The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Long Memories
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2008-02-16
Reviewid: 150525Chapter: 1
[But now that he was back at Hogwarts, rubbing shoulders with the echoes of his past, he let himself remember sometimes—the way he might touch a bruise to see how much it hurt.]

Wow, that was a beautiful turn of phrase. And I liked how Remus remembered James spotting patterns.

[teachers spent Thursday evenings sitting around the staffroom playing Exploding Snap. In the nude.]

Hahahahaha! That's the sort pf things students think the teachers really do, when the truth is usually much more mundane.

[Old habits die hard; to students, the staffroom was forbidden, by tradition if not actually by rule, and Remus still felt a bit odd about just walking in.]

As someone who was a student as well as a teacher, I can tell you this feeling is certainly true. Crossing that threshold certainly feels weird.

["Come and sit here, Remus—it's a prime spot, close to the biscuits."
"Thank you..." Remus felt his face grow warm. "Minerva."]

Aw, that was cute. And I liked how the professors idly gossip about their students, like Luna and the Weasley twins, as well as discuss more serious matters, like Ginny.

The fireworks at the end were a perfect way to tie the whole story together. I love Minerva! Awesome! I really enjoyed this! Your stories are always such excellent character studies and always provide, fresh twists on familiar faces. I can't wait to see more stories from you!

Reviewer: kismattDate: 2007-12-01
Reviewid: 150061Chapter: 1
LOL! That was fun!

Reviewer: FictionGoddessDate: 2007-12-01
Reviewid: 150056Chapter: 1
You made me giggle with this one. I really liked seeing Remus like this. And McGonagall.

:)

Reviewer: CleindoriDate: 2007-12-01
Reviewid: 150055Chapter: 1
*laughs*

Oh, that was /fabulous/! I still sometimes feel a bit weird going into staffrooms after a year of substitute teaching, and I can only imagine how awkward it would be at my own former school, with teachers who had taught me. Discussing students, sharing both amusing incidents and concerns, is such a quintessential staffroom activity, and I can totally see McGonagall being absolutely delighted with the chance to finally get back at Remus with a Filibuster's of her own!

Reviewer: ScottyKarrdeDate: 2007-11-30
Reviewid: 150049Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant. Brilliant. BRILLIANT!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2007-11-30
Reviewid: 150048Chapter: 1
Brilliant one-shot--very well constructed and tight!

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2007-11-30
Reviewid: 150047Chapter: 1
This was great. I loved the way Sirius haunts Remus throughout the whole thing. The ending is also fabulous.

Reviewer: MariaroseDate: 2007-11-30
Reviewid: 150046Chapter: 1
Yes, it's nice to be recognized as an adult, by your peers. And it's good to remember not to be too "grown up" when you're an adult.

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2007-11-29
Reviewid: 150043Chapter: 1
I always enjoy your stories, but this one is over the top wonderful. I can just see the smirk on Minerva's face.

Reviewer: NixNoxDate: 2007-11-29
Reviewid: 150039Chapter: 1
This was a cute, very well-written characterization of Remus and the other teachers! I love McGonagall, she was just amazingly HILARIOUS.

Reviewer: tykoDate: 2007-11-28
Reviewid: 150037Chapter: 1
Very good story; excellent, in-canon characterization of everyone. I just adore McGonagall, and she was in top form here. I'm not sure if she'd really do that to Lupin, though; that might stretch things a little too far. But the characterizations of the teachers are done really well. I think you've certainly got Sprout and Flitwick down. And Lupin... well, this is just so him.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2007-11-28
Reviewid: 150035Chapter: 1
Oh dear, that was a lovely story! You have Remus' mixture of humility/humor/hardworking nature down just right for me, and I love the way you've woven in the students of past and present, especially his old friends and the Weasley twins. And since we POA readers know Sirius is innocent, I could definately laugh freely and heartily about the Exploding Snap! I though Remus might spray a mouthful of his tea when I read Pomona's comment. : ) Thankyou for such a nice fic.

Reviewer: ladytalksalot17Date: 2007-11-28
Reviewid: 150032Chapter: 1
ooooh i loved this. So sweet and funny and well written and interesting. I especially liked hearing teacher's opinions of students.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --