The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hope and Loss
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149578Chapter: 1
Excellent idea to have Dean meet Andromeda after Ted's time with Dean when they were on the run. I liked Ted's last words to Andromeda; it was in keeping with his character. I liked Andromeda's advice to Dean to go home and see his mother as her daughter could not see her.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-09-30
Reviewid: 149451Chapter: 1
I've come to expect such unique and touching insights from you. Hope you'll publish this elsewhere so many more people can take your portrayal of Dean and Nymph (love that tender epithet--she is like a wood sprite, isn't she?) and Ted and 'Dromeda to their hearts.

Write on, O Thorn.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2007-09-27
Reviewid: 149426Chapter: 1
Making me cry while I'm eating! Not fair!

Anyway, this is very well written. I love how you have Dean and Andromeda talk - Dean, who knew two people dear to her, both of whom had been protecting him. Lovely.

The only problem is that at one point, you switch from second to first person. Or is that only because it is a flashback?

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149401Chapter: 1
I hadn't thought about how Dean would likely want to pay condolences to Andromeda, but I can certainly see a scene like this happening. The part where 'Dromeda says "I am his wife" in the present tense really touched me, as does Ted's last message to her as relayed by Dean. And what you have Bellatrix doing with the mud...sickening as well as chilling, but it completely fits with what we know of her. Such a crude gesture, but I can see Bella laughing and thinking how clever she was, as she did it.

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149395Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. I particularly like the last bit.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149377Chapter: 1
*shattered* I read these on LJ, and they're lovely. You capture the rawness of emotion so short after the battle so well, and I just love your Andromeda. "everyone was just too damn sorry". yes.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149376Chapter: 1
Oh wow! This was a powerful piece of writing. I've seen very few stories from Dean's POV of DH and this is certainly one of the best. You invoked some strong images, especially about the death and devastation that Dean was witness to. These poor kids.... The part about Ted's body and the mud--yikes! That really made me shudder. The ending, w/ Dean's words from Ted to Andromeda, well, that was truly lovely.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149366Chapter: 1
"and look at the mud that Bella had smeared into the deep cuts on his arms and neck." Oh, this shows just how evil Bella was! What imagination you have to come up with this. I haven't seen this in any other story. You did a great job with Dean's point of view.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149362Chapter: 1
"He told me that you’d said all there was to say a long time ago and that by now you knew everything there was to know about Ted Tonks and how he felt about his ‘Dromeda. But he did say that it never hurt to say I love you.”

That's one for the ages.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --