The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Ron's Preparations
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2008-02-23
Reviewid: 150552Chapter: 1
Just adding that I kinda liked the ending. Even though it's quick, it helps remind the reader about how to everyone else it's just a normal day. And that's what Ron's appreciating.

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2008-01-25
Reviewid: 150452Chapter: 1
Well Whizbee I thought I would reveiw your story again for the challenge. I noticed new things to applaud. I was very impressed with the interaction between Ron and the twins. The way they guess his intentions and compare him to themselves, their encouragement to him for his quest, and the best part, the way they discuss his relationship with Hermione without mentioning her name was in character and fun to read. Your twins were fun which is absolute necessity for writing the twins.

Ron's talk with his father went beyond what I remember from canon (did I say this before?) but is entirely consistent with canon. I love Arthur's thoughts about his sons and his support of Ron's work.

I agree the last sentence just stops the story to abruptly. Unless another chapter is in the works it is a let down to a fine story. It is touching though. I encourage you to write another chapter. Even with another chapter the last sentence stops the momenum of the story to much. It is a small flaw in a fine work.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2008-01-18
Reviewid: 150419Chapter: 1
[“Come on, Ron, budge up. You’re taking up the whole sofa.” Ron opened his eyes to see Ginny standing over him with her arms crossed.
“So?” he asked as he resettled himself. “You’re small enough, you’ll fit.”]

Oh, this is so Ron and Ginny being brother and sister!

[He had, of course, mumbled this last part to himself but having seven children had done nothing if not sharpen Molly Weasley’s hearing.]

*snert* I love how Molly doesn't miss a thing!

[Fred and George immediately raised their hands in a gesture that plainly said “We had nothing to do with it.”]

Ha! I love the twins so much!

[Instead, she walked over and gave him a hug, whispering, “I get it, you know. I might hate it, but I get it.” Producing a bacon sandwich, she put it in his hand and walked out of the room.]

Wow, Ginny totally rocks! That was awesome!

[His mother was the only person he knew who would talk about giving Dumbledore a telling-off.]

Ha! That's so Molly! I love how you've captured both her strength and her kindness.

This is an awesome missing scene! It feels like it came from one of JKR's notebooks. I like how you address the background in canon, like Mrs. Weasley's plan for keeping the Trio apart, Ron knowing about Shell Cottage, the ghoul, and yet you also put your stamp on it as an author and make each Weasley come alive and have a moment to shine in this piece. Absolutely wonderful!

Reviewer: Teaspoon_GalDate: 2008-01-04
Reviewid: 150319Chapter: 1
Absolutely wonderful! You have a real talent for writing. I enjoyed this immensely. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2007-12-30
Reviewid: 150276Chapter: 1
This is a very sensitive depiction of Ron and his family and their reaction to his very dangerous role in fighting Voldemort. Arthur is very well described. His comments on his other sons were illuminating and in character. Molly is not annoying and even helps as she tries to hinder. Ron could not have employed the Ghoul as he did without the knowledge and cooperation of the family.

I loved the last scene where the twins are fighting a war with cutlery and Molly stops the battle and shouts that they could put someone's eye out. Perhaps dealing with the twins sharpened Molly's skills for her fight with Bellatrix?

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2007-12-23
Reviewid: 150193Chapter: 1
Oh please continue! This is a very engaging story so far, I must know what happens next :)

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2007-12-22
Reviewid: 150187Chapter: 1
good story
I especially liked the bit about the spare room
at Shell cottage

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2007-12-17
Reviewid: 150169Chapter: 1
“Mild to Lethal Infectious Diseases: Symptoms and (If You’re Lucky) Cures.” This is pure genius! It's so like the titles Rowling gives her fictional texts!

I presume there is more to come? The ending seems so abrupt.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-12-16
Reviewid: 150163Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this story. I think it was well thought-out and that the characterizations and dynamics were right. I especially loved Arthur. I think it was nice how it starts out with the most immature parts of the relationship between Ron and Ginny, which only shows all the more later the parts that really count.

Reviewer: Stella ThomasDate: 2007-12-15
Reviewid: 150158Chapter: 1
I love the ending! This is sweet, and very true to how I could see things happening as Ron prepared to leave.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2007-12-14
Reviewid: 150156Chapter: 1
I loved all the Weasley family interaction here. The parts with Arthur and Bill were my favorites. Good job!

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-12-14
Reviewid: 150152Chapter: 1
Perfectly bitter but more than sweet. Bittersweet is a good word, I suppose. Adorable story . And now I want a bacon sandwich. Darn it.

Reviewer: LilyofthevaleDate: 2007-12-14
Reviewid: 150149Chapter: 1
This is a fantastic story... I love Ron and can't wait to read more

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --