The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Prelude to a Curse
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: hollow_now_goneDate: 2008-03-13
Reviewid: 150621Chapter: 1
OMW! I.... WoW! That was amazing! I thought... it took me a bit to realize Tommy = Voldemort but WoW that was great! Makes complete sense that he'd be the one to start all that.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136498Chapter: 1
An Interesting take.

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126621Chapter: 1
Pleasent...well written as always1

Reviewer: fairy-haDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114493Chapter: 1
Your fic was really very well written. Congratualtions. I just wanted to point something out though. I realise this is just fiction, but im uncomfortable with presuming that 'evil' characters are evil as early as childhood - usually there are events in their lives uptil dulthood that determine a persons character. I especially cannot believe that any child, however 'angry' would have the innate evilness (that JK implied was needed in OotP) to perform the killing curse. It's a small point but important, i think.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114282Chapter: 1
Oooooo....that's creepy, lol. Wright....my one teacher's name is Wright....I think he first name Joan....that's creepy too. But I'm not 100% sure on the first name. Nice work.

~G

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108138Chapter: 1
You're good at understatement, aren't you? Simple but eerie. Just a bit of dialogue, but it puts the reader's hair on end.

Reviewer: WilliamDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107007Chapter: 1
I really liked this story. the way you made the children say abrakadabra wrong. Its very Original

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94381Chapter: 1
Oooh...creepy. I like it!

Reviewer: MarieDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61736Chapter: 1
WOW!!!!! that was.. that was just.. that.. oh well, it left me speechless.. really imaginative and very well written!! *wow* i love it, gives the curse a whole new aura *lol* thx for sharing!!!

hugs from AUT

marie (c",)

Reviewer: SasDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56363Chapter: 1
Ummmm......WOW! Ruddy Brilliant, you are! Hey, I wonder what Dumbledore was like in preschool. *Wanders off to write.*

Sas

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55480Chapter: 1
Wow!
That is a really eery fic. I REALLY likedit hough. I can't wait to read some of you rother fics!

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53599Chapter: 1
Okay. First of all, that told us exactly nothing about how "Avada kedavra" originated, so maybe you should revise the despription. Secondly... wow. That was creepy. And they don't often advertise "no apparent cause of death" in an obituary. Thay'd chalk it up to heart failure.

And finally... damn. That was creepy. And really, really sick.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46167Chapter: 1
<shocked>on my goodness...that was really something!when tommy said avada kedavra, my heart virtually stopped!<shudders>excellent work!

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43520Chapter: 1
A chilling tale! I love your short fics - you manage to say so much in just a few well-chosen words. Very naturalistic use of dialogue.

Reviewer: Pagal LadkiDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26620Chapter: 1
freaky...

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23746Chapter: 1
(: Creepy and funny at the same time. To have something that powerful begin so simply, so...harmlessly, really, until Tommy <g> had a tantrum.

Reviewer: ShelaghCDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23744Chapter: 1
*Very* good short short! Although I could see what was coming as soon as I saw the name of the little boy, it was still extremely well done. And I loved the ending.

Keep up the good work!

Shelagh
impressed

Reviewer: percivalDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23164Chapter: 1
Tom is really in character here. I like the switch between children's banter and formal notice.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19283Chapter: 1
That's was surely something and to think that I think that that Tommy-boy is actually Tom Marvalo Riddle.

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14426Chapter: 1
wow!!! that was a nice story, not that it was nice to read somebody died, but it's great to be tom's childhood!!!!

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13464Chapter: 1
*lol* Three cheers for everyone's second-favorite orphan ...

Reviewer: HazelynDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9288Chapter: 1
I dont know if it was meant to be funny but I thought it was side-slitting funny! heh! I enjoyed lol. And I must point out that no-one should ever be forced into wearing a wizard hat espically if they dont want it! (from experience! It involved a furious little ball of me stomping around wrecking the party!) Nice work

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2002-11-02
Reviewid: 7879Chapter: 1
Very very creative! I loved it! (although probably not real)

Reviewer: C-MageDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6528Chapter: 1
Whoa...creepy. It makes sense, though, in a way. I like how you can only tell what's going on through the talking, though, because there's not really any action part to it. And having 'Tommy' make it up like that.... Did her purposely mispronounce it, or is it on purpose? And does his anger and loathing to the person enforce the spell so that he creates it? And are the wands actually real...? Too many questions. ~ C-Mage

Reviewer: WerrfDate: 2002-09-09
Reviewid: 3569Chapter: 1
How do you do that? Give us such a lovely image of children playing, even when we know how it's going to end. And speaking of the end...well, how do you do it?

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 2009Chapter: 1
That's nice and pleasant and creepy...very creative...and disturbing...good story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --