The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Playing Hippogriff
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: scottykarrdeDate: 2007-11-30
Reviewid: 150050Chapter: 1
aching. So well done, it makes me wonder, "why did JK never think of this?" Perfectly in-canon, perfectly in-character. Lovely. Looking forward to more of your work, QUICKLY!

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-11-07
Reviewid: 149858Chapter: 1
Sniffle!! What a wonderful story. I love your portrayal of Petunia, she is precisely the annoying playground Mommy turned nasty we see in Canon. And baby Harry is so adorable. A lovely story.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-10-17
Reviewid: 149656Chapter: 1
["Duddy poke!" Harry retorted.

Petunia wouldn't stand for this unprovoked slander of her precious Diddykins.]

Great job capturing the family dynamics of Harry, Dudley and Petunia. Poor Harry--what a horrible house to grow up in.

[He didn't look like the sort who belonged on Privet Drive or Wisteria Walk—to put it bluntly, he was rather shabby, huddled into a worn overcoat and a faded red scarf. But he was reading a book, so he didn't seem like a beggar, either.]

Great description of Remus, you really capture all the elements here as seen through Petunia's sharp eyes.

["Where do you want to play today, popkin?" she asked Dudley.

"Sandbox!" Dudley grinned in anticipation.

"Swing?" said Harry hopefully from behind.

"Sandbox it is, then."]

Poor Harry! Again, great characterization of young Harry; he probably would have loved the swings or anything that was like flying.

[His gaze was fixed on Harry. Just then Dudley pulled Harry's hat off, revealing his untidy mop of black hair. The stranger pressed a hand to his mouth.]

Oh, you can really feel the emotional impact on Remus at seeing Harry looking fo much like James.

["Hipgiff!" Harry crowed. He reached out and poked Lupin's nose gently. "Moony."]

This was so cute! I bet Remus really needed something like this to cheer him up. It really hits home here just how much Harry has lost--not just his parents, but 2 awesome "uncles" as well.

[For an instant, his eyes held a sadness so deep it almost frightened her.]

That's so sad. Poor Remus--he really has lost everything here.

I love Remus stories where he's a distant sort of presence in Harry's life before Harry goes to Hogwarts. I love how you explained the reason why 'Moony' was absent from Harry's life while he was growing up, yet at the same time in your story, you also make me sympathize with Petunia. She lost her sister and before she knows it she's what--23, 24 and saddled with 2 toddlers. It couldn't have been easy for her. Awesome story, really excellent!

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149077Chapter: 1
Beautiful, sad and well written. Thank you for this gem of a story!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-08-25
Reviewid: 149015Chapter: 1
This is a gem! I think it's very realistic to think that Remus might have tried to see Harry. After all, he was the last of James' friends (well Sirius, but of course false accusations and Azkaban and all). It's so sweet when Harry recognizes 'Moony'. Well written and lovely. Good job!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-08-23
Reviewid: 149001Chapter: 1
A very sad what-if story. Thanks.

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148970Chapter: 1
Nice one! I always wondered why Remus didn't try to get in touch with Harry before PoA, since he was one of James' best friends. This explains it quite well.

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148967Chapter: 1
I adore this story. It is so poignant. If only Lupin had been allowed to be part of Harry's life during that 10 year gap, how might it have changed Harry?

Reviewer: lilastarDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148966Chapter: 1
This is brilliant!
It's such an interesting idea for a fic and I think it's great that you give us a glimpse into Lupin's life after James and Lily died, especially his love for Harry.
My favourite part has got to be when Harry recognizes him as 'Moony' and "Lupin's thin face lit up"-that was wonderful!
Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --