The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-10-18
Reviewid: 149667Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this and am glad to hear you are going to continue with Scorp's first year. Your writing is very good first off. Secondly I love your characters. I like how you showed Draco's maturation. He has tried to leave his old prejudices behind and thankfully did not pass them on to his son. I couldn't help but think that Scorpius is a lot like Harry on his first day at Hogwarts. However, so is Al. Its seems we have two Harrys and a Hermione but no Ron! James perhaps is a little like Ron, Cheering in the middle of Al's sorting. Oh well, I know these kids are much more than the sums of their parents. Anyway. I am excited about this story and can't wait to read more.

Thanks

Reviewer: Alexis CartwheelDate: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149543Chapter: 1
I found this story thanks to several comments on the recommendations thread, and I wasn't disappointed! I think you have a very interesting perspective on the Malfoy family. I never was particularly fond of Draco, but its fascinating to see where he ended up. I really enjoyed your characterization of Scorpius. His sense of family honor is quite like Harry's, who was always so quick to defend his father, but unlike Harry, it's most of wizarding Britain who hates his father, not just Snape.

It's also clear that Draco has tried to change his ways. When Draco came to school, he had already been taught which families were suitable to associate with. Scorpius ends up defending a Weasley and a Potter--Draco has dropped his old prejudices and doesn't try to pass them on to his son.

Anyway, as you can tell, I really enjoyed this, and I'm glad to hear you're going to continue with Scorpius's first year!

Reviewer: The Morning StarrDate: 2007-10-03
Reviewid: 149491Chapter: 1
Thank you, everyone, for such kind reviews. I'm one of those people who absolutely adores the Epilogue, and I honestly feel it was JKR's gift to the fandom and especially to Draco fans like myself. I've always loved the Blacks and Malfoys, and I continue to adore Scorpius, so I'm thrilled that you guys see his potential, too! :)

Silver Phoenix's review made me realize that I should point out that I have decided to turn "Sorting" into a chaptered fic about the Scorpster's first year at Hogwarts. "Sins of the Father," can be found here at the Quill and at GT Reloaded. The first chapter has already been posted. Although "Sorting" is pretty much the "real" first chapter, I decided to go with a new title that better fit the overall story. So now it's all confusing and stuff, but it's there for anyone who needs more Scorpster, Al, and Rose. :)

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-10-03
Reviewid: 149486Chapter: 1
P.S. By young Draco, I meant that Zephaniah Smith was the equivalent of young, bullying Draco for Scorpius, Al, and Rose. I wasn't calling Scorpius a bully. Had to clarify that, because actually I heart Scorpius.

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-10-03
Reviewid: 149485Chapter: 1
Wow, congratulations on a great fic. I absolutely loved it! Interesting backstory for the Malfoy's, and you managed to do that which most fanfic writers cannot - write convincing Good!Malfoys without making them GoodyTwoShoes!Malfoys.

I think my favourite was Rose - I laughed out loud at "Rose’s inability to speak in less than a paragraph at a time" - but Al and Scorpius were wonderful, too. And I'm glad we got to see a different kind of bully, the young Draco of the next generation.

My only criticism is that I wish it were an entire chaptered first-year fic, instead of only one chapter! You've left me wanting more! I would love for you to write "The First Year of Scorpius Malfoy" :)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149480Chapter: 1
I really like this story: it's got good echoes of PS/SS but it also has its own little twists and turns. I love Draco marrying a girl from Beauxbatons (although my favourite theory is that he married Romilda Vane XD) and how isolated the family was after they came back from France. His encounter with Rose and Al was adorable and I love how they were unencumbered by the past (complete with Hermione-digested facts from Rose, haha). Poor Scorpius, wanting Al so much to be in Slytherin. But something tells me he's going to stick out a lot!

Favourite image: The Great Hall got so quiet one could hear a cat stretching... - What a lovely image.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149469Chapter: 1
[His maman had taught at Beauxbatons Academy of Magic for years and wanted him to go there, but in the end his father prevailed]

Nice inversion there. Interesting that Draco ended up with someone French. I guess it makes sense that Draco and the Malfoys would want to get away from England. Poor Narcissa--I'm kind of sorry she's ailing.

[Scorpius yearned to see where his father had grown up, where he played Seeker on his House team, where he had been made prefect and Head Boy. Would Scorpius be able to accomplish those things too?]

Wow--it all sounds so impressive from hisperspective. Guess his Dad forgot to mention "attempted murder" among his many accomplishments. I can see Draco coming off as more impressive than he is and seeing Scorpious learning the truth about his dad.

[Rose’s inability to speak in less than a paragraph at a time]

Ha! Great description! You really captured Rose's voice--she really is her mother's daughter!

I'm so happy you're back on the Quill! I've been wondering about your Draco stories. I took a little break from online fandom, but I'm back into it and it's nice to see another "old timer" still writing.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149462Chapter: 1
I really like this fic, and how Scorpius is portrayed as being eligible personality-wise for all four Houses, but being Sorted into Slytherin based on his ambition to prove that "the Malfoys were just as good as everyone else". I liked Al and Rose as well (though to give some constructive criticism, it seemed she was somewhat of a Hermione clone in her scenes), and how you have Al not being Sorted into Slytherin, but implying he and Rose will still be friends with Scorpius. I wondered who the blond kid was, and when it turned out he was Zacharias Smith's son, I appreciated the irony of how he sneers at the Malfoys as cowards when his father proved himself to be a coward, too (when he flees Hogwarts, knocking over first years to do so).

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2007-09-29
Reviewid: 149442Chapter: 1
I like this a lot!! I like your take on Scorpius, and on the Potter-Weasleys, and I'd love to know more of what you have planned for them.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-09-22
Reviewid: 149358Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this, especialy Rose's "inability to speak in less than a paragraph at a time." I thought the characterisations were all great. I liked Draco's diary, too, even though I don't really have much interest in Draco, so I guess I just like the way you write.

Reviewer: taedaDate: 2007-09-18
Reviewid: 149324Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. I especially liked the backstory you made up for the young Malfoy family: perfectly reasonable to the point that it seems obvious this is what they would do, and you fit it into the narrative very well.

Reviewer: Alohomora BlackDate: 2007-09-15
Reviewid: 149291Chapter: 1
i love this fic! rose is so much like hermione, its great! this made me so happy! thanks =)

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-09-15
Reviewid: 149289Chapter: 1
I think, after reading this, that Rose Weasley is my new favorite character. And...I *heart* Malfoys! Beautiful story. Well told, nice flow, good character development.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-09-13
Reviewid: 149272Chapter: 1
This story was great. The hope in it was fantastic. I had the sense of cracks forming in the seperation of the houses and a new beginning, well, beginning. *grins*

Excellent characterisation. I thought they were all very endearing, while still being realistic. Prejudice doesn't disappear overnight, but it can certainly be worked at!

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149234Chapter: 1
I'm so glad to see you writing again! I'll always long for the end of Draco Malfoy's Diary, but if I can't have that, I'm so glad you've started writing ANYTHING again. I love that you didn't sort Scorpius into Gryffindor, and that he ended up making the choice for himself. I'm curious about the universe you've created for Draco, too.

Anyway, I'm just so glad to read new stuff from you. Please, keep writing!

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149221Chapter: 1
Nice! I love the characterization of Scorpius and his family...not overdone at all!

I hope you write more Scorpius stories!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149216Chapter: 1
Very nice characterization of the new kids. It's also interesting to see Zacharias's offspring being the "bad guy". I would definitely be interested in follow-up stories to this.

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-09-10
Reviewid: 149213Chapter: 1
Great story, very cute...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --