The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Moments in Love
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-11-15
Reviewid: 149934Chapter: 1
Awwwwwww, this is sweet! Yay!

Reviewer: KarlyBugDate: 2007-11-10
Reviewid: 149885Chapter: 1
THIS IS ANOTHER ONE OF MY FAVORITES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE keep writing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2007-10-22
Reviewid: 149685Chapter: 1
*sigh*

So sweet!!! I've not read much fanfic wise unless it's been on LJ these last months, and I'm sure glad I started it back off with this!!

>>“When it’s about you and me, and nothing else.”<<

Amen. You got it so right!

~Hez

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149579Chapter: 1
You have captured the whole evolution of Ron's maturing feelings for Hermione in one short fic. "'When?' he'd asked her all those months ago? 'When it’s about you and me, and nothing else.'” Perfect picture of what Ron has to understand before he can have a relationship with Hermione.

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149500Chapter: 1
Awwww, I love Hermione's line, "When it's about you and me, and nothing else." That's how I like to think of them in DH -- aware that they both like each other but equally aware that their top priority has to be Harry and oh, saving the world, which means patiently waiting. ;)

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-09-22
Reviewid: 149357Chapter: 1
I like this! I read if before bed a few nights ago. It was a very nice bedtime story.

"Hermione would know. So would his mum, but he couldn’t go and find either of them wrapped only in the towel he’d found in a pile of clean washing lying neatly folded on Neville’s bed ."

This made me smile for three different reasons. So funny and so Ron. The same for the part about Hermione being good at getting the wrong idea. And I liked the whole thing with the watch very much as well. A perfect dose of warm-fuzziness. :)

Reviewer: Alohomora BlackDate: 2007-09-15
Reviewid: 149290Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwww! gotta love ron and hermione =)

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149280Chapter: 1
I loved this...very nice missing moment. I was hoping to see more from Rom and Hermione after the battle, but I guess it ended how it had to. I love this part:

“I do want you to kiss me one day, Ron.”

“When?” he’d asked her all those months ago.

“When it’s about you and me, and nothing else.”

Great write!

Reviewer: AmamamaDate: 2007-09-12
Reviewid: 149262Chapter: 1
Yes! Why did you worry about this piece, Jo? It's luuurvely! And so true - kisses should be shared "when it's about you and me and nothing else." Period. Loved the awkwardness, the longing, the blush, the skirting around the sad feelings. So very human.

Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149245Chapter: 1
Ah, but she's not always right about you, Ron, and that's what makes you special. ;)

I loved reading this, Jo, especially Ron's slow-burning realisation of just how deep this feeling is and how much he wants this to happen between them. I also believe the almost-kiss situation at the reception because it would be like Ron to want to show off like that and Hermione would be extremely annoyed (McClaggan, anyone?).

Favourite part: In the darkness and silence following her words, he actually felt a bolt go through him. Nothing he’d felt before even came close. Searching to identify it, to name it, at first he related it to the burn of lips against his cheek, to fleeting moments of shared body warmth, an arm around a shoulder, the whisper of wild and tumbled hair beneath his touch. After all, he had nothing else to compare it to.

Lovely, lovely description.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149240Chapter: 1
Aww, this is lovely! It's good to know that DWMWN is still up and running *waves to Songbird*. As ever your characterisation is spot on. Every sentence of this fic was just quintessentially Ron: brave, awkward, insensitive, blunt Ron *sigh*. I loved the moments of humour scattered through the fic

<fter months dancing around each other in the confined space of the tent, she was failing to spot that they were finally alone, thanks to the total absence of a speccy git in one of the other beds.>

Heh... speccy git. Poor Ron always having Harry around when he wants to be putting the moves on Hermione.

I loved the awkward moments with shirtless!Ron and Ron's fascination with Hermione's differing shades of blush. And poor old Ron's insecurity about his knees... I am sure it was the last thing Hermione was worried about! I love the way Ron and Hermione comfort one another... I'd almost forgotten about Fred, shame on me... I love how you combine the typical teenager awkwardness with the sense of desolation and loss in the aftermath of the battle.

<He could stay like this for a long time. He wouldn’t have to go downstairs into the noisy, choking dust, the splintered wood and rubble of the shattered castle.>

I loved this sentence... it really brings home the fact that even though the War is over and they have won... and even though Ron has finally got the girl (and Hermione has got the girl) it has all come at a terrible cost and nothing will ever be the same again. I love the idea that Ron tried to kiss Hermione at the wedding but she didn't want him to be kissing her in competitve spirit... but that she still does want to kiss him one day. One of Hermione's best qualities I think... for all she can be insecure she is assertive and she knows what she wants (unlike Ron sometimes...).

I think my favourite part was:

<the burn of lips against his cheek, to fleeting moments of shared body warmth, an arm around a shoulder, the whisper of wild and tumbled hair beneath his touch.>

This is just beautiful description.... I love the 'wild and tumbled hair' *sigh*.

Wonderful ficlet, makes me remember all the reasons I have for shipping R/Hr!

p.s I hope I didn't offend you earlier in the Snape discussion.... I should learn to keep my trap shut sometimes *rolls eyes*... so sorry honestly ignore everything I said... I'm being a bit of an emotional teaspoon at present.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149238Chapter: 1
Well you can have more soothing words from someone who has momentarily stopped knitting (a Hufflepuff scarf) to type a review.

That was lovely! I like Hermione's comment about it having to be just about the two of them amd nothing else. That really seems to have been at the heart of all their problems: there's always been someone or something else in the way, whether it's been the petty jealousies, such as Krum and Lavender, or the bigger issues, such as Harry and Voldemort.

With your Neville and Hannah stories, I always forget just how well you write Ron and Hermione.

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149231Chapter: 1
Dogstar, those last four lines...oh, that was just perfect. I love the simplicity of your word choice. It just sounded so RON, so boyish, so much like a thought pattern that would run through his mind, especially at this time. It's almost jerky, in a way, but it just fits so well, because his thoughts and mind WOULD have an erratic quality when there's so much coursing through him. I would love to see you write some more R/Hr; there has been so little high quality R/Hr after DH.

Reviewer: Alexis CartwheelDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149230Chapter: 1
I can't get enough of these post-DH Ron/Hermione moments. I like that you captured how adorably (and authentically) awkward they are. Ron trying to cover himself with socks made me chuckle. :) Poor Ron, he's still adjusting... but then again, not poor Ron, because he and Hermione finally got it together. I love the last four lines! Great work, as usual!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149227Chapter: 1
Yay! This is so lovely! You really accomplish a mix of emotions. It's sweet and warm and promising...and yet you can feel the hurt and need in the piece. I particularly loved the way a more mature Ron and Hermione are starting to deal with the tiny details of intimacy- very realistic.

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149223Chapter: 1
Oh, lovely! You really *get* them. A little clumsy and awkward, and 99.8% grown-up. Wonderful.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149220Chapter: 1
Very sweet. I especially like the image of the laundry and the cleaning charms. Nicely symbolic of a fresh start. A lovely one shot to lift the heart.

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149219Chapter: 1
This was lovely, Jo! I loved the new-found awkwardness, and the puzzlement that these situations were never awkward before. I love tohe tone of this, and Ron's and Hermione's point-of-view. I hope you plan to write more Ron and Hermione.

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149214Chapter: 1
Great post DH moment, love Ron/Hermione...

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149211Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I felt a 'bolt' go through me, too, when I read this. Thank you!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149209Chapter: 1
Jo- This is beautiful. You write Ron and Hermione so well.

"How could she always be so right about everything?"

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --