The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Spirit Song
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54748Chapter: 3
This was great! Draco got turned into a turtle! Bwwahahaha! And Nevile was the hero! Keep on going!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21698Chapter: 2
I like the "reading" of the tapestry... Neville did handle being with the whales well, I see, as I'd say this has gone well.

And now I have this image of his studying for Potions by rhyming the recipes.... Wonder what Snape would think? (Though I suppose it can't be working yet, as that class is still causing him trouble after second year.)

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21696Chapter: 1
Malfoy on an involuntary Spirit Quest and Neville to the rescue. I love your ideas and the way you've worked the traditions into the HP world....

Mara Sagan keeps making me think of Carl Sagan, for some reason. It's weirdly distracting, though not a problem. I was intrigued by her quick lecture.... here's hoping Neville comes through well, though I imagine he will.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9239Chapter: 3
Neville is a truly brave and decent soul. Of course he never would have abandoned Draco to such a terrible fate. He got all the right ingredients into Basket Woman's soup with patience, cleverness and skill. I really love the appropriate nature of Neville's adopted Grandfather and Spirit Companion. Neville needs help with his memory, and who better to do that than a whale? (Have you ever thought of writing a sequel?)

Oh, I REALLY enjoyed Basket Woman's emergence out of the tapestry, and her reactions to the people she saw. Especially that look at at Draco! :-)

You write such a perfect Lucius... I loved how he had NO CLUE what was happening, even as he was pulled into the tapestry!

Snape was handled brilliantly too. I loved it when he pushed Draco behind him, when confronted by Basket Woman. A beautiful moment. And his curiosity burns unabated. His questions about Spirit Companions are a wonderfully Snapey blend of suspicion and curiosity.

I was pleased and relieved to see Lockhart emerge unscathed. He's a git, but an endearing one.

Dumbledore's remark about rescuing Lucius cracked me up. "He IS on the board of Governors." Funny!

Thank you for writing so many wonderful stories.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9238Chapter: 2
And Neville thinks that he's not brave, or clever, or any sort of a warrior!!! I do love that boy. And I love the way that Singer of Memories and his folk see what's inside of Neville so clearly.

Snape's questions for Sagan were so endearing. I know that Severus is most often compared to a bat, but there are times when I think of him as very cat-like, prowling about, hunting out ever new and fascinating detail that he can discover.

Oh, do you have Lucius NAILED!!! “What is she doing, dancing around with feathers in her hair and paint on her face? We’re talking about a primitive artifact, made by a backward bunch of savages. Modern magic was proven superior centuries ago, and we are wasting our time standing here while some witch doctor shakes a rattle and chants some mumbo-jumbo.” Nasty, superior, but still worried about his child.

Your description of Singer of Memories' village and his people were so beautifully described. I especially liked the way that everything shifted about in Neville's perceptions. Lovely!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9236Chapter: 1
I think I've mentioned how much I love this story. It was one of the very first ones that my sons and I read on Sugarquill. I printed the story out for my mother to read as well. I was too shy to leave reviews then, but I'm not too shy any more, so here I go...

This is one of the first (and best!) Neville-centric stories I ever read. You have him perfect! His quiet courage, his determination to do what's right even if he's afraid... the poor kid's lack of self-confidence. Neville's one of my favorites and it's so satisfying to see him written by someone who knows him like you do!

Of course everyone else is handled perfectly too. Lockhart is very "it's all about ME," Draco is an obnoxious brat, Sprout is calm and competent, Dumbledore calmly goes about his business, and Snape and McGonagall clearly care deeply about their students. And Sagan is an interesting and delightful person! You have a wonderful way with orginal characters!

(I loved the line about the potlatch/pot party!)

Reviewer: FrangelicahDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 120Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 3/18/02 12:08:01 am)

I just finished reading Spirit Song and enjoyed it a lot. While I'm unfamiliar with Native American mythology, it was nevertheless interesting to read about it. Basket Woman is pretty frightening. She kind of reminds me of those 'Wicked Witch' characters that we encounter in fairy tales. In this case she reminded me of the witch who wanted to eat Hansel and Gretel. Good on Neville for going to Malfoy's rescue! I like fics that show the braver side of Neville rather than his clumsiness.

Reviewer: HecateDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 119Chapter: 1
(Originally posted 1/10/02 9:18:57 am)

Lovely! I really enjoyed Neville's reactions to the new world he's entered and how you rather quietly stripped him of his wand (which would only confuse him further, here, I'm sure). Grandfather draws out Neville's strength and shores up his weaknesses in a way that Lupin would appreciate, too. I hope that Neville will remember to add singing to his Potions repertoire when he returns.

Given Neville's progress within the tapestry world, I'm eager to see what kind of ruckus Lucius Malfoy is about to perpetrate back at Hogwarts -- silly prat -- and how he is to be prevented from endangering the children still further.

Hecate

Reviewer: SadaSteelDate: 2002-07-28
Reviewid: 118Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 1/8/02 12:06:20 am)

Spirit Quest:

I am really enjoying this so far. You are including research and knowledge from another culture without tokenizing it. I can't wait to see what the spirit quest has in store for Draco and Malfoy.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 14Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 1/10/02 10:43:21 am)

What a refreshing story. I'm enjoying it very much. It's so wonderful to see Neville's confidence being bolstered by his interaction with Grandfather and it was fun to see Malfoy get his. Neville's Gryffindor traits are showing. I love that. Can't wait to see how his plan works. Is it possible for Lucius Malfoy to get sucked in there too?

Reviewer: HecateDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 12Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 1/10/02 9:18:57 am)

Lovely! I really enjoyed Neville's reactions to the new world he's entered and how you rather quietly stripped him of his wand (which would only confuse him further, here, I'm sure). Grandfather draws out Neville's strength and shores up his weaknesses in a way that Lupin would appreciate, too. I hope that Neville will remember to add singing to his Potions repertoire when he returns.

Given Neville's progress within the tapestry world, I'm eager to see what kind of ruckus Lucius Malfoy is about to perpetrate back at Hogwarts -- silly prat -- and how he is to be prevented from endangering the children still further.

Hecate

Reviewer: Catherine CookDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 8Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 12/21/01 10:59:13 pm)

Seldes, this is wonderful! And the Pacific Northwest setting is a surprise -- I thought for sure, when we talked about this, that you'd be doing a story about the Dineh. Can't wait to see little old pampered-brat Malfoy on a Spirit Quest! Neville will be much better prepared emotionally for this.

Reviewer: SydPadDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 6Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 12/21/01 11:34:26 am)

Oh Seldes, what a wonderful opening (the new story with Draco and Neville)!!! I've adored your shorter stories and really hoped you'd write something longer... Is this story set to follow the classic folk tale pattern of the good sister/bad sister, with the bad sister insulting everyone who could help her, and the good sister winning through by politeness and her good heart? What a terrific setting for Neville to shine in! Can't wait to read the rest!

And I'd like to plug "Fortune Favors the Bold" for any Snape fans who haven't read it! Terrific characterization and shudderingly accurate tarot reading...

Reviewer: JulianeSDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 5Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 12/21/01 8:49:53 am)

Wonderful! I love the detail you put into this story, and the way you bring out Neville's particular brand of courage. And I'm glad you trapped Lockhart in the weaving - he so deserves it.

I'll be on the watch for more of this story - it, and your writing style, are a pleasure to read.

Reviewer: HecateDate: 2002-07-23
Reviewid: 4Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 12/20/01 11:45:48)

What a wonderful beginning! I love Neville stories, and this looks *so* promising. You've done it again, Seldes Katne, and betwitched us all.

I particularly like the way Neville has to interrupt everyone to make his very brave offer, and the way Mara treats him with such respect.

::sitting back happily and smiling, waiting for more::

Hecate

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --