The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Freedom Fighter
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: jyzajylDate: 2007-12-04
Reviewid: 150087Chapter: 1
very touching, i love it!

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-09-22
Reviewid: 149359Chapter: 1
This made me emotional very quickly. I haven't been able to analyze why. I'm not usually a sucker for Fred, George, or Percy, so you must have done something very right with the writing. I'm sorry I can't compliment you on what, but whatever it was you did it extremely well!

Reviewer: queeniorekDate: 2007-09-18
Reviewid: 149328Chapter: 1
This story is beautiful. It made me cry, which says a lot, because I don't usually cry at books/movies. Percy has so much potential for fic-fodder, and you've used him wonderfully. Fred and George just make me cry so much. I'm so sad, now. But it was a nicely bitter-sweet ending. Thank you.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149157Chapter: 1
Oh my dear...I'm sniffing back the tears! This was lovely. I think we all need this little bit of healing for the Weasleys.

There are tons of beautiful lines in this, but I particularly liked this one...

"When he had left his parentsí house three years ago, full of hurt pride and anger, Percy had imagined then that he knew what it felt like to be alone, knew the unfairness and injustice of the world. He knew nothing: that was nothing compared to the loneliness that George felt without the brother who had been beside him from birth, his playmate and business partner. There was nobody who could replace Fred, nobody who could make this any better for George."

I love this because it points up two things at the same time - both that Percy understands pain and loneliness and yet that he has matured to a point to realize he can never feel George's pain.

Beautifully done, as always!!
Julu:)

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2007-09-02
Reviewid: 149140Chapter: 1
Thank you for this. George and Percy is a good angle for this--personality-wise and situationally.

Reviewer: composer99Date: 2007-08-31
Reviewid: 149105Chapter: 1
Just thought I'd mention how affecting this story is, for someone like me (a twin).

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149083Chapter: 1
I loved this in so many ways.

1. It was nice to see Percy so... human, and actually showing emotion, something we never see him do in canon except GoF. (The one scene that told me he'd come to his senses, but I digress.)

2. I loved George observing that yeah, Fred was his twin, but Percy is his big brother. I really felt for George there, because it seems like he got his big brother back, only to lose his twin. Ouch.

3. It's nice that Percy was the one to convince George to keep the shop. :)

I never saw this on your LJ! That's weird.

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149074Chapter: 1
Aw! *Sniff* What a story, it left me almost equally happy and sad. George and Percy are both great. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149071Chapter: 1
I'm headed back to the kleenex box, but before I go I wanted to say what a great story this was. Thanks for writing. *sniff*

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149070Chapter: 1
Hey! How did I miss this on LJ? I have no clue. This is lovely, Starsea. Oh, poor, poor George. And Percy. And all of them. I love George's voice in this fic. This is a wonderfully moving tribute to Fred. I think I have a slightly different plan in my own mind for the business and George, Ron and Percy, but it's pretty much in line with yours, character-wise. This is beautifully written, the characters leap off the page full of life and movement - including Fred. :(

Great job!

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149067Chapter: 1
I don't know when is the last time I was so touched by a story. You are very good at finding the right voices for George and Percy, and the fact that you're not over-doing the dialogue makes it pack a much much bigger punch.

There are many places in the story that made me cry, or that were particularly well written: George talking about how he sometimes thinks he can see or hear Fred, or how he wakes up with ideas he wants to discuss with Fred - those are very true and heart-wrenching words; then George and Percy laughing and crying at the same time, b/c so much tension needed a release - it comes about very smoothly. And I have to say you hooked me right from the start with this: "George reached out and put a hand on the stone, rubbing it up and down, as if it were a door. For an instant, Percy had a vision of Fred on the other side of this door, doing the same thing." Not that the idea of mirroring George and Fred is particularly new, but so far I've only seen it done from one or both of the twins' point of view. This is the first time I see it written from Percy's pov, and it makes it a great deal more powerful. We expect the twins to have a connection even after death, but it is unexpected that Percy, of all people, would perceive it. That's why the image becomes more powerful.

I have one small nitpicking: Percy has no reason to have seen, or even know about the Veil, which is in the Dept. of Mysteries. Arthur Weasley had no idea what was going on down there, and apparently the Unspeakables are the only ones allowed access. Perhaps the Minister and higher-ups are also allowed, but Percy is still too junior for that. I didn't think Percy's musing about the Veil were necessary for this story, and in fact they were a bit distracting. The story is very powerful with just the brothers' interaction. Congrats!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149058Chapter: 1
This is beautiful writing, and your characters are so real...This made me feel like crying, but it's also a hopeful piece. Thank you!

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149056Chapter: 1
Oh, Starsea, this is so wonderful, so *sad* and yet with just the right notes of optimism and poignancy, it's utterly beautiful. You made me tearful!

With these lines I think you perfectly capture the heart of Percy's wretchedness and his new, rueful understanding, not just about his own loss and George's, but also about himself: 'When he had left his parentsí house three years ago, full of hurt pride and anger, Percy had imagined then that he knew what it felt like to be alone, knew the unfairness and injustice of the world. He knew nothing: that was nothing compared to the loneliness that George felt without the brother who had been beside him from birth, his playmate and business partner.'

And I love how you describe the changes in Ron, and how this also feels like another loss to the family. Really, really superb. You understand the Weasley boys so well!

This should be an SQ classic fic. Well done, and thank you.
Helen

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149053Chapter: 1
I was waiting for some of these to show up here. Nice... poor George. It's good to hear it from JKR's mouth that he turns out alright, but getting there's gotta be hard, and you show that.

Reviewer: BlitheDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149052Chapter: 1
The was very bittersweet. Even though it was very sad, it left me with a rather peaceful feeling, like everything was going to turn out all right for George and Percy.

Melissa

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --