The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: Gred And FeorgeDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149900Chapter: 1
As I have said befor that was one of the most beautiful things I have ever read other than the actual Harry Potter books. I was wonder if you could wrote a story where George finds love (if you already haven't already-I still need to read all of your storys) ? I just love George ( and Fred *sniffle-sniffle*) so much and I want to picture him as happy and not forever bruding over Freds death like me. Could you also write a really sad story about Fred and George so I can cry my eyes out? When I read the seventh book I thought George would sence Fred's death like that twin telepathy thing. Maby when he walks into the Great Hall and sees Fred's body. I just love Fred too much and I want him to last forever even if I am forced to read super sad cry-myself-to-sleep-at-night sort of a story

Reviewer: Gred And FeorgeDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149898Chapter: 3
Sooo good!!! It was sad and sweet! Everything was perfect: the gifts, the jobs people got, the timing of everything, the date, the dealing with Fred's death (I cried), and the "I love you" Moment!!! That was THE BEST and I plan to read it again. Please write more about after the war because you are brillint!!!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2007-10-27
Reviewid: 149744Chapter: 3
Aww!! Yays!

Harry and Ginny...are the perfect couple. Hands down.

And Oliver? *nods* Alright.

Still love your work.

-AW

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2007-10-27
Reviewid: 149743Chapter: 2
The answer is....second child. Because Bill needs a boy child. And because older brothers are nessecary.

*love*

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2007-10-24
Reviewid: 149706Chapter: 1
Yay!~! Love it!! God, it's so good to be back....

Really enjoyed the thought that Fred's "King's Cross" would be a dance hall. And that Kingsley shipped H/H until about 6 paragraphs ago.

Nice. Love from,

Ange

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2007-10-23
Reviewid: 149693Chapter: 3
Yeah, once I've stopped crying THEN you can get your review....

.
.
.
.(sniff-huff) ok.I LOVED the whole chapter to bits but when i read the bit about fred.tonk and lupins's stars...i just broke down. :( I miss them so much! The resturaunt was brilliant blossom was my favourite! and the waiter-for-today was beyond fun to read, becuaseyou reallyfeel like you're not allowed to laugh while reading his scenes cause he's being so...waiter-y. lmao. bahah. Oh!and the buying teddy the broom modelcollection.. aaaaaaawwwwww!! glad to have read something, you did brill!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2007-10-22
Reviewid: 149692Chapter: 2
Victoire has already left Hogwarts in the epilogue, and has taken over the snack cart on the Hogwart's Express. Definitly.rofl!! I loved the whole family sitting down for dinner, I want to hug each one of them individualy. So far so good, the part with George was brilliance initself.But I'm pretty sure you know that. Dead on with this fic, and good work!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2007-10-22
Reviewid: 149691Chapter: 1
Oh my... it feels like SO LONG since i've read (sorry to anyone else who may get offended) some quality fanfiction. Really makes a difference! And I miss your stuff! You managed to pull what you always do...you've made me laugh and cry all in the same chapter! And I completly understand what you mean about JKR leaving everyone one in a mess...I felt kind of confused to be honest. But you're already proving that you're halping me fix that little nitch. gaahh!! I'm so happy to be reading something worth-reading again!!! plus i'm excited, I actualy want to go and help harry shop for ginny's gift!! :D

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-09-29
Reviewid: 149437Chapter: 3
Heh, you told me Lee Jordan would be in the next chapter! I'm really not that prescient.... sadly ;(. This was a lovely chapter I loved the restaurant (especially the penguins... hee, reminds me of Mary Poppins). Poor Harry... not a bloke to appreciate noveau cuisine.... onion bhajis are lovely though *starts to feel hungry. I loved Ginny and Harry buyinh Teddy a mini broomstick. I have a feeling Harry id going to be the Coolest Godfather Ever (bar Sirius). The laughing owl was great I love the name Q! I can see her being the perfect replacement for Hedwig (not that Hedwig can ever truly be replaced *sniff*.)It was so nice to see all the old faces in the Qudditch match.... to think I used to be such a Fred/ Angelina shipper. Still, I guess Oliver Wood is cool too. And Lee! I have such a crush on your Lee... I love how he doesn't mention Harry and I'm glad he is still with Holly is your 'verse. I think my favourite part of the chapter was the wart jokes though 'there goes my modelling career' lol. See, this is why we love Ginny. That and the fact that she is awesome.

Lovely fic, thanks for showing us 'what happened next' with H/G!

Reviewer: Bottled_starsDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149300Chapter: 3
I love your characterizations of Ginny and Harry in this story. They're really spot-on. That said, are you planning a sequel? I hope so! Even though you tied everything together nicely at the end of this story, you've got me so curious about how things are going to go for our favorite couple when Ginny's back at school!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149296Chapter: 3
This was great! I laughed out loud during the restaurant scene and loved the sense of fun in the entire date. I think the emphasis on food, really was neat. It was very sensual and really connected you into the details of the scene. One little thing I found particularly endearing was the scene/conversation about Teddy and Charlie's Godfather. I loved that idea of the collection and also the idea of more about Arthur's family.

Finally, I really enjoyed slowing down and treasuring the end. Ginny's thoughts about those she had lost were lovely and you really got the peaceful sense that Fred was with her in her joyous moments.

Reviewer: Kim kikimDate: 2007-09-13
Reviewid: 149266Chapter: 3
Whoaaa..that was an awesome story...

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-09-12
Reviewid: 149248Chapter: 3
Does it end with part 3? I enjoyed this so much, I want more! You are so in character with everyone which is incredibly rare. And I absolutely love how you handled George - he's still himself. Just brilliant!

Reviewer: hayhay165Date: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149236Chapter: 3
Awww that was so sweet!

I loved it. Great story, great writing!

Oh, and the Kiwi fact was awesome, Laughing Owl- Brilliant. I'm from NZ! =]

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149232Chapter: 3
Loved it! Ginny's birthday was lovely, and the restaurant experience was hilarious - that's exactly what I would expect from an over-the-top wizard restaurant. The humor you write between Ginny and Harry seems so natural and organic; there's something so young and free about it. It's great to see the way you've moved these characters back into actually acting their age. Harry is so perfectly fragile - he would have to be, the poor thing. And I love the way you narrate Ginny's thoughts of Fred; it's beautiful.

That coffee cup? Yeah, that was a great idea. Basically, I'm a huge fan, and you already know that. Keep up the fantastic writing!

Reviewer: Alexis CartwheelDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149226Chapter: 3
Great chapter! So fun and fluffy, and you really seem to understand Harry and Ginny. I really liked this exchange:

""I'm sure she was nervous being around someone so famous."

His steps slowed. "I'm not " He stopped since he knew that wasn't true. "I always forget that."

"I know." She took his hand and pulled him along the corridor. "That's one more thing to love about you.""

Harry's so adorable sometimes!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149224Chapter: 3
Wonderful chapter, and I'm so glad that Ginny and Harry are FINALLY together! Now I'm off to raid the fridge, since you've made me incredibly hungry with your multicourse meal!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149217Chapter: 3
This is going brilliantly. It's always so nice to see your name on the update page.

One thing about the restaurant. I don't know about Britain, but in Central Europe at least (Austria, Germany, Italy, and Czech Republic I know from personal experience) waiters don't introduce themselves. You're not even guaranteed to have one particular waiter; this depends mostly on organization of the restaurant. I think this is something that applies to all of Europe - the Nale-I'm-your-waiter-this-evening thing is, AFAIK, something very American.
Might be a good idea to check this in the appropriate ATB thread.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149215Chapter: 3
Turmeric is yellow, not green. :p At least it is in the UK.

I love the word "heady", especially in romance, by the way. And your last line has some fabulous imagery, catching the whole essence of your story and reflecting it. There was lots of pleasant banter and moments of mirth. A very enjoyable read!

And that Owl was majorly cool. Hee. My last romance was with a girl called "Q". That sounds odd, huh? Well, I won't tell you about the time I nearly kissed a girl called "Jim".

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149212Chapter: 3
A lovely chapter! The Harry/Ginny bits were wonderful; so incredibly sweet. My favorite part was the Epic Epicurean. The penguins and the goat were hilarious and the Hippogriff-made wine; totally had me laughing out loud. So many great details: buying the model broom for Teddy, Tonx and Ginny's poster, Harry's mug, Angelina and Oliver, George and Padma and I could go on and on! Suffice to say, I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149210Chapter: 3
The last chapter blew my mind. It was tidy while not being too wrapped up at the end, and once again, the characters were perfect. Thank you for a great story!

Reviewer: lrigDDate: 2007-09-09
Reviewid: 149205Chapter: 2
Wow, this is really an amazing story. I've been out of the serious-fics(for lack of a better word) business for a while, and I loved to start reading again with a good one.

I like it that you take Ginny and Harry as main persons (is this the right phrase?). I alwasy thought there wasn't enough of them in the books...

There were lots of favourite moments I had here. I loved the conversation between Ginny and George - really brother/sisterly and touching. I feel so bad for George.. and he is taking it so well. I know I wouldn't... I liked the thought Ginny gave about Fred being in this dance-floor-heaven-thing. It's a soothing thought...
And Fleur's pregnancy! I agree that it was just what Molly needed. She is such a great personality, really. Family always goes first for her, and she was already terribly down during everything with Percy. And Percy wasn't even dead.. So it must be horrible to lose a child, and see everyone suffer under it.
I'm glad you had Percy in this story. Everybody seems to have forgiven him, which I reckon would've happened anyway... And his sense of humour is lovely:)

As for Fleur's pregnancy: I go for the 14-months gestation. But Victoire doesn't have to be named after the victory, and conceived right after the war... Bill and Fleur have both suffered in the war as well, just like about everyone else - I think naming their first child (I think it's the first) is a tribute to the victory...
Ok, I'll stop babbling now. Please continue with the story, you're a good writer!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-09-09
Reviewid: 149203Chapter: 2
Oh, what a lovely chapter. There are so many favourite lines, I can't pick them. I love Percy sticking up for Ginny and joking. I love the discussion between George and Ginny. I love Ginny helping Harry to realise he's not in battle anymore.

Re Victoire: Just because she wasn't born immediately after the victory at Hogwarts, doesn't mean they can't name her that. But then, who says they named her after the victory per se? :) Plenty of girls are named Victoria without being born after the end of a war. Perhaps she was named for a legislative victory?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-09-09
Reviewid: 149201Chapter: 2
This is cute! I love Percy's emergent sense of humour.... and that he hasn't lost the pompous side to him either. I liked Harry slipping up about the present too - very boy thing to do *rolls eyes*. And you can definitely see Ginny the budding quidditch player/ journalist in her comments about the harpies... girl knows her stuff. I loved Ginny's conversation with George. Poor guy! He's taking it so well.... I can only imagine how frustrating it must be to him to have people treading around the subject... it's very untwinly behaviour after all! It seems like a theme of this story, people being too afraid to break the silence after a tragedy for fear they will make it worse...

I loved pregnant!Fleur, I agree it is totally what Molly needs to hear right now, and I think I will go with the fourteen month gestation theory.... naming a child conceived post war Victoire just makes *sense*. Silly JKR and her maths......

Lovely chapter! And I am looking forward to Lee's appearance.............

Reviewer: kim kikimDate: 2007-09-08
Reviewid: 149192Chapter: 2
WOOHOO!
I'm really, really enjoying this story now!
Are you going to write other ones? I hope so.
You really stick with the characters' true personality which is something that I find some people (actually, a lot) tend to forget when they writre a fanfiction. But I don't blame them. I mean, I couldn't have done better, but obviously you can! So anyway, keep it up!

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-09-07
Reviewid: 149190Chapter: 2
Still wonderful and still in character! How do you do it??

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-09-07
Reviewid: 149189Chapter: 2
I love all of those theories, and I embrace every single one.

The "normal people" part really got to me - I can't imagine how hard it would be for him to get used to a life without fear. And I liked the way he asked her questions, so innocently. It felt like "The Forest Again" to me, when he's just so FULL of everything, and empty, and he finds his way to simplicity (i.e., his asking "Does it hurt?" in that chapter). You captured that innocence here. It can be hard to remember that Harry is, in a lot of ways, still such a child, and he has a lot of ways in which he needs to grow up, a lot of areas in which he needs to gain confidence.

Again, amazing job!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-09-07
Reviewid: 149188Chapter: 2
Wow, Harry Potter with a normal life. I can't even imagine it!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-09-07
Reviewid: 149186Chapter: 2
This is an excellent story. I think you have George down perfectly, not to mention Ginny. I hate the stories where George is all suicidal and smashing mirrors. He is one of the twins for Heaven's sake! He wouldn't throw away his brother's sacrafice like that. He would live, not the same as before, of course, but he would go on. I also love your angle on Harry. This is definately a case of man with arrested developmet. He's had so many traumas at such a young age. It makes sense that he finds it difficult to be happy and love.

As for Victoire, I too wish she had been conceived the day after the Battle of Hogwarts. Sex is a natural response to death after all. And you're right: the name totally implies that. Of course, I too have had that theory put down by people who are much better at math than me ;)

But if you want to talk about being really deluded, sometimes I tell myself that Victoire is really the illegitamate child of Fred and one of the Veela cousins who was merely adopted by Bill and Fleur as a cover up. She miraculously turned up after Fred's death so that the family could be comforted by the fact that they still have a bit of Fred to carry on....yeah, that's he ticket.....

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2007-09-07
Reviewid: 149185Chapter: 2
As the beta in question, I would like to point out that I agreed with St Margarets that JKR probably intended Victoire to be a victory baby but her maths got the ages wrong later. However, I was warning her that if she had Fleur newly pregnant with Victoire, she was laying herself open to lots of reviewers pointing out that she'd got it wrong, etc, etc. So there J. Forias!

I still love the story, St Margarets, even after reading it through as a beta!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-09-06
Reviewid: 149184Chapter: 2
I love stubborn authors who stick their tongue out at poor beleagured betas who perservere in being rational! Hehe!

Wonderful as always. The way you dealt with George was perfect and I really enjoyed seeing Percy in a family setting. The only small criticism with that is I think you slightly overplayed the fact that he was being funny:

-- "I hope you realize how much Ginny eats, Harry," Percy deadpanned.

Ginny giggled at Harry's startled expression. Percy hadn't shown his sense of humor around Harry very much. --
Now don't get me wrong, I thought that line was hysterical. But it almost took away from the line because the reaction wasn't about the joke, it was about the fact that Percy of all people was being funny. Personally, I'd have kept it more subtle, probably even replacing "Percy deadpanned" with "Percy said gravely". Of course, I think this is because I love the joke too much, so feel free to ignore it. It is absolutely vintage Percy.

In fact, the whole piece brims with Weasley humour. It made me laugh on many more occassions.

And then there's the best moment with the *sniff* laughter engendered by "Maybe if I had a Mug". You have no idea how much I adore that line.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-09-05
Reviewid: 149177Chapter: 1
I loved this when I read it on your LJ and I love it even more now that you've added a little bit more of Harry's POV. It was painful to read about Molly and Arthur falling apart but seeing Harry and Ginny come together makes it all better! Would Kingsley really assume that Hermione was Harry's girlfriend, though? After all, he must have seen how she and Ron were behaving after the battle.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2007-09-04
Reviewid: 149165Chapter: 1
Thank you for this! I think it's a fun, plausible coda to DH.

Reviewer: Azel SadlacDate: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149158Chapter: 1
Part I was great, full of lovely little details. Ilook foward to more.

Reviewer: kim kikimDate: 2007-09-02
Reviewid: 149141Chapter: 1
I'm really enjoying this :) And I'm rather picky with fanfictions

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-09-02
Reviewid: 149138Chapter: 1
Awww, this is lovely! I like how you mirror the Arthur/ Molly rift with the Harry/ Ginny rift here, until both women blow up.... stupid men, they always think they have to fix things when what their women really need is for them to *be* there. I liked seeing the aftermath of Fred's death.... I am still broken hearted about it so it's nice to see the Weasley's really grieve. I can't imagine how Molly must be feeling...

I loved the orchard scene with Ginny, and her comparison of herself with the unripe apples. Feeling immature and selfish is definitely something that would be a problem for her I think... it's so difficult being the youngest and left out of everything! I like that Harry told Ginny all about the horcruxes etc... I think after all that waiting she had a right to know what Harry had been up to! I loved Harry going though the desks at the ministry, looking at all the family photos... poor Harry normality is not something he's seen a lot of... I think my favourite line was:

<Ron had given Hermione perfume one Christmas and she hadn't seemed too impressed with it. Ginny always smelled nice, so he didn't think she needed perfume>

I don't know why but this just cracked me up. It's such a *Harry* way of thinking... so naive and logical... heh. And of course he is right - for Ginny Quidditch tickets would no doubt beat perfume any day of the week....

It's lovely to see your H/G again post DH... I look forward to reading the rest p.s any chance of a Lee Jordan on the run fic? I couldn't help thinking of Lee and Holly everytime the Trio tuned into Potterwatch....

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-09-02
Reviewid: 149136Chapter: 1
Loved it, especially the bit about what Harry and Ginny would do, if they could do what they felt/wanted. I think that's a wonderful observation about these, well, kids - they've had to abandon childhood for so long (especially H/R/H) that the very idea of being able to do something that they want rather than doing what is necessary would be difficult for them to wrap their heads around. I look forward to the next part!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-09-01
Reviewid: 149132Chapter: 1
Great start! I went from tears to laughter, and I'm hoping that things will go well for Harry and Ginny.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-09-01
Reviewid: 149129Chapter: 1
Aw--I really like this H/G story, but then I've always liked your H/G. I love the idea of Harry explaining everything to Ginny but then the two of them drifting away--and I really like the idea of Harry taking Ginny to see Quidditch, esp since eventually she plays for the Harpies.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-09-01
Reviewid: 149127Chapter: 1
Excellent stuff. I found the lack of contact between Harry and Ginny quite believable and a nice change from the assumption that they'll jump into each others arms as soon as Harry's had his sandwich. Life and relationships are complicated and that's one of the things you portray best. Arthur and Molly being a good example. Your characters are always wonderfully real. In some ways even more real than they are in the Harry Potter books. I think that's a truly great talent.

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-01
Reviewid: 149123Chapter: 1
I can't wait for the rest, I super enjoyed this :)Your Harry sounds just like the Harry in the books. So selfless and charmingly nieve. I loved how it started with Molly and Arthur dealing with the loss of their son and Ginny dealing with her parent's grief. Man, this is shaping up to be good. Ha, Kingsley thought Hermione was his girlfriend. Hahahaha. I bet a lot of people think that. Please post again soon! :)

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-09-01
Reviewid: 149120Chapter: 1
Have I ever told you that you're one of my favorite authors? Top three, come to think of it.
And I ADORE this. It is dazzlingly fantastic, and I am so excited to see you writing on the SQ again. You write my most favorite Harry ever. The H/G dynamics are wonderful, and it is just like Harry to not realize that there's any other way to get tickets to a Quidditch game that good old waiting in line. Last, the Fred moment are amazing. SAH

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --