The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sins of the Fathers
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: EvilFairyDate: 2009-07-14
Reviewid: 151431Chapter: 2
OMGoodness...where the next chapter?
I have so enjoyed reading this story and have fallen inlove with the Malfoys through your eyes. Hurry Please with the next chapter.

Reviewer: FictionGoddessDate: 2007-11-25
Reviewid: 149994Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this fic. It was recommended to me during Quill Chat and I'm glad I got around to reading it (and The Sorting of Scorpius Malfoy).

Looking forward to the next chapter. :)
- FG

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2007-11-23
Reviewid: 149987Chapter: 2
Interesting twist. Most people have viewed Malfoy as now being a good guy, however you have boldly stated otherwise. It is also interesting how you have completely changed the house rivalries and eliminated the stereotypes while giving each person blatant educational strengths and weaknesses. I cannot wait to read more in this series as it is a definite break from the norm.

soli Deo gloria,
Professor Davies

Reviewer: iseultDate: 2007-11-12
Reviewid: 149903Chapter: 2
I'm enjoying this fic and hope you continue. I wasn't much taken with "the Sorting of Scorpius Malfoy" as for a short story it didn't seem to have a point as such but as a prologue it's fine. I've been really fascinated with the Malfoys since DH and can't wait to see what you do with them. I liked the portrayal of Draco -it seems realistic and could see Snape leaving his things to him.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-11-05
Reviewid: 149835Chapter: 2
I like the line you're walking with Draco's shred of human decency and I'm stupidly amused by little Blair's reaction to Draco's reaction to Victoire. And grr, I knew Smith was up to something with knocking down the homework. Tell your teacher to use Priori Incanto, Scorpius! I'm more than a little grumpy at Falco, though. That sounds like the kind of prank any teacher at Hogwarts for more than two minutes would recognize from a mile away... Anyway, thanks for another fun chapter.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-11-05
Reviewid: 149828Chapter: 2
You are doing quit well, on your portayal of the evil character Smith. His dad was a wanker in the book's. Thanks

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149796Chapter: 2
Another great chapter! I wonder who would be blackmailing Malfoy?

Slight nitpick: "Lucette’s bright blue were wide with excitement." Are you missing "eyes"?

Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149791Chapter: 2
Oh, a Scorpius fic. This is interesting. I like the detail about Draco's wife and his life after the war; I can easily see Draco running a potion shop. I also agree that Potter and Weasley are the last people he'd want his son to be associated with. It will be interesting to see how the Weasley seniors view Scorpius. Was Katie Bell the one that sent the blackmail note about the necklace? Though I could understand her being very upset, she was cured, and it doesn't seem in character to do that, so it will be interesting to know who is blackmailing Draco. Do they also know about Draco's role in Ron's poisoning? I look forward to more.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149787Chapter: 2
Whoa! Who's got the goods on Draco?!? Well, perhaps the more precise question would be, who's got the brass-pair to blackmail him? I hope we see a real battle of wits coming!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149784Chapter: 2
[Mrs. Purejoy stopped in on Tuesdays just before having tea with her mother-in-law to collect her weekly dose of Euphoria]

*snert* I love humourous asides like that.

[“Well, I’ve already done something,” he said. Her look of surprise made him smile. “I decreased the strength and didn’t tell him. It should at least help with all the shaking and stuttering.”]

Ha! I love how you make Draco so Slytherin-ish but not a bad person.

Oooooh, love the mystery of the opal necklace! Will Draco's use of the Imperious Curse also come into play?

[Scorpius nodded and wiped at the corner of his mouth to remove an unfortunate bit of drool.]

*snert* Glad to see that the veela blood is still doing its stuff! ALthough the pink hair makes me think of Tonks. Hmmmm, I wonder what a red-headed veela would look like.

[Al and Rose headed down to the dungeons for their Potions lesson.]

Ummmm, did I miss something or don't they all have Potions together? I remember they all made that solution to put on wood together in the first chapter.

Love the blending of new and old characters and new plot lines. So happy to see Draco back and in your capable hands! (BTW, whatever happened to Unredeemed.net?)

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-10-18
Reviewid: 149668Chapter: 1
I love this. Its like reading the books all over again but with a great Malfoy twist! I can't wait for more.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-10-11
Reviewid: 149588Chapter: 1
[He knew that if he tracked mud through the foyer one more time, Lucette would make him clean up the mess himself.]

Ha! It's sort of funny seeing a Draco who is moderately considerate.

[Malfoy Manor was then raided by the Ministry and stripped of almost anything of value, and the Malfoy fortune dwindled as most of it went to compensate both the Muggle-borns who had been wrongly imprisoned and to the families of those who had died in the fight against the Dark Lord.]

You know, that's a fitting end for the Malfoys. I can see Draco being forced to grow up a lot in the after years of the war. Facing a lot of humiliation and loss of status would really humble him--he definitely got a taste of that in HBP.

[Just because Draco was no longer rooting for a Basilisk to kill them didn’t mean that he had to approve of his son befriending them.]

*snert* I love how you sum up Draco's philosophies!

*snert* The Lynches are nearly as fertile asthe Weasleys--I just had a thought. Can you imagine if a Lynch and a Weasley married? The wizarding world would be repopulated in no time!

[Al also had a letter as well as a copy of The Quibbler. Scorpius looked at Al quizzically, but Al only shrugged. “My mum got me hooked on it.”]

Awww, that's sweet!

Loved the details of the first Potions class--you really portray what a good teacher Slughorn is. In some ways, he reminds me of Lupin a bit. The students are charming and they each have their own personalities. I really like blair--she sounds like fun. And Rose is definitely her mother's daughter! Can't wait until the next chapter!

Reviewer: RedMoonChickDate: 2007-10-08
Reviewid: 149557Chapter: 1
HOW EXCITING~ I love Scorpius stories. And I cant wait to read everything you plan on writing for this one! Are you planning on taking them all the way to 7th year? Or will it just remain in 1st year?

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-10-03
Reviewid: 149487Chapter: 1
HOORAH! You are writing about his first year! Oh what a delight to find this. Wonderful, so far! An excellent continuation of "The Sorting"...I'm looking forward to it!

I wonder who the quiet boy in Ravenclaw is?

Also, slight typo: "Draco felt knew his cheeks were pink". Guess you forgot to delete one or the other. Just FYI!

Reviewer: BeshterDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149482Chapter: 1
I'm eager to see where this goes....I've played with some ideas for Scorpius in my own stories, and I like seeing what people do with him. This one is great, keep it up.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149463Chapter: 1
This fic is quite promising; Scorpius is adorable, as is Blair Zabini, even if she has Slytherin cunning underneath her girly-girl exterior. I also like your take on Draco Malfoy, changing his ways more for personal reasons (his love for Lucette) than strong philosophical conviction, but the fact that he makes Wolfsbane Potion on a no-questions-asked basis makes me think his conversion has gone beyond a surface one. The older Slughorn seems much more mellow and humble than the HBP version; I wonder if he still runs the Slug Club? I guess if he does, we'll find out later in the story. Speaking of which, I really like how you're presenting a lot of inter-House relationships here; not just Scorpius's budding friendship with Al and Rose, but the Lynch family having members in at least 3 Houses (Slytherin, Gryffindor and Ravenclaw) instead of having everyone in a family automatically Sorted into the same house. I am very interested in what is to come.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-09-29
Reviewid: 149444Chapter: 1
Oh, you don't know how pleased I was to see that you've decided to write a full story about Scorpius, Al, and Rose! Thank you! The kids are delightful, and there are already some brewing mysteries. Yay.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-09-29
Reviewid: 149443Chapter: 1
Beautiful. After reading book 7, I wondered if Scorpius Malfoy may be the one to redeem all of Slytherin. I look forward to seeing if you agree with me or not. Regardless of what you think, it'll be very fun finding out.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --