The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Toad of a Hero
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-12-29
Reviewid: 150263Chapter: 1
I will miss seeing this displayed on the first page of new fan fiction. I know it will still be available in the Professor's Bookshelp archive, but now it is so accessible to new readers. I feel the Quill should have a special page for favorite writing and this would head my list.

I love this story.

Reviewer: Gred And FeorgeDate: 2007-11-13
Reviewid: 149912Chapter: 1
The was may have to be the best fanfic I have ever read!!! Amazing!!! It was sad and happy all at the same time! I love how Trevor thinks so much of himself in a totaly cute way! This story also has my new favorit quote for anything to do with Harry Potter from now on: "They looked so heartbreakingly young." That is so true and it brought tears to my eyes. I loved Neville before this and now I really love him.
Another Amazing Line:
["Not everyone lived," Neville repeated incredulously. "But you're all right."]

So true...We lost Fred, Tonks, Lupin, Colin, Hedwig,and Dobby in the 7th book alone!!! I'm glad to think that Trevot the Toad survived the Whole ordeal and was strong like Neville...Ithink I might Cry. Beautiful!!!

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-10-21
Reviewid: 149684Chapter: 1
I love this story - I think it's my favourite out of everything of yours that I've read so far. Trevor is so endearing:

~Trevor was in ecstasy. Finally someone was holding him again. Finally someone was going to take care of him. It had been a long, lonely exile – he could admit that now. Really, it was amazing how he, a modest toad, had survived with such stoicism and valor.

I love the ending most of all, with the familiar normality of the Gryffindor bedroom and the boys sleeping peacefully. It makes perfect sense to me that Neville being reunited with a familiar, faithful friend is what he needs to help him sleep. And, Trevor is faithful and a loyal pet to Neville in my head too, and his escapades over the past months will have been enough freedom to last him a lifetime!

Thank you for writing this.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-10-18
Reviewid: 149664Chapter: 1
Ah, Trevor. The world revolves around you, definitely. I loved the toad's eye view of everyone: from Neville (his hero) to Gran and his complete indignation at being flown around by Peeves. Can't really blame him, though... And the happy ending of a toad and his pet reunited. Ah, bless them.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149639Chapter: 1
I love the opening line! And I absolutely love the POV you chose for this story! Asking for Roses is one of my favorite fics and I loved the parts where Dogstar wrote from Trevor's POV. I'd love to see a conversation between all the Hogwarts pets!

[An alarm had sounded! They were obviously looking for him, Trevor the Toad!]

I love Trevor! His thought process just cracks me up. He is just so pompous and a little bit old-fashioned. He reminds me a bit of Earnie MacMillian.

[He was suffocating – all he could see were goats and poisonous cauldrons. He would never see Neville again . . .]

Oh, poor Trevor! That toad has been through almost as much as Neville!

[Yes, that was the voice of the tall, red-haired one – Ron - who snored loudly and never picked up his socks. Ron's deep tones were quickly overridden by the loud bossy voice of the witch who was always trying to help Neville. Trevor liked Hermione, despite the fact that she talked a lot and didn't understand that a toad just needed to get away every now and again.]

Trevor's perspective on the Trio was quite insightful and funny. I like it when authors take a step back to critically examine the Trio.

[Neville and warmth and flies.] [Trevor, who always thought swearing was for mouthy tadpoles and uncouth waterfowl, cursed his luck.] [His eyelids drooped as he thought of Neville's happy round face when he saw his beloved, brave toad again . . .]

Awwww, you know how they say people resemble thier pets? I think that is especially true of Neville and Trevor.

Neville in Gran's handbag is so vividly described and adorable, even if it is a little scary (for a toad).

[Hagrid's voice cut through Trevor's agonized thoughts. "Don't hurt 'em!"
Trevor took heart. Hagrid was worried about him, Trevor the Toad. How wonderful to have friends at such a time.]

*snert* I love how Trevor thinks so highly of himself! He's like this little toad prince!

[Trevor hopped away in disgust only to encounter a discarded adolescent Mandrake undulating on the marble stairs. With a come-hither smile she grabbed his back leg and started to kiss his muscled (but terribly bruised) flesh.

"Unhand me, you hussy!" Trevor croaked. The Mandrake didn't understand toad, or she didn't care. She continued to kiss her way up his leg . . .]

LOL! OK, Mandrake/Trevor is officially the weirdest ship ever!

["HE'S ALIVE!"
Of course, he was alive, Trevor thought with amusement. It would take more than pummeling handbags, giant spiders and randy mandrakes to keep Trevor the Toad down.]

I'm adding this to the favorite quotes in fanfiction thread!

[They looked so heartbreakingly young.]

You know, as soon as I read the description of Trevor back in Gryffindor tower, I thought that. It was so tender and fragile and sad.

[Trevor looked into the kind eyes of the one he loved the most.]

OK, I'm in work crying over a boy and his toad.

["You're welcome," Trevor croaked softly before he, too, closed his eyes. He was a toad of a hero, he thought proudly. Of course he would be here - now and all the other days Neville needed him.]

OK, this is one of the sweetest, most imaginative fics I've ever read. Definitely destined to become a classic!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2007-10-14
Reviewid: 149628Chapter: 1
That was incredibly sweet! I loved the different, and sometimes skewed, point of view. I never saw Trevor as that intelligent or loyal, but you made it believable. The ending was just lovely, so warm-hearted.

Reviewer: TheowynDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149613Chapter: 1
This is absolutely brilliant! Exceptionally well written and very clever. Bravo!

Reviewer: Glynnis GriffithsDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149612Chapter: 1
This was too precious! I think I like your Neville/Trevor stuff even better than your Harry/Ginny things! (And that's saying something, because I really love H/G.) The mandrake was fabulous, and Trevor's self-confidence was brilliant! Definitely a Gryffindor toad.

Reviewer: martaDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149605Chapter: 1
This was just delightful. Never thought I would fall in love with Trevor the Toad, but there you are. Funny, cute and moving in all the appropriate places. Glad to see Trevor and Neville are reunited at last, after such an ordeal...

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149603Chapter: 1
My heart swells too, Trevor. He seems so perfect! Wonderful, lovely, my favorite one-shot ever.
(And I've read lots of one-shots!)

Reviewer: tangerineDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149601Chapter: 1
Well, St. Margarets, you did it. You wrote a story narrated by a toad and it still made me cry. That was lovely. Oh, Neville!

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149594Chapter: 1
I loved this story. It was a pleasure to read. I must admit I was skeptical about a story told by a toad, but it works beautifully. Trevor stays in character through the whole piece and that character is recognizably toadish.

I laughed out loud so many times. I especially liked Trevor's pride in his ordeal: "Really, it was amazing how he, a modest toad, had survived with such stoicism and valor." His assumption that Hagrid’s cry of "Don't hurt em" was speaking of him. Voldemort described as a "snake in a dress." I loved his worry about Neville after he killed that "horrible man's pet snake". Of course to a toad killing a snake would be the most appreciated act of all. I can’t add any more scenes because there are too many to keep track of.

The ending was sweet and in character for both the toad as written by you and Neville as imagined by me.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-10-12
Reviewid: 149592Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! I've never read a story in the POV of a toad, but you totally made it work. You made Trevor so endearing, I loved his little observations. It was also interesting to hear the perceptions he had of other people, especially the trio. Some of the funniest parts: the amorous mandrake, the whinging gargoyles, Peeves taking Trevor on a victory lap. Some touching parts: Trevor's pride in his owner (totally deserved, BTW!) and falling asleep on Neville's pillow. Thank you for a lovel story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --