The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: End of the Line
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-11-18
Reviewid: 149953Chapter: 1
Gave me chills! Loved it.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2007-10-28
Reviewid: 149763Chapter: 3
Wow. I...really liked these.

Great work.

-AW

Reviewer: whizbeeDate: 2007-10-28
Reviewid: 149757Chapter: 3
This is so lovely. One reviewer said something like haunting and beautiful and I agree completely. You give the characters a sense of closure that they never got in life and it's *so* well written. Ugh, this isn't coherent at all but you should know I think this is wonderful :)

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2007-10-28
Reviewid: 149752Chapter: 2
Wow. I read the first part of this fic elsewhere but I really like the expansion of it; the Fred and George part doesn't quite correspond to how I see them, as I actually don't think Fred would have waited, although the end of chapter 3 seems to suggest you could go on and wait at the same time -- since Remus's Dora gets on the train with him, but Ted's Dora stays with him to wait for Andromeda. I loved the part where Remus gets to be with both his friends and his wife, and Dora gets to be with both her husband and her father; I didn't quite understand the metaphysics of it but it still made sense on an emotional level. I've never read a word of Terry Prachett but perhaps I should.

Reviewer: ravenstarDate: 2007-10-25
Reviewid: 149718Chapter: 1
This was awesome. The image of 9 3/4 and the way you reference Fred and Colin running around made me teary eyed. :') And of course Snape reuniting with Lily makes it even more beautiful. :D

Reviewer: RonkaperplexousDate: 2007-10-24
Reviewid: 149707Chapter: 3
Wow. These are simply brilliant. I love the vision of death you've created here, expanding on what JKR gave us in DH. Trains coming and going, but really only ever going two places; the leaves on the nonexistent tracks; missed connections and people waiting on one another... It's lovely and haunting and heartbreaking and beautiful. You actually made me cry in this third one; I was so partial to Tonks, and Ted Tonks, too, and it's wonderful to see that Remus got his friends and Tonks got her Remus and Ted got his Dora and everything turns out all right in the end and... gah. Wonderful. Also memorable, Rowena steadfastly waiting for her daughter who'll probably never show up... or maybe she will. I wonder if, when she died, she was waiting not at a train station, but a crossroads or some medieval equivalent.

Anyway, enough rambling and non-contructive praise. Well done, good show, capital fic, and all that.

Reviewer: kelseypotter721Date: 2007-10-21
Reviewid: 149683Chapter: 1
oh my gosh! I love this story! I think that it was very well written and gives you an idea of what might happen in the station where the train takes you on. I didn't really get what the story was about until the second chapter. But all in all, a very good story!

Reviewer: HossDate: 2007-10-21
Reviewid: 149681Chapter: 3
Very Twilight Zone. Thanks Good Fun.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-10-20
Reviewid: 149676Chapter: 3
This is a weird, but interesting story. And I can't help but laughing out loud every time the leaves on the line are mentioned. It reminds me way too much of the real world.

I can't really wrap my head around this time thing, but I'm probably not supposed to. Everyone is just meeting everyone they want, and they're assuming the right age for that.

I loved James and Sirius messing up everything in the station, just like they used to do alive. Poor Guard...

The bit about George dropping things because Fred wasn't there is heart-breaking. It makes me very happy to believe that Fred and George will meet again in the afterlife and can make up for missed time.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-10-19
Reviewid: 149674Chapter: 3
This is such a moving, beautiful piece... it almost reconciled me with all of these deaths. You use such unpretentious language and such few words to create a really haunting atmosphere. I enjoyed the glimpses of Bellatrix, of little Dora and the Marauders, and Rowenna just broke my heart. Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: kismattDate: 2007-10-19
Reviewid: 149673Chapter: 2
I'm looking forward to the rest of this posting!

btw, the wild-haird woman carrying the shrieking naked 'thing' = Bellatrix Lestrange, carrying what remained of Tom Riddle. Very nice. No ticket!

Reviewer: TheowynDate: 2007-10-19
Reviewid: 149671Chapter: 1
This is one of my all-time favorite stories and my very favorite "Afterlife" story. It is wonderfully inventive and richly detailed. I love all the little bits, such as Snape barking his shins on Hedwig's cage and Sirius chasing the station master's cat as Padfoot. The characters are all perfect and the view of "eternity's waystation" is very insightful and well developed. Thanks for a great read.

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-10-19
Reviewid: 149670Chapter: 3
I love that everyone can wait for everyone else. It makes since that time wouldn't work the same way. I also like the Guard. What happens to people like Peter though? And who was the wild haired woman? I liked the description of not having a ticket. How long will Rowena wait? Those things made me sad.

I like these though and hope you write more.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-10-19
Reviewid: 149669Chapter: 3
You exploit non-linear time to such effect! I don't know if you have more coming, but you could connect EVERYONE's lives this way if you were so inclined.

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149638Chapter: 2
What a very spooky place that train station is. It has an other-worldly logic, but Fred doesn't seem too stressed about it. I like that, while his memory and perception of the real world may be fading, his memory of George never does.

The one thing I didn't like is that you portray George as having a lonely existence, as if he's just marking the passage of time, rather than living fully. I don't think he'd be like that, and in fact JK agrees with me, as she said in some interview that George named his boy "Fred" - implying he had a family. Of course, it's not in the books, so you can interpret it differently.

There is a problem with the display of this post. You may have noticed that it has weird symbols in the middle of words. Can you figure it out and ask the SQ admin to re-post? Right now it's difficult to read.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-10-14
Reviewid: 149631Chapter: 2
You may wish to normalize that character set, but I remember THIS one from the external source as well! Damn those leaves! :)

Reviewer: illudwinnepooh4Date: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149534Chapter: 1
Was the solitary red-headed figure who was waiting for someone Fred waiting for George, or Dumbledore as his younger self waiting for Harry?

Reviewer: Thorn of BloodDate: 2007-10-06
Reviewid: 149528Chapter: 1
I saw this over on your live journal (thornyrose42 by the way, the halucination!) and I was really pleased to see that you are posting the series here as well. More people need to see it.

I'm still amazed by the quality of your writing and the idea behind it. The image of him and Lily "going home" for the last time, happy at last, is a really enduring one. it made me sob the first time I read it. Of course this has utterly spoiled my ability to read other beyond the Veil fics so I hope that you are satisfied!

And your little tributes to the other war heroes was brillient, the metion of the owl cage gets me everytime as does the last glimpse of Fred waiting for his twin.

Fantastic stuff.

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2007-10-05
Reviewid: 149512Chapter: 1
I am delighted to see this story posted here. I love the premise, and really enjoy getting the sense of closure from each of the chapters. Also, it's nice to see Snape have a happy ending!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2007-10-05
Reviewid: 149508Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Having Pratchett's Death making a cameo in a HP fic is great.

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149498Chapter: 1
I adore how Fred was waiting for George, even though "it could be years". Beautiful, truly.

(Oh, and I do love your other story too... I just forgot to comment!)

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149497Chapter: 1
I think I saw this somewhere else via a link from the SQ forums, right?

I'm glad someone convinced you to c'mon over here. I really like this one, and I'm glad Lily was kind enough to escort ol' Sev home.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --