The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: BambuDate: 2008-06-04
Reviewid: 150886Chapter: 1
For some reason I don't get to read her terribly often, but I saw your story nominated on the UFO Awards, and I was curious. I'm very glad I popped by to read it. You've done a beautiful job of keeping Harry and Ginny awkward in their love (they are teenagers) while showing that they are more mature than average. I also thought you recapped the backstory succinctly and deftly.

Reviewer: michelleDate: 2008-04-06
Reviewid: 150731Chapter: 1
That was a great fic. Although sad, I think you captured what Ginny must be feeling very well. The last paragraph was my favorite. Hope you write more soon.

Reviewer: Gred And FeorgeDate: 2007-11-21
Reviewid: 149977Chapter: 1
Let me stop crying first...O.K. I should be good now- THat was amazing and sad. Perfect until the very end. Please write more Post-war stories.

I love you Fred!!*sniffle,sniffle...sod!*

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149542Chapter: 1
This line did it for me:

"and she saw Percy look up, his face full of relief."

I'm pleased that you actually extended the Ginny POV story beyond just her feelings for Harry. She's gotta be juggling a lot of emotional balls right after everything, and you acknowledge that.

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149501Chapter: 1
Very good! The beginning was heart-wrenching, especially the description of the bodies. It evoked a lot of the real feelings when someone dies, like that disbelief that they won't ever laugh, talk, etc. again. The "explanatory" conversation between Ginny and Harry was a bit long (maybe some of it could have been skipped?) but other than that, this was a good read!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149317Chapter: 1
Oh, I finally had a chance to read this! It must have been so hard to write - all of those difficult moments to consider and then to craft and then to move on in the story. You did a fantastic job moving Ginny from person to person, from emotion to emotion. I love the fact that Ginny went with him to bury the wand. To me, that is the start of Harry's new life as he buries the old. It's fitting the Ginny was at his side for that. I also like that you didn't magically solve any problems - you just let them savor what they had and mourn what they had lost.

It does seem like a long time ago when the stalwarts of the Lucky You thread dreamed of H/G married and happy together. How nice we were right. :)

Reviewer: bethmarieausDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149315Chapter: 1
great.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149312Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! Everyone was in character; Ginny went through so many emotions. I so enjoyed her reaction to Kreacher, Harry having a calm life and death while becoming an auror, her threatening to hex him, etc. All was so good! Please consider filling in the gap between your story and the Epilogue.

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149307Chapter: 1
I like having a story that covers the day after the events of Deathly Hallows. It feels like it is the next chapter. It's sweet, mournfull and funny all at the same time. The characters sound like themselves. I liked Neville's comments about Lupin and Fred; his feelings about them are exactly what I always felt they would be. I knew Lupin would hold a special place in his heart. You know Neville will use Lupin as his model of a good teacher.
The interaction between Harry and Ginny was very well done.

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149297Chapter: 1
“If you think I’m letting you go now, Harry Potter, you’ve got another thing coming! Got that?”

Wonderful. If that's not Ginny, I don't know what is. LOVELY story, Starsea! Ginny's perspective was very well drawn out. She seemed so...almost flustered, in a way. Just a thesaurus of emotions, filled with relief and pain and longing and love and...everything. I just love it. And thanks for the love! Know that your fellow H/G supporters totally have love for YOU for writing this beautiful story!

-HGiT

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149294Chapter: 1
Quite an enjoyable read :) Thank you!

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-09-15
Reviewid: 149287Chapter: 1
Whoa...that was terrific. One of the best post-Hallows stories I've read, and I've read quite a few. Thanks!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149284Chapter: 1
Starsea, this was just right. You've captured Ginny's shock and grief and joy and relief very well.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149282Chapter: 1
Sweet and fluffy in some places and very, very sad in others. I loved the image you invoked of the other trio; Ginny, Luna and Neville. These young people have been through so much! I hope Percy got his hug. I would love to see a fic where Percy is forgiven by Ginny (hint, hint). The song went very well with the fic. Good job all around. :)

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149278Chapter: 1
Whoops....spelled "hear" wrong. Sorry 'bout that. Anyway, again...I loved the story. More, please!

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149277Chapter: 1
That was fantastic. I felt like I was reading a continuation of the book. In fact, would you please just continue with this until um....I don't know...the epilogue? I am anxious to here what went on in those 19 years and I know I can trust your with them. Wonderful job. Oh, and your Harry is perfection.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149276Chapter: 1
This was so good... *heading back for the kleenex box*

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-09-14
Reviewid: 149274Chapter: 1
This is really, really good Laura - full of wonderful observations and new ways of looking at canon (the highest compliment I can think of):

<it shattered and a piece of it lodged in me.”
“What? Like… like broken glass or something?”
“Yeah! Yeah, that’s probably the best way to describe it.”>

You know, I think it probably is :) *admires*

I really like your Harry and Ginny, they feel very canon to me, as does the whole atmosphere of this fic. You really know these characters (all of them) and it shows.

I hope you don't mind, but if I have any concrit it's that occasionally I think you could be more ruthless with the delete key. This paragraph, for example, is amazing:

<Ginny caught her breath. Talking about Fred in the past tense felt so wrong. He was a person who’d always lived for the moment. But now he was in the past and he would stay there, forever nineteen while the rest of them grew up and grew older. When Ginny was little, she’d wished that she could catch her brothers up so she wouldn’t get left behind. Now her wish had been granted. She would catch Fred up, and then she would overtake him. When she died, she would be a wife, a mother, a grandmother, and she would look back and see Fred as a child, a young man cut down in his prime. I take it back, she thought. I don’t want to catch you up, Fred. Come back. You can always be older than me, just come back.>

However, I think you could lose the sentence about Ginny looking back as a wife, mother etc. and it would be even stronger. Just my 2 knuts - I expect many others would disagree, so feel free to ignore me!

Thanks for sharing, this is a wonderful addition to post-DH fan fiction.

<He’d defeated Voldemort and faced death, but as far as Harry was concerned, facing a crowd of people who loved him was scarier.>

So, so true. Ginny knows him best that's for sure! Yay for H/G!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --