The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2008-11-28
Reviewid: 151256Chapter: 1
You posted this around the time I was trying to finish off my own multi-chapter (and sadly AU) fanfic, so I missed it. And didn't make any attempt to return until now. Shame on me. You did an outstanding job of rounding out Hannah's character using the handful of facts Rowling provided over the years.

And an equally good job getting into the mind of Professor Sprout. I always imagined her to be everything Severus Snape isn't: emotionally balanced, and perceptive to the strengths and weaknesses of her students.

Reviewer: Kim kikimDate: 2008-08-29
Reviewid: 151063Chapter: 1
Hey! I've got a question for you..
A week ago, we had to start over our computer, and so I lost the link to Ladysmantle Live Journal where I used to read her fanfiction. I'm not sure, but I seem to recall that you (Dogstar) left some comments on her stories, so if you have the link to Ladysmantle's Live Journal, would it be possible for you to share it with me? I really love reading her stories! And if somehow you can't (or you just don't know what the hell I'm talking about) well I thank you anyways :)

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-11-13
Reviewid: 149915Chapter: 1
The Sprout characterizaton made the story. Her statement about Hannah being prone to making things difficult for herself was so true for all your stories about Hannah. I could see that in Asking for Roses and Join Hands and the Story with Chocolate in the title whose name aludes me. I like that Hannah has stayed with Muggle relations through out her life and it is interesting to see it start here. This is canon because the Leaky Cauldron is on the border between the Muggle and Wizarding world so Hannah will still be involved with Muggle relations. All the Muggleborns will first enter the wizarding world through Hannah.

Hannah is a believable fifteen year old.

I love that there is a Neville moment even if it is only in Sprout's mind. Sprout's concern for her students makes her the most sympathetic of the Hogwarts teachers.

The Fainting Lily is a nice image for Hannah.

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2007-11-11
Reviewid: 149890Chapter: 1
Hey! Hey now you didn't tell MEEEE you were going to post this! I would have been all over it the second you did. Really Dogstar how will I keep up?

I love the dramatic fainting lily and how you used it to draw parallels with Hannah's initial state of mind (not a shrinking violet, but a fainting lily!) And her good grades and someone telling Hannah she's AIMING TOO LOW! (someone had to!) And that comment from Snape is downright near a COMPLIMENT to her ability. But she's been overshadowed by the likes of Ernie (grrrr MacMillan!) I like this piece it's very telling of Hannah's school experience and that teachers don't always look harder than they have to, she's chalked up to "bees in the bonnet" bless her!

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2007-11-09
Reviewid: 149876Chapter: 1
Your Professor Sprout is SO ON. Maybe I don't even know/think much about Professor Sprout, but this is how I want to think of her. The details are what make her so convincing -- her utter confidence in chamomile tea, for instance. So cute. Your Hannah characterization is also wonderful (as I've come to expect), but I hadn't thought much about Sprout before and now I want to take a class from her! :D

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2007-11-06
Reviewid: 149850Chapter: 1
I like the additions. Ernie would treat her as his assistant rather than partner and Hannah wouldn't complain. Sprout's musing on the various students are wonderful, I especially liked the MacMillan and Smith thoughts.

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2007-11-02
Reviewid: 149803Chapter: 1
Oh, this was so different to read after Asking for Roses! "prone to bees in their bonnet". The Fainting Lilly's reaction is interesting, I wonder if it had been off all day, or just for Hannah?

This is lovely, and much reicher without the constraints of 87 Rolls . . . And I'm glad you've still got fiction in the back of your mind!

Reviewer: AmamamaDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149795Chapter: 1
*happy sigh* You were right - this was a wonderful way to end the day. It is a lovely story, and Pomona's final characterization of Hannah is both distinct and loving "A lovely girl, of course, but with a certain tendency to make life difficult for herself." Oh, sweet Hannah. *hugs*

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-11-01
Reviewid: 149782Chapter: 1
Lovely one-shot. You really have the psychology of Hannah and Professor Sprout down. Even though Hannah is a CC, you've given her so much soul and depth that she feels like an original creation. I loved the Fainting Lily--so original.

And Professor Sprout sounds like an excellent Head of House--really warm and caring for her students, but also no-nonsense. Her insight into all her students is spot-on. Excellent 1-shot and I'm so glad that your stories are "canon." Can't wait to see how you come up with the story of how Hannah decides to buy the Leaky Cauldron.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-10-31
Reviewid: 149776Chapter: 1
Yes, I was excited about the revelation concerning Hannah and Neville--and mostly b/c of your really wonderful stories, which had made the relationship so real to me. Lovely little one-shot here, I really like it. I hope you now go and fill in what happens to Hannah and Neville between them getting together for good and when we saw them last.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-10-30
Reviewid: 149775Chapter: 1
Professor Sprout is such a Mother Hen. She wants to nudge her charges along. So Ernie MacMillan was taking advantage of Hannah Abbott's good nature even back in Fifth Year!

I am sure that Professor Sprout couldn't resist doing the best she could for superior students like Neville even if they were not in her house.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2007-10-30
Reviewid: 149774Chapter: 1
OH, my god. I remember this.

I remember giggling all over my OLD COMPUTER SCREEN, and thinking Hannah needed to get a grip -ha!- and hating you for making Hannah and Ernie so seemingly unshippable in a way that made it totally impossible to hate you. This is such a GREAT little story- I love Professor Sprout to pieces when you write her, the bit about the Fainting Lily at the end makes me smile particularly.

This is absolute love. Jo!fic at her best.

*tacklehugs you*

Also, *cackles madly* the bit about Ernie is even funner to read in light of recent developments!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --