The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Highway Code
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-11-08
Reviewid: 149872Chapter: 1
[He left on a wet Wednesday afternoon, grinning as he headed out to the car for his first two hour lesson.
They returned a bare half hour later,]

Hahaha! I love Ron's first driving lesson! The poor instructor! I can just see Ron thinking how logical it is to have a car fly once in a while. And I love howcalm, cool and logical Hermione is about the whole thing!

[When it came time for his theory exam, she firmly denied Ron’s notion that he would just go with it on the day and hope for the best. If he was going to do this, he would do it properly, and she set him on a revision timetable as strict as any he’d ever had at Hogwarts. Rose helped, highly entertained by the notion that her Dad had to do schoolwork too]

Oh, that's adorable--so in character for Hermione and it must have been funny for the kids to see their dad studying!

[Even Hugo helped, a little too young to read to his father from the Highway Code, but always happy to demonstrate what he felt Ron should be doing with his own toy cars.

Considering how often those toy cars seemed to crash, that was not, perhaps, a helpful example to follow.]

That's so funny and cute! I really liked the spacing as to how you set up the joke--I love dry humor like that. And it's just too sweet when Hugo gives Ron his favorite car for luck!

[She had bigger things to worry about, as did the driving public of the British Isles. Her father-in-law had just written to her asking for driving lessons as well.]

Ha! Loved this! Perfect 1-shot. Everyone is in canon, and yet you've allowed Ron and Hermione to mature--not an easy thing to do with characters. This was really delightful and funny. The last two lines are princeless! Can't wait to see more stories from you!

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149636Chapter: 1
I truly enjoyed your fic,Highway Code. Although I
guess I will have to watch out for the Weasley family
espically Ron and Mr Weasley on the Roadways. A Very
enjoyable fic. Please continue to write.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2007-10-06
Reviewid: 149522Chapter: 1
Very funny! That poor driving instructor! Well done all around.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149504Chapter: 1
Haha, this is a brilliant little piece of fluff!

Reviewer: Stellar HawkDate: 2007-10-03
Reviewid: 149493Chapter: 1
hehehe *snerk* This is great! Especially Ron's poor instructor's reactions after making the car fly. Heh.

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149479Chapter: 1
I cannot say how much I adore this story. Ron and Hermione are perfectly in character, and I love the quick portraits you give us of Hugo and Rose. Rose is insisting that Ron be "serious" about his studies, and Hugo is handing over red toy cars "for luck." Wonderful.

I think my favorite part, however, is this:
"Ron’s protests that if he was caught he could Confund his way out of it were met with a withering stare, and a “Do you really think that’s ethical?”"

That is so perfect, for a few reasons. First, that is such a typical Hermione reaction that it's hilarious, and secondly, it harkens back to HBP, when Hermione confunded McLaggin. That, of course, wasn't ethical either, but she was willing to do it for Ron.

Excellent story, and I hope to see more of you on the Quill!

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149475Chapter: 1
Tongue-in-cheekness always does my heart good: "He reversed around a corner without hitting the kerb, and did not need to move the kerb in order to achieve this. At no time at all did the car fly." :-)

I was surprised at first to read about Ron making the car fly, and wanting to repeat the feat. He seemed quite aware in CoS that the car needs to be invisible when it flies. But once I decided to take your word for this, it created a lot of comic effect.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149474Chapter: 1
Delicious fun! Loved the family lessons on driving theory, and Hugo's practical encouragement. Great ending - the thought of dear Arthur taking driving lessons too ... ROTFL.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149472Chapter: 1
Hilarious and very in character. The Muggles better remember to shoulder check if Ron is driving. :D I hope that Arthur doesn't make Hermione's life too challenging, though I don't think he would need to Confound the instructor. Good job.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149471Chapter: 1
Cute! Very enjoyable read.

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2007-10-02
Reviewid: 149470Chapter: 1
Oh, this is priceless. It really grasps the charm of the books. I can totally see it happening exactly like this!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --