The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2008-01-28
Reviewid: 150473Chapter: 1
I commented on this story before, but I wanted to do so again for the review challenge.

I was impressed with your technique, especially your use of POV. You move in and out of a more intimate point of view. At times we are very close to Scrimgeour's active thoughts and at other times we have a little more distance. I like that.

I too like your use of Harry's quotes. They are a part of Scrimgeour's thoughts and belong in the story.

The following quote was particularly well done. I like your use of Harry's words, and Scrimgeour's intimate thoughts.

"Voldemort chased me across three counties, he killed Mad-Eye Moody!"

Potter's words rang in his head, and Rufus felt a surge of anger. How dare that boy act like he knew more of what was going on in this war, than the Minister of Magic himself? While Rufus could easily see his old partner being considered a worthy target for Vol...him to take out personally, the audacity of Potter in saying that, as if he had personally seen..."

I must tell you that this story influenced my imnage of this character.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2008-01-17
Reviewid: 150414Chapter: 1
[Rufus Scrimgeour finished perusing the latest memo from Thicknesse, a proposal regarding registration and evacuation of Muggle-borns]

I love how you make such an innoscent and normal opening line be so creepy. Nice foreshadowing.

Poor Rufus! Sending him Mad-Eye's eye is just so creepy and brutal.

I also like how you address an outsider's POV with Lupin and Tonks, and how Scrimgeor would just see Lupin as just another werewolf associated with Greyback.

I really like your Scrimgeor. He's true to his no-nonsense, blunt but trying to be fair personality. I like how he has a level head and tries to think sensibly, even though his methods may be a little crude. I liked you breaking up Rufus's thoughts with dialogue from Harry. Very effective.

[A last resort, and not just for moral reasons either. The power and concentration required often hampered its effective use in battle. Not to mention it being a longer incantation than most.]

I like this philosophy of the Killing Curse--I've also thought this about it, that it really is a bit of powerful magic and you need some time to say the words.

Fantastic, yet devastating ending. Awesome one-shot! I really enjoyed this. Stories about the minor or cameo characters in the Potterverse are my favorites!

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-10
Reviewid: 149577Chapter: 1
This is avery nice character sketch of Scrimgeour. I especially like your coupling of his admiration and affection for Moody with his complete ignorance about Moody's order activities. I felt sympathy with his overwhelming situation and the small amount of self pity he allows himself over Dumbledore's hostility. I liked the remark that Dumbledore was more cooperative in the first war despite his disapproval of Crouch's methods. (It made me wonder if that was true and why it would be.) It was touching how the old warrior understood that even Moody could be impiriused and how he himself was vulnerable to the Cruciatus Curse. Having him Obliviate himself was brilliant. He appears to be a professional with a touch of nobility despite his flaws.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2007-10-08
Reviewid: 149556Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this very much. Rufus has always struck me as a not-very-likeable character who, however, did have his reasons for his actions (although he never figured out how to interact with Harry :)). This fic is a good way of showing those thoughts and reasons. Good job!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2007-10-08
Reviewid: 149555Chapter: 1
Wow. Nice little fic, and an interesting spin on events. Didn't see that ending coming! Thanks.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149540Chapter: 1
Oh Rufus... what a brave, misguided man you were. I love how he immediately transforms from the Minister to an Auror, and it's so easy to see that being an Auror really suits him, whereas underneath his surface confidence, he has no idea about what to do as Minister. It was a lovely touch to have him be Moody's protegé, I'd never thought about it before but it makes total sense. And yes, Moody would be disappointed in the path Rufus took.

~The image of Potter showing the back of his fist rankled Rufus. Dolores Umbridge was useful at times, but she'd had a serious lapse in judgment during her tenure at Hogwarts; well, actually, quite a number of them. - yes! This is exactly what I think! He doesn't like her but he can't afford to get rid of her. Which makes her actions after his death even more disgusting.

It's good to see another Scrimgeour story. Thank you for such an incisive read.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149537Chapter: 1
I was pleasantly surprised by this fic. My favorite part was "the annoying charms to make it comment on appearances had been removed" because it seems like such a Fudge thing to have done to the mirror.
The internal monologue fit very well with the story Harry gave and yet you gave a much-needed depth to the Minister. Great story!

Reviewer: ladytalksalot17Date: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149533Chapter: 1
wow, I like the ending, it's surprising. Good job.

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2007-10-07
Reviewid: 149532Chapter: 1
not what I expected, but I really good story
loved the last word

Reviewer: Thorn of BloodDate: 2007-10-06
Reviewid: 149525Chapter: 1
This was amazingly powerful. I was really impressed by the way you managed to make him a sympathetic character while at the same time remaining true to his personality and views as shown in the book. I must admit that I was on the of my seat as he debated which spell to use, such a gutpunchingly good ending.

I especially liked the way you introduced the old friendship between him and Mad Eye, the fact that the DEs sent him the eye just made me wince.

And his view of Harry and Tonks was very well handled because you could see how he had come to the conclusions that he did. I felt that through this fic I was shown the Man behind the Minister.

Thanks!

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2007-10-06
Reviewid: 149517Chapter: 1
Very good ending. I'm glad you threw in that mention of Percy wanting to go to the wedding. Excellent missing moment!

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2007-10-05
Reviewid: 149515Chapter: 1
Bravo, this is very good. I liked the glimpse into R.S.'s head, and a chance to see his motivations. You made him seem less of an idiot, although he only ever seemed that way because Harry thought he was. I'm also glad that you exonerated Percy by making him absent. THank you for that.

Reviewer: rachelindeedDate: 2007-10-05
Reviewid: 149514Chapter: 1
A very powerful story! I loved your exploration of Scrimgeour's relationship with Moody -- I'd never thought of that before, but of course they would have worked together for years! Excellent, excellent story. Thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-10-05
Reviewid: 149511Chapter: 1
COOL ending, but for one thing - they COULD have continued to use even a Obliviated Scrimgeour as a puppet. Maybe someone just got mad?

Nits aside, I liked the buildup to this, and his internal monologue w.r.t. Dumbledore and Harry.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --