The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Rat's Tale
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89094Chapter: 1
Uh-oh... Continue! Please! PLEEEEAASE! Or I'll get Sirius to do puppydog eyes at you! He's a dog Animagus, puppydog eyes are an ART to him!

Reviewer: azrionaDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64992Chapter: 1
How sweet! I loved every second of this, and I canít tell you how sorry I am that thereís no continuation. (Or is there, and Iím just too blind and inexperienced on SQ to find it?) I really liked how you showed Peter here, as a sweet little man, a bit bumbling but otherwise good-hearted. I liked that heíd freeze the ashwinder eggs and leave them where Molly would find them, as well as try to reassure Ginny that itís perfectly okay for him to be in the kitchen!

I hope you do find the time to finish this story, or at least continue it a bit more. It looks like it will be a lot of fun.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27152Chapter: 1
Very interesting. I liked the descriptions of the food :D and of Ginny in what seems to be George's hand-me-downs. Wormtail pawing through the food with his fingers was kind of squicky, tho! :-p

Reviewer: PallasCatDate: 2003-03-03
Reviewid: 22529Chapter: 1
after reading it, the first adjective that popped into my mind was 'cute!' It was very cute, and, heh, I just happen to be one of Charlie's many adoring fan girls! ^_^ I didn't find anything that I might suggest you work on, so I guess praise is all you're going to get! -PallasCat, who is now appretiating Scabbers a bit more....

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9606Chapter: 1
HA! I always wondered about the character of a man who could spend twelve years living as a small rodent. Very funny, with a realistic Peter Pettigrew.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6156Chapter: 1
This first chapter is great. Really great. The Ashwinder added a wonderful FBaWtFT touch and the fake wand and the clock made the house more real. Your descriptions of both Peter and Ginny were spot on (I suspect that Ginny was younger in this fic...?) Great chapter.

PleasepleasepleasePLEASE continue this fic - I lurve it to death - Plus, it portays Peter in a good light. There are SO FEW good fics like that - Keep up the good work!


Emily

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3415Chapter: 1
Well done! I hope there's an update soon... The chance meeting reminds me of when little CindyLou Who catches the Grinch...I can't wait to see how he wiggles out of this.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2490Chapter: 1
Bittersweet, you've got such a great eye for details and it shows in your story. So many things we typically forget about the Weasley household from the books are loving strewn about here to great effect: the Ghoul in the attic (I'd forgotten all about that!) and the clock, for example. Not to mention the FOOD! Had my stomach growling for a midnight snack (and it's just about that time, too).

<<"Oh, bloody Hell, wrong wand.">> LOL! Very in character for Peter, too. A nice touch that shows his incompetent, blundering self.

Why does Peter have 2 wands? What on earth was he doing with the Ashwinder eggs and why would he want Molly to find them? (Awfully narcissistic of him to try and sneak them in under "P" or "W", if you ask me!)

Ginny happening upon him, chubby, greedy arms wrapped around half her mum's larder: priceless! (Busted!) (Made me want to clobber him with a drumstick) I'm guessing Ginny must be rather young here.

Great beginning; I'm keen to see where you take this.

Axelle :)

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2230Chapter: 1
I don't know if you are aware of it yet but you have been placed on the weekly bookshelf review list. A group of us got together and decided that those of us on the bookshelf don't get enough readers to notice us. Therefore, we have decided each week to pick someone. You are week two! So here goes.

I just love your description of Peter. A Rat all the way no doubt about it. Is this story placed prior to Harry becoming a part of the Weasley's life? Sounded like it based on your description of Ginny. Question: Doesn't Percy have his own room? It is just super the way you show how kind the Weasley's are to Peter and how full of betrail he is. I don't think he saved them from fire to save them, he did it to keep getting food and shelter! RAT! Have you thought about putting into the story how he ended up at there in the first place. I've often wondered about that.

Please keep it up I would like to read more.

If you find yourself liking the idea of reviews please fill free to read the first on the SQ review list: Ancient Prophecy by RavenSnape. Yes that's me go figure. We all have to blow our own horns sometime.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: wahleeDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2194Chapter: 1
You've got a very interesting setup here. I never really thought about Wormtail changing back in the middle of the night and raiding the kitchen, but I'm sure he did, now that I think about it.

Now, how is going to get rid of Ginny (who must be wearing George's pajamas. . .lol)?

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2191Chapter: 1
I like the rhythem of the first paragraph. The short first sentences, followed by the more complex ones detailing Scabbers&#8217; journey, is really effective.

>The rat lumbered slowly into the kitchen

LOL, this is a great, funny image.

The details are wonderful &#8211; especially Scabber&#8217;s watching the hands change on the clock.

>"Oh, Molly Weasley, your cooking is magic of the best kind."
This makes me simply DESPISE Peter.

>The man smiled nervously and stammered, "Ah... Hello Ginny, I'm... er... Wormtail. I'm a friend of your brothers."

Oh dear! What a great cliffhanger &#8211; I&#8217;m desperate to know what happens!

This is a great beginning &#8211; I love the scenario. It&#8217;s unique and interesting, and this scene, at least, plays like a slightly sicker version of &#8216;The Grinch Who Stole Christmas!&#8217; You&#8217;ve written a great Peter. I like his sneakiness and especially his greed. You've obviously put a lot of thought and effort into the details, and it really makes the story engaging - wonderful job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --