The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-06-30
Reviewid: 143844Chapter: 1
Oh, wow, I love this fic! I love how you made Sirius's mother into a really nice character.

Reviewer: NoraDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134054Chapter: 1
Now THIS was a good story. it's so happy!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134017Chapter: 1
Okay, I'm a little confused here. No no, don't get me wrong, I loved the story. It was brilliant. I was confused about Sirius's family how...nice, they were. I didn't really check, but you probably wrote this BEFORE OOTP. That why you have no idea what his family really WAS like. But, overall, SWEET!

Reviewer: RandiDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129449Chapter: 1
I loved this fic! I think that based on what we know of Sirius and Remus from their Hogwarts days that it seems very realistic. It was also very amusing. My favorite line was: "He loved animals and wished his parents would let him have a dog – and he really wanted a hippogriff when he grew up." Very sweet. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Nikki, PoSDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128123Chapter: 1
I loved that-it had humor, friendship, emotion, ect. Well written.

Reviewer: CyndiDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124446Chapter: 1
This story was really good.

As I sat here reading and laughing at some of the parts I got some really strang looks, but I do remember how my little brother tried to pull some of those pranks on me and our older sister. I have to admit that I am really glad that stink pelletts were unheard of that many years ago.

At the end when Mr. Lupin was talking to Sirius I almost cried, because I had that kind of friend myself. and after 20 years we still try to get into doing new things.

Thank you for writing such a wonderful story.

I really loved it.

Reviewer: saumyaDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113743Chapter: 1
this is really cute...best sirius-remus hogwarts era fic i have read..u capture their emotions very well...i really admire all ur works......keep writing

Reviewer: BunnyDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106726Chapter: 1
i "aww"ed practically the whole story!! it was so cute !! wow you r very good at this!!!i hope u can write more great fics like this!

Reviewer: Alana Hikari-chanDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102313Chapter: 1
^-^ Waaaai~! The WAFF has swamped me, and I'm perfectly happy about it. ^-^ There's nothing to crit, since I'm assuming this was written before you read OotP, and thus didn't know about the Blacks being dark. I love Rimi's parents, I love Siri in his entirety, and I'm currently a fluff-speckled puddle of happy sap at the cuteness of this beautifully-written story.
Luff!

Reviewer: jazzypomDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99037Chapter: 1
I laughed. I really like this story - Sirius is really an invertibrate prankster, isn't he?

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97545Chapter: 1
Hey, this was a really good story! I'm guessing it was written before OotP came out since your portrayal of the Black home was rather nicer than what we eventually found out it was.

Ah... true friendship! Nothing like it! This was sweet and touching. I like the part about Sirius wishing he could have a dog. Wait and see, Paddy-boy, wait and see. *snicker!*

I'd like to see a fic where Remus' parents get to meet James and Peter too.

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94822Chapter: 1
EEEEEEEEE! THAT WAS SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVED IT! TWO OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS AS LITTLE BOYS DEVELOPING A BEAUTIFUL FRIENDSHIP....ahhh it's perfect!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86688Chapter: 1
I can't remember if I reviewed this story before or not, but I have certainly read it once or twice previously! It's absolutely great, but...

I must ask, do you intend to update it slightly like you did with "A most unusual student?" I mean, so that the part involving Sirius' family is a bit more, er... well, you know what I mean.

Still a marvelous story though, you really create the characters for me, the stuff I have read of yours carries over into canon for me, especially the relationship between Poppy and Remus that had to have existed.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75892Chapter: 1
Nice outtake. If only I wasn't so tired.

D'you think you can update this one too?

Reviewer: Carrot13Date: 2003-11-24
Reviewid: 60632Chapter: 1
Excellent!! Wonderful!! Brilliant!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this story! ^___^ I do hope there's more to come from this story! It made Lupin seem so sute as a young lad, as well as Sirius. Continue with the great work on fanfics!

Reviewer: sirius starDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57870Chapter: 1
Aww! This was so well written and funny. Even though Sirius's real family life wasn't like that you made your version very believeable. I let out a huge gasp when I read that someone had even suggested to put Lupin out of his misery. This was a really great fic.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57592Chapter: 1
Wow. That was absolutely beautiful. You have truly captured the innocence and honesty and earnest hope that only a 12 year old can feel. I cried my little eyes out when Sirius was begging them not to let him stay home, and when Remus turned around and looked at him....it was really too much. Absolutely beautiful.

Reviewer: DaxDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47147Chapter: 1
This is perhaps the greatest fic I have ever heard, I truly love it.

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45344Chapter: 1
What an amazing story! It seems so... so real. I can see the characters as actual people, all of them. And I love reading from Mr. Lupin's POV. His love for Remus and his wife, his concern and protectiveness, combined with his excellent sense of humor make him a wonderfully believable father. I am not a parent myself, and in accordance with the universal laws of teenagers I have no clue what is running through my parents' heads, but your portrayal of Gwen and Edmund was touching and seemed like it could be very accurate.

Everything here was brilliant, but Sirius just shone. Ignoring the new information from OotP, I'd say this is a nearly perfect characterization of him. He made me laugh at his hilarious interactions with his cousins, and almost cry when he asked the Lupins to make Remus return to school. I may be a sap, but I love having my emotions manipulated, and your writing does it beautifully. This little fic has to be one of my favorites.

Cat

Reviewer: RiaDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42754Chapter: 1
oooooh...is this a one chapter thing or are you gonna continue? PLEASE continue!

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42438Chapter: 1
I think this was a wonderful story. It's nice to think of Remus as having such nice parents :) Great job!

Reviewer: ankita suriDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41648Chapter: 1
this was a great story. It showed from edmund's p.o.v so it seemed different and didn't remind me of what happened in the o.o.t.p

Reviewer: annDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41464Chapter: 1
cool story. i really liked it. are u going 2 write more?

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33822Chapter: 1
You handle the Lupins' fierce love for Remus in a matter-of-fact, charmingly unsentimental way. It's hard to handle love as it really feels--there's a tendency to romanticize and "Hallmark" it--but in this story, like the others, there is a sense of genuine love and acceptance, not simply a theory of it. How painful it must be to watch your child be excluded from the world for something that isn't his fault, and what a joy to see him accepted, warts and all, by a charming and affectionate friend.

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32483Chapter: 1
aww very cute. i love stories w/ Sirius and Remus' friendship, pre-POA and post-POA! great job :)

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32422Chapter: 1
I love this story. It's well written and I love the father's POV. I think it's the parent in me who appreciates your story the most.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31260Chapter: 1
This was such a great story! I was just about to cry happy tears at the end. I love how you portrayed the Lupins as caring, compassionate parents. I have read too many stories where Remus was ignored or abused by his family. I think he deserves better than that, considering how the rest of his life turns out...
And the characterization of Young!Sirius and Remus were absolutely realisitc. I have babysat for many boys around this age, and they really are *that* full of energy. They love to joke and prank, but are still good kids.
Again, this story was a joy to read. One of my favorites.

Reviewer: Mystic TopazDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29043Chapter: 1
I loved it!! So charming that Sirius!!! I am glad that we get to know the pain of Remus' parents when their child is "ill". Beautifully written. Kudos!!!

Reviewer: ZaDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27673Chapter: 1
Very very good story. Tuching. Your chatozation is perfacit. And although I don't see eather Jaims or Sirse as being able to bet Snape at potions-this was a pure plsesur to read. to read.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24968Chapter: 1
Oh....it's so nice to know that Remus had such wonderful parents (well, we don't *really* know, but it's nice to see a story portraying it!). I loved it and Sirius is *such* a boy :)

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24966Chapter: 1
WOW. That was awesome. Remus and Sirius are both so cool! I can just see Sirius driving his family up the wall that way. Is Norman's girlfriend related to Rita Skeeter....? That's all I could think when I saw "really revolting long pink fingernails." I wish I had Remus's parents.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24529Chapter: 1
Just finished reading your "Friendship" and decided to read this to cheer me up--everyone said it was very good. I am in a much better mood now. This is great. :-)

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21615Chapter: 1
This is really funny!

Reviewer: phdruDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20697Chapter: 1
Oh! that was so, so sweet! Adorable Sirius and Remus micheif-making. *grin* Luffly.

Reviewer: fable2112Date: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17441Chapter: 1
Ohhhhh....*melts*

"I have worked in the legal profession for nearly twenty years. The law is made up of words, they are the tools of my trade: the nuances of a delicate letter, the precision of contract terms, the presentation of a case in court, the preparation of a complex will. I pride myself on my composure, my ability to respond in appropriately measured terms and find the correct phrases for the most trying situations. And yet somehow I could not find a reply to these simple heartfelt words of a twelve-year-old boy."

This made me cry.

Thankfully, Sirius's antics made me laugh, so I'm not still sitting in front of my computer bawling.

Kudos for your portrayals of everyone involved - I've read far too many Mean!Lupins stories of late, and it was so refreshing to see one that had poor little Remus in a nice, caring, compassionate family.

Another thing I especially appreciate: THANK YOU for showing Sirius's true intelligence. So many fics portray him as so into mischief (or girls, or girls AND boys) that he basically doesn't study, which I find to be very much at odds with what we see and hear about Sirius in canon.

I simply can't find any fault with this story, and that's saying quite a bit. :)

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16209Chapter: 1
errr...another one I haven't reviewed already? I am suitably ashamed,
especially since I've read it several times when I was looking for a
good laugh (: You write wonderfully (:

Reviewer: DanaDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15211Chapter: 1
Wow! Great job! This really does Remus and Sirius justice. I would love to see more of these!

Reviewer: nikkiDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12859Chapter: 1
OMG that was soooo sweet, you should do another one with james at remus's house

Reviewer: Lady CinnibarDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12684Chapter: 1
Wow! I like it! I've never read another story set this way before! It's great! Well told tale!

Reviewer: bookwrm1989Date: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12575Chapter: 1
Perfect! A masterpiece! I really really love it! If you could, PLEASE WRITE MORE!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9719Chapter: 1
I love your Remus stories! There is such love and tenderness in your writing, especially when describing the world of pre-teen boys. I love how Sirius has a Muggle chemistry set and likes to explore and thinks girls are yucky (the part with the bra-too funny!). I also like the running inner monologue Edmund Lupin has going. Particularly the lines: "Under that untidy hair, Sirius was a very good-looking boy, and I had no doubt that in a few years’ time he would find that girls would become very interested in him." "

"So you naturally decided that today it would be very – ah – prudent to visit Remus?" I did admire his sense of self-preservation - clearly he appreciated the need for what aurors term a "strategic withdrawal".

There's such a delightful mix of humor and drama in your stories. I like how theseriousness of Remus's condition and his parents' concern for his first forays into outside friendships is balanced with Sirius causing mayhem. I also love just how cool and loving Edmund and Gwen are. They appreciate a good joke in good fun (Love Mr. Lupin's tips to avoid detention!) and yet there is such an ease about their relationship together. You really believe that the Lupins are a loving, caring family. Edmund and Gwen are real people and they bring a smile to my face. I haven't left a review yet for your Remus-Poppy story (which I am in love with) but the way you describe the Lupins and Poppy just makes me want to go home and call my mom. I am absolutely in love with the Lupin famility and can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9617Chapter: 1
Cute but not sappy! A fun read that also provides an insightful look at the life of a young werewolf's parents. Nicely done!

Reviewer: Camilla BloomDate: 2002-10-09
Reviewid: 5771Chapter: 1
Finally someone who doesn't forget that Sirius is brilliant! I've come across countless fics (ah, those Slytherins) that depict him as stupid, arrogant, mean and what have you not.
Very movingly written, very very good!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-10-08
Reviewid: 5746Chapter: 1
haha! I loved the characterizations of Sirius and Remus. O, GOD, do I love Remus!! I especially liked how you showed the love his parents had for him, as well as Sirius's friendship. And the commotion before Mr. Lupin and Sirius left for Lupin Lodge...I busted out laughing!! What an excellent fic!

Reviewer: BaiLingDate: 2002-08-08
Reviewid: 1406Chapter: 1
Yes--yet another connecting story. I love you guys--you really make these characters come alive. I have a huge soft spot for the Marauders (young and old) and the descriptions of Sirius' and Remus' antics as boys are perfect. I particularily enjoyed the part where Mr. Lupin looks out for Sirius and drags him to the fireplace with great haste. Very funny.

Reviewer: sasha b.Date: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 851Chapter: 1
i found this story so utterly enjoyable and sweet. i especially loved the part when sirius tells them of his wish for a pet dog and for a hippogriff when he grows up! cool foreshadowing, there. :}

Reviewer: J. MeschDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 741Chapter: 1
I love this story!! It's my favorite of all
the fanfiction I've read (and I've read a lot).
Please write more! :)

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 372Chapter: 1
I had a long day today so I read a lot of fic on this site (and am now trying to conscientiously review).

But of all the ones I read today, and it must have been dozens, few have moved me as much as this short piece. I think you are going to be one of my favorite authors. Remus, and especially Sirius are my two favorite characters, and it is wonderful (and rare) to read a fic that keeps them both in character and young, not sounding like 30-year olds in 12-yr old bodies.

This made me tear up a bit, it was so lovely...Brava!

Reviewer: EdnaDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 297Chapter: 1
wow that was a really great and well written story

Reviewer: IdlePhoenixDate: 2002-07-27
Reviewid: 46Chapter: 1
This is a great story! It works perfectly with Thing1's story line. I love stories about the old gang!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --