The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hearthlinks
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Vega blackDate: 2008-09-11
Reviewid: 151103Chapter: 14
Well that was an interesting change in style. I liked the future you gave all the characters, including Sally-Anne herself. (You had Cecillia marry Stan Shunpike. You bad girl.) I liked the last sentences. That was a good ending.

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2008-09-11
Reviewid: 151102Chapter: 13
I'm glad you had poor Sally-Anne able to actually take her OWLS. I was getting frustrated with her, bowing down to family domination is one thing, selling your future is another. I liked her moments in the chapel; her thoughts were clear and progressed with logic and emotion. She understands herself. Her letter to Terry was forthright, honest and mature. (To much fanfiction is dominated entirely by romantic motivations.)

I liked how you fit in the last of the Cinderella details, especially the broken toe and bleeding heel. Blaize returns the shoe to her! That's a great twist to the story.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2008-09-06
Reviewid: 151081Chapter: 2
Even though this chapter is a sad one for Sally Anne and her family, I really like it because there is some great background on what it's like for wizards living among Muggles and how careful they have to be about using magic around them. The Perks girls' personalities are already very distinctive, and you're definitely showing how housework is becoming second-nature to Sally Anne, as well as looking after everybody. It's really interesting to see how Julia survives, as well as how Flavian manages to get out of maintaining any real responsibility for his first family. The Wizengamot really have NO idea of how unscrupulous people can be, do they?

Favourite Lines:

~ I coveted a sparkly robe, its fake diamonds flashing all colours of the rainbow, and a pair of high-heeled dancing shoes. - nice foreshadowing here

~ Cressida was scarily tall with long, spiky eyelashes and full, crimson lips. Emerald ear-bobs flashed from under her long, dark curls and there was a sharp-looking emerald brooch on her full bosom. Despite her plump figure, she looked altogether sharp and spiky. - thorns with no rose, mm?

~ I thought of fat, vague, kindly Auntie Begonia, who worked in Grandpa’s bookshop and always had her nose buried in a leather-bound volume. I thought of glamorous, graceful Aunt Odette, who danced in a Muggle ballet company, and of all my grand-aunts, both magical and Muggle. I thought of Great-Grand-Aunt Alexandra Plumpton, who was still agile enough to fly her broomstick to cloud-height by midnight and whose Polishing Charms kept Great-Grand-Uncle Roddy’s Quidditch trophies shining clearer than glass. I knew I could never dislike any of them as much as I disliked Cressida. - it sounds like Sally Anne's family is large and interesting! What a shame her steprelatives have to take up so mch of the story.

Looking forward to reviewing the next chapter!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2008-08-30
Reviewid: 151065Chapter: 12
I think you did an excellent job showing how the DA would look to a student outsider. I'm interested in seeing how the events of book five and later six will look to a student who was never in the DA. You also make us sympathise with her not joining, but how hard is it to be left out, especially when the members are friends. Yet they can not share the information about a secret group that an outsider has refused to join.

Sallie-Anne is very much a Cinderella figure. Her stepmother is truly awfull. I find the situation very frustrating. Neither her mother or father look out for her interests. Is her father impiriused or just obtuse and weak?

I'm looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: StubefiedDate: 2008-08-27
Reviewid: 151058Chapter: 3
Well, I'd say you've done a good job, as I want to punch Cressida in the nose.

Reviewer: magicdustDate: 2008-08-26
Reviewid: 151055Chapter: 1
Once upon a time, I read your story 'Moons of Deciet'.
Let me just say it pretty much made my life when I read it.

I've always been a fan and have been away from the Quill for sometime and I'm back and thrilledto see you're still writing. I always loved your stories.

This one is so interesting too. I love the voice. I'm jealous :C

-A Fan, MD

Reviewer: magicdustDate: 2008-08-26
Reviewid: 151054Chapter: 1
Once upon a time, I read your story 'Moons of Deciet'.
Let me just say it pretty much made my life when I read it.

I've always been a fan and have been away from the Quill for sometime and I'm back and thrilledto see you're still writing. I always loved your stories.

This one is so interesting too. I love the voice. I'm jealous :C

-A Fan, MD

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2008-08-26
Reviewid: 151052Chapter: 10
I've just read this through today in one go. Fantastic! Of course your stories always are. You make all those perimeter characters real.

Reviewer: Vega blackDate: 2008-08-23
Reviewid: 151023Chapter: 8
I'm enjoying this wizarding version of Cinderella. I especially liked her godmother. The charmed dress and the glass slippers who could make you dance well was a very fun detail.

Reviewer: Green ButterflyDate: 2008-08-23
Reviewid: 151019Chapter: 10
What I love about this story is the many issues you've managed to believably combine -- many original or almost original characters, family problems, religion, romance, the inclusion of small and fascinating details, and, with this chapter, wizarding politics. Sally-Anne is wonderfully practical and kind, and you've made it easy to believe that with her incredible amount of stress and responsibilities, she just wouldn't be able to make space for something (the DA) that might or might not be important, but is not as immediate as her usual problems. I feel that Terry should understand this more, but then of course after seeing Harry speak he's obviously inspired and wants Sally-Anne to feel that urgency too. You've done a great job expressing the dynamics of their argument and I look forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2008-08-13
Reviewid: 150930Chapter: 6
It's nice to see these back up at sugar quill. I'm enjoying the story. I'm glad that Zacharius rescued Sally-anne from Blaze.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --