The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Gred and FeorgeDate: 2008-02-26
Reviewid: 150570Chapter: 3
Ok- I think I've got it(Not that it's really hard or anything):
Ginny = Bender
Neville = (The wrestler who weres tites, and has an entire paper grocery bag full of food for his lunch but whos name I forget)
Seamus = Clare
Ernie = Brian
Luna = (the insane/compulsive liar girl who doesn't talk in the first half of the movie and puts pixie stix on her sandwitch but whose name I forget)


I love this story. To be honest I had no idea what the breakfast club was when I say this story so I waited until I say it to read it. It is extra great because I fell inlove with 'The Breakfast Club' the first time I say it. (but I can't remeber those to names-damn...)

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-11-05
Reviewid: 149824Chapter: 3
This made me smile - great parody. I love the Breakfast Club. It wasn't altogether clear who was meant to be who, but it's a long time since I've seen it.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2007-10-23
Reviewid: 149696Chapter: 3
I have thoroughly enjoyed all three chapters of this delightful story. Ginny's ear puns kept me giggling throughout the story mostly because of how "ear-ritated" Snape became whenever she emphasized an 'i-r' syllable. This is a truly inspired story. Thanks for sharing it.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2007-10-21
Reviewid: 149682Chapter: 3
Hee! This story makes me squee uncontrollably, because the Breakfast Club is one of my favorite movies ever! I love all of the references and adaptation of the dialogue.

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149591Chapter: 2
just thought id congradulate you in your last phrase, it rocked the chapter....!!!!!!!!!!!


great storY! keep it going!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149507Chapter: 2
I've had problems visualizing Ginny from canon, so I really appreciate how you make Ginny come to life here; I find her use of the ear jokes very in-character and I can also tell how close she was to George (and Fred too, of course). I also found it in-character that she is somewhat harsh to her classmates here, we saw plenty of the nasty side of Ginny in HBP (her attacking Z. Smith, her fight with Ron) and I can see her letting it out in such a stressful situation. I also loved your Luna (imitiating Blibbering Humdingers, making that comment about an imperfect world) and Neville (calling Snape a murderer). McGonagall is also in-character, balancing keeping her head down and protecting her students, much as she did in handling Umbridge in OotP.

I think I may have seen the Breakfast Club but was too young to really remember it (except that it's about high school students in detention), so I can't comment on how good the parody part of this is. I am assuming, though, that some of the OOC-ness of Snape is because he is supposed to be a parody of the principal, or whatever authority figure put the students in detention in that movie.

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149459Chapter: 1
Ginny's really um.... *ear* -repressible and wonderfully defiant. Excellent job on her character.

The Highwayman.

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149456Chapter: 2
The things I liked: Ginny’s frequent ear jokes (Very creative! “ear-rigated” was my favourite, haha), Snape’s line about contemplating his wardrobe next week in detention, his subtle reaction to Dumbledore’s name, and the DA camaraderie at the end. Snape got progressively less Snape-ish as it went on, though. I also found Ginny a bit too aggressive and harsh, especially to her classmates. But in all fairness, you did warn us about the OOCness.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2007-09-30
Reviewid: 149448Chapter: 2
I absolutely loved this chapter. Ginny's teasing of Snape may be ear-ritating to the headmaster, but I giggled every time she found an excuse to remind him what he had done to George. I had to feel a little sorry for Ernie, though, when he found himself in possession of Ginny's wand. She must have learned that stunt sometime at the Burrow when her mother suspected her of mischief of one sort or the other. Keep the chapters coming; I look forward to seeing the results of the group essay effort and the first meeting of the re-formed DA. Well done!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2007-09-27
Reviewid: 149425Chapter: 1
Hm, interesting so far. Although I'm not sure I would take too many lines from the Breakfast Club, just to be on the safe side.

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149409Chapter: 1
Seems like you're off to a pretty good start. I'm sort of curious to see how exactly you're going to make this work (Harry Potter/Breakfast Club?). Also, loved this line: “I didn’t quite ‘ear that, Professor. Could you repeat it?” Ha.

Reviewer: Thorn of BloodDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149406Chapter: 1
Hah! I've been looking for one of these for ages, a chaptered fic dealing with the other Trio's DH year. Brilliant, especially your title, which drew me in instantly.

Personally I've never seen the BC movie, or indeed really heard of it before, but as you are already writing a really good Ginny, her anger over Snape's apointment was perfectly handled, I will hapily accept any lines that come out of her mouth as eminently suitable.

Talking of good characterisation, your Minervra was spot on. I'm really looking foreward to seeing the Professor's reactions to Snape. Is it going to be an Umbrageesque resistance or a more serious "Keep you head down Miss Weasley, it is too dangerous."

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149399Chapter: 1
I am intrigued. I think we are all curious about what happened at Hogwarts during the 7th book and am excited for the rest of this story. Wonderful you are starting off the school year so mutinuously. Also, I love the breakfast club. :) Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149394Chapter: 1
An interesting premise. Overall, I find the use of first names throughout the story a detractor and completely out of character for the professors. I find it unnatural that Professor McGonagall is referred to as 'Minerva' and the rest of the staff routinely refers to one another by their first names in front of the children. If I recall, I cannot think of Professor McGonagall calling a student by their first name at any time except immediately after Dumbledore's name. Additionally, the only person in canon who refers to Ginny as Ginerva is her Auntie Muriel.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --