The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Owl Surprise
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: AnnDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92940Chapter: 1
What a cool story! My son is a falconer and we have friends who are also falconers and work with birds of prey. It caught Percy in just the right way - bless his heart.

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85242Chapter: 1
lovely story ... but should you really give away poor Percy's error in the story summary? it's be more fun if the 'is she a witch' line was left out of it, don't you think?

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82891Chapter: 1
Great Percy characterisation; I could just see him having that reaction. The ending made me smile as well. I’d have liked to have seen Dr Coolidge's face!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54750Chapter: 1
Cute! I loved seeing Percy put his foot in his mouth and begin to chew. It was really funny!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35739Chapter: 1
[He wasn't sure which would have been worse: having his father running loose in a Muggle "please-station" trying to rescue him] *snert* I can really picture Mr. Weasley running amuck in a police station!

Poor Percy! And I love the description of the clothes he was wearing. The poor kid tries so hard....

And the ending was a nice twist! Very cute story!

Reviewer: RianaDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18980Chapter: 1
This was too much. Old Percy needs to remember to look before he opens his mouth.

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9473Chapter: 1
Inspired by the review challenge, I'm coming back and leaving a note on some of the stories that I remember really enjoying in my first few months here, when I read tons and didn't leave any reviews.

I smiled when I saw the title again. Your story is both totally plausible and totally ridiculous. It kinda turns things inside out: the dorky wizard meets up with a very cool muggle. Lucky for Percy that Dr. Steward is so open minded.

Thanks,

Erasmas

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9258Chapter: 1
Hi - I really enjoyed reading this story and also the sequel. Your premise was completely fun while still being believable. Your characterization of Percy is spot on! I can totally see Percy reacting like that. I liked Dr. Steward's character as well - very believable.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9233Chapter: 1
I read and loved this story ages ago, and never left a review (shame on me!) so I decided to rectify that oversight.

Percy is one of my favorite characters. It's a treat the way that you've captured all his endearing traits! His earnest eagerness to put his best foot forward and to live up to what he feels are his responsibilities at all times... well, I just want to give him a hug whenever Fred and George start picking on him.

Your description of Percy's "Mugg'e" clothing was priceless and funny. I loved his excitement when he thought that there was "a situation" for him to attend to. And, there was his relief when he thought that it would be sufficient to let "the Muggle" off with a verbal warning. Percy may be a stickler for the rules, but he's not mean or vindictive and you showed that beautifully.

Eva Marie Steward is a delightful person too. Sensible, with such a wonderful sense of humor. Her reaction to Percy's eccentricities made me smile and the way that she covered for him with the policeman made me adore her.

I remember a sequel to this story... off I go to review!

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8892Chapter: 1
> Glancing around to make sure no one had seen his misstep

Hee. Percy must keep up appearances, after all.

Youíve done a wonderful job of capturing Percy in a small vignette. Heís so pompous and pleased with his own self-importance, itís hard not to love him. Heís just the sort who would get himself in a muddle like this :)

The ending is a nice twist. Eva-Marie Steward seems like the best Muggle Percy could have run into under the circumstances!

Reviewer: briteyes 8Date: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 124Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 4/4/02 10:41:06 am)

I just finished reading the two "Owl Surprise" stories, as well as "Fortune Favours the Bold."

First, I'm heavily interested in birds and birding, and have worked with owls before. You did an excellent job of presenting the birds and the people who care for them. Especially in the wake of Harry Potter, people have been trying to make owls into pets... which is a *really* bad idea (for both people and owls!). Not only did you address that (albeit indirectly), but both sections of "Owl Surprise" were really entertaining. Poor, poor, well-meaning Percy....

Secondly, thank you *so* much for the link at the end of "Fortune Favours..."!!! I love tarot, and have been collecting decks for years. You approached the readings in a very realistic way. How perfect Snape's reading was! How fitting that Dumbledore brings up The Fool!

Writing a reading isn't easy--I've tried to do the same in one of my fics (as yet 'unpublished'). Fascinating what you can come up with, isn't it?

Keep up the good work. Can't wait to read your other fics, but it'll have to wait, as I MUST get through that Aeclectica.com first....

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --