The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sorceror's Endgame
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Sean KellyDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142656Chapter: 4
Brilliant chapter, though your JKs characters a getting a bit dull, even I, the dimwit, could make sense of most of the prophecy.

Reviewer: FranDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120361Chapter: 17
There are some loose ends like, what happens to Lee, will Fred stay MIA for ever, how do Harry and Ginny cope with hearing each others thoughts day in, day out, its a rather scary idea. Will Harry and Ginny have children, if they do, a boy has to be called James or Albus, even if it is what everyone else does! But a sequel isn't really necessary, sometimes its nicer to be left wondering. I agree about the animagus scene being a bit odd, but I'd always imagined that the wizard/witch doesn't choose what they transform into and it reflects thier character and abilities(that rat!). I really enjoyed reading all three stories, especially all the little details about the food and the bathroom Harry designs. The description of Bali makes me want to go visit it too, I assume you've been/lived there from the way you talk. I hope you write more stories.

Reviewer: RPFDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111938Chapter: 17
That was... stunning. Incredibly well written, and addictive. The way you wrote Draco was amazing and now I'm just... completely obsessed. I loved seeing so many of our beloved characters, not only Harry, Hermione and Ron. Great characterizations, too. Good job! Cheers!

Reviewer: RicardoDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104434Chapter: 17
The story is nearly perfect, the negative point is the time, you really have no time to do other things, you think of the story and you want to be in front of your computer. :-)

Reviewer: B. J. TurkDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102936Chapter: 17
Of this series, I can think of only one word to describe it: extraordinary! Quite an intricately-woven tapestry of uncommon depth and breadth, it stays true to canon (prior to OotP anyway) while taking most characters in directions appropriate but not anticipated and detailing a history credible but not yet in canon. I truly enojoyed every chapter of all three stories, and have yet to be disappointed by any of the stories that I've read thus far.

Penpusher, you are a very talented writer and I look forward to reading more of your work. I can tell that this series was a great deal of work by more than its length. Your plotting, puzzles and characterizations show tremendous skill and attention to detail. Keep up the wonderful work!

Reviewer: Adria JaneDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59685Chapter: 17
Found a loose end!!!!! Need to know what the hell is with the rose and malfoy!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: LoresDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56912Chapter: 1
Love the title. I first read an Edding's book when I was 13, I got the first two books of the Belgariad for Chrismas. A couple of years later I was able to buy all of them. They are still some of my favorite books and I am trying to get them all in hard cover, about half way there.

Reviewer: s dhillonDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54704Chapter: 1
i think this was a great story and i hope you keep writing

Reviewer: jsquaredDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54300Chapter: 1
Hi, Penpusher! Love your stories, but think that Sorcerer's endgame stands in a league of it's own. It actually makes the earlier stories in the series look weak, by comparison. (no offence meant) I never thought that you would actually pursue the idea of a Singaporean Quidditch team and I do like what you came up with. Anyway, thanks for the great writing!

Reviewer: kLynDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48024Chapter: 17
I thoroughly enjoyed this extremely well-written, intriguing series. Good characters, interesting relationships, suspenseful plots. Particularly liked the twists and turns in Draco's life.

Reviewer: GawaineDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46844Chapter: 1
Great story. In answer to your note at the end - I'd say you did leave a few loose-ends, but please don't tie them up! Part of what makes HP a good story in general is that there are so many things to wonder about - fics that try to explain everything aren't great reads.

It was great to see the characters growing, each in their own way. As it wound down, I was a little afraid that all of the characters would wind up having the same resolution, to tie up loose ends, but I appreciated that at least some of the characters didn't wind up in ships. With the diversity of characters you had developed and the tone of the book, it would have been hard to believe that all of them had as their most important challenge to end up in a mass wedding.

Reviewer: MaelokDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44891Chapter: 17
Excellent job on all three stories.

Reviewer: LoopyLooneyDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40300Chapter: 17
you never told us what happened to Lee

Reviewer: PenpusherDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25198Chapter: 1
Hi PBS Jones,
Thanks lots for your interest and your comments. I really appreciate your feedback.
None of these stories was betaed when published here at Sugarquill, and I only realised my mistake in relying totally on my own resources to proofread etc. much too later in the day. The first of the three "A Most Ingenious Paradox" has been revised and many parts completely re-written with the help of Becky (aka williara of Gryffindor Tower). The revised version is now up at Sugarquill, GT and also at Schnoogle. We're working on "By the Pricking of my Thumbs" at present, and we'll eventually get to "Sorcerors' Endgame", but don't hold your breath - it's a long process!
I aim to subject "SE" to a major overhaul. I suspect it was written too quickly and without enough pause for thought over the possibilities of the plot. I felt it was more like a chess game than a story; more like Agatha Christie than Thomas Hardy. Personally, I dislike the "everyone's an Animagus" scene intensely and I may get rid of it entirely, if I can find some way of replacing it. It seems to show both Harry and Draco in a very bad light - staging a pissing contest over a girl when the balance of the world is at stake! It negates my efforts to give them both some dignity in an undignified situation.
Anyway, thanks for your feedback.

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24961Chapter: 1
Dearest Penpusher, you know I love your stories!

You've created yet another rousing adventure. Fred comes into his own here, while you introduce the new and improved Draco quite believably. And Oliver finally gets the girl!

You're new OC's were very interesting; Syrinx, beatiful and mysterious, Wise Guru, secretive Julie and scary/love sick Katia (okay, she's not so new.) I really got a kick out of Mouse -- I pictured him as the guy who played Tank in "The Matrix."

One thing I found odd was a surprising amount of typos! Misspelled words, and words that were just plain missing. Really unusual.

I was thrown a bit with what I call the "everyone's an animagus!" scene...but thought it pretty funny that Harry realized what a conspicuous animal he had chosen. Makes me wonder if he went on a bit of an ego trip making his decision.

Your descriptions of Bali, both the landscape and the political climate, were wonderful and really helped with the context of the story. I can only guess that you've been there, and that at least some of the buildings that you describe really exist.

Now I have several things to wonder about: What will Harry and Ginny do with their new-found power? Will we see more of Fred and Syrinx? What is to become of Draco? And Ron as a daddy --Oh boy....or girl!

Oh, and your surprise Sabrina crossover was delightful!

Reviewer: keelyDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22193Chapter: 17
Wow... what can I say? This series of 3 stories is absolutely amazing! I had been reading the first one on GT, impatiently waiting for each new chapter. Imagine my delight when I found the whole story here, and more!

Your writing is incredible. The characters are believable and yet not cliche. The plots of your stories are intricate and exciting. I was hard pressed to take a break from reading. Your original characters were great too, especially Katia. Each story was better than the one before.

Thanks for many hours of reading enjoyment!

-Keely

Reviewer: PeachesDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21411Chapter: 17
Penpusher, I loved your series. I think that there are a few "loose ends" that you could write another little ditty about. (wink) We really don't know what happened to Oliver and Julie other than the fact that they're together, but did she finally admit her feelings...we don't know yet. What happened to Lee and Ellen? What were all the weddings like? The "Mole in the Ministry"? I think that you'd be able to get another story out about all that kind of stuff. I just wanted to tell you that I really loved this series again and that it's right at the top of my list of favorites, second only to "After the End" by Arabella and Zsenya. Great fanfic hopefully there can be more...
Peaches~

Reviewer: PenpusherDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 20049Chapter: 1
Hi midejitsu,
What a wonderful accolade! I will treasure your interest and appreciation. Thank you.

Reviewer: midejitsuDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19732Chapter: 17
I am absolutely awed. I stumbled over this trilogy, because the first chapters of it have just now appeared on gt.net. What can I say -- it saddens me that this amazing tale had to come to an (however happy) end. I was riveted for approximately the last 24 hours (minus sleep). This has to be one of the most touching, exciting and satisfying stories I ever read (Fan fiction or otherwise).

Penpusher -- I know the chances of you reading this comment are slim, but I have to express my gratitude. Reading your works was an immensely enjoyable experience. Thank you.

Reviewer: linaDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18605Chapter: 17
I'm so sad it's over...Maybe you could write another sequel.
I felt so sorry about Draco.I think he was punished enough for what he did...I'm allowed to change the end and imagine that Ginny stayed with him,ain't I?
What can I say,I'm a total Draco fan...
If you ever write a D/G story,either it's based on your series or is about something else,please let me know,I beg you.I like your way of portraying the both of them.

Reviewer: Lee SteeleDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2252Chapter: 17
I enjoyed all your stories and wish you would write more. I am not quailitied to review anything, just wanted to let you know how much I liked them. lee

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --