoyed to see you back writing. The ideas as ever are really well thought through-poor Teddy the only one! The sorting hat song was brilliant especially Slytherin. Can't wait for more but hoping it'll be very, very long to fill that aching post 7 void!

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-09-15
Reviewid: 149286Chapter: 1
Fern,
I've actually been reading this over on your LJ. I'm actually on Chapter 9 right now, but since I can't leave a review there, I'll leave it here. (By the way, does the SQ version of the story differ greatly from the original up on your LJ?)

What a delight your story has been so far. It's filling that HP craving I've been having since I finished Book 7. The post-Voldemort world that you've created for Teddy seems as real and as rich as Rowling's original wizarding world. Furthermore, you write 11-year-old Teddy splendidly, especially in his interaction with "Uncle Harry". I love the dialogue, which has just enough of Rowling's wit and humour to it. And I especially love little James Potter, whose drawings keep me constantly entertained.

I wanted to offer some constructive criticism as well, but the only thing I can think of is that Teddy's various friends and classmates can sometimes get confusing (ie. who's who, which house everyone's in, etc.) However, it's been a long time in between reads for me, so that may have something to do with it.

Congratulations on a job well done so far. I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: rachelindeedDate: 2007-09-13
Reviewid: 149271Chapter: 4
Thanks so much for this wonderful story. That was the best Sorting ceremony ever, and I love the idea of Teddy as the only Gryffindor, and his willingness to mix with the other Houses so much. There do seem to be a preponderance of Slytherins in his year (Muggle-born Slytherins, who'd have thought it?!) I'm looking forward to reading more. Thanks so much for writing.

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2007-09-12
Reviewid: 149254Chapter: 4
You bring out the scars of war quite well in your story. Healing also takes awhile as well. You bring that out as well. I hope that Teddy finally brings the Houses together in much the same way a whole slew of familial lines come together through him.

Anyway, I look forward to more.

The Highwayman.

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-09-12
Reviewid: 149250Chapter: 4
So sad and beautiful - it never occurred to me Maruder's map would be out of date (I bet it didn't occur to Rowling herself for that matter ;)). Wonderful touch that. You did a great job with Sorting Hat's song. Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Stellar HawkDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149247Chapter: 4
Wow! Thank you, Fernwithy for an absolutely fantastic installment to the HP universe! I *loved* the new Sorting Ceremony with the candles. It was so touching! And poor Teddy, all alone as the only Gryffindor of his year. Ouch!

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149246Chapter: 4
Hi! I've been following this story, but I'm terrible at remembering to review! I really loved this chapter though, made me cry something fierce :-( But it was fantastic though sad. Very much looking forward to more, keep up the good work!

Sherellyn

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149242Chapter: 4
This is brilliant! I love how you show the scars of the war on wizarding society... the heartbreaking smallness of Teddy's year, the candles going out during Sorting, and of course, the long shadow cast by Teddy's dead parents. I love how Andromeda, in contrast to Neville's gran, tries so hard not to make Teddy feel he is Dora/ Remus #2 and that he has shoes to fill. I really admire her bravery after having lost all her family to *not* try and shape Teddy to fill the gap but to be his own person.... but of course Teddy *does* feel the void left by his parents, how could he not? And I think ANdromeda perhaps goes a little to far the other way, not realising that Teddy draws strength from the memories of his parents, and has a need to feel close to them.

I love that Harry gives the Marauder's Map to Teddy - so fitting - and I hope Teddy and the Forest Guard will find a way to update it. It's nice to think that the spirit of the Marauders will live on. And I look forward to seeing more of Teddy's classmates! He is a brave boy volunteering to take DADA with that Higgs girl *shudder*. Can't wait to read more of this!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --