The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Friendship
Review(s): 62

Reviewer: alzinkaDate: 2006-09-03
Reviewid: 145157Chapter: 1
No, I must correct my comment a little..I've read it few times because of my translation attempt..and I cried whenever I flicked through it. That's the only fanfiction story, which has made it to me..

Reviewer: alzinkaDate: 2006-09-03
Reviewid: 145156Chapter: 1
I tryied to translate it in my language..and half the story cryied. Unbelievably touching, depressing..but wonderful.

Reviewer: LilyannaDate: 2006-06-29
Reviewid: 143832Chapter: 1
Wow. That was one of the most heartwrenching stories I've ever read. I'm astounded. The amazing bond you have created between Sirius and Remus has touched me throughout your many enjoyable stories. This is the ultimate show of love. Thank you for deciding to post this story.

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-24
Reviewid: 138850Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. I'm PMSing and you just me cry. Who knows when I'll stop?

Reviewer: NoraDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134047Chapter: 1
i realy enjoyed your story. i was just informed about the site & i will gladly come back to read your stories.

Reviewer: RainbowDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134009Chapter: 1
I've read this story twice before, but this is the first time I really understood it. Now I'm going to cry. It was beautiful.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2005-09-29
Reviewid: 133451Chapter: 1
Exceptional. It made me cry and that's a good thing. *is rather lost for words*

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126535Chapter: 1
oh my GOD THAT WAS SO FREAKIN SAD I HAVENT ACTUALLY CRIED OVER A FAN FIC FOR AGES!!!!! ;_; *cries* sniff...POOR REMUS!!! GREAT FIC!!!

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122064Chapter: 1
I never thought a story about the death of a marauder could actually leave me happy, but that truly would be the best way to go. Beautifully written. Heartfelt brilliance. I absolutely adore all of your stories. Wonderful! -Rina

Reviewer: BenedicteDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120439Chapter: 1
Wow, that just tears me up, so beautiful, so full of love (of the friendship kind). I'm very glad you did decide to share it with us. Was it partly inspired by the ending of 'of mice and men'?

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116557Chapter: 1
I don't cry in public places. But I just did.

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116544Chapter: 1
Sad, meaningful, enjoyable and truly heart wrenching, but it was certainly nothing short of wonderful.

Reviewer: ChristianaDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114145Chapter: 1
No matter what it is you write, I enjoy it. That was very sad but also cathartic.

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112533Chapter: 1
tearjerker! incredably sad. interesting idea about vanpires, but really depressing. Imagine living your whole live as a werewolve before becoming a vamipre! lovley writing though, keep up the good work.

Reviewer: qwerDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112322Chapter: 1
Sirius kills/burns Remus.....because Werewolves turn into vampire after death?.......um. ok. good idea...

Reviewer: philippaDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110797Chapter: 1
Man, this is brilliant.

Reviewer: K-chanDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99350Chapter: 1
That's so sad! At least he's not hurting any more... well done Alkari. Beautifully written.

Reviewer: CindDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97499Chapter: 1
Awww! *sniff* that was excellent! The vampire idea was interesting...

Reviewer: moeDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91903Chapter: 1
HEY love the story, a bit sad and cofusing but great!

Reviewer: LexieDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 73970Chapter: 1
Well, it was a good story mind you. But made me cry just a bit at the end. Remus was one of my favorites but I still love the story. It's going in my favorites ASAP.

Reviewer: silvertigressDate: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69961Chapter: 1
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Why'd he have to die????

Reviewer: Olivia PitcherDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63622Chapter: 1
this left me with a very odd feeling. I think it's somewhere between crying and smiling. that doesn't happen to me evry often with fanfic - well done. an excellent, poignant story, and you've resisted the tempatation to write a soppy ending, which makes the story all the more interesting.

Reviewer: JoddDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62579Chapter: 1
*sniff* Sad, very, very, sad. *floods world with tears* Sad but VERY good.

Reviewer: Sailor SolDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61713Chapter: 1
Oh wow. This was really, really, really, really sad. *Wipes away a tear*

I found it interesting how you think vampires are created when a werewolf dies. I had never really thought about anything like that. So terribly sad what they all had to go through. Poor Remus. Poor Sirius.

I'm so glad that I read this story. I will have to go read your other stories now. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61139Chapter: 1
gosh.... i've read this a long time ago. now i read again and still i cry. some things are just not meant to end.

you're one hell of a writer.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57594Chapter: 1
I'm still crying. That was ever more beautiful than the little boys fic. I think i'll cry for a while. Heartwrenching.

Reviewer: AshesDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43014Chapter: 1
NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! *runs into burning cottage* POOR MOONY! This was really sad, but well written. Ugh, I'm gonna have to go have a good cry now. :(

Reviewer: MoonyDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41956Chapter: 1
This is such a sad story but it is also really good.

Reviewer: RavenDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41659Chapter: 1
I am sitting here...sobbing my sorry little heart out. The full moon is tomorow. I'm going to go and weep. I loved this story, though it twas sad.

Reviewer: C OlsonDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37911Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so sad. I knew he had to do something once he died they couldn't have a vampire walking around but that took some gutts on Sirius's part. I lked how you told us about werewolfs first. Thanks.
--1 more day

Reviewer: Anna HattersleyDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37774Chapter: 1
I can hardly see to write this right now, I'm crying so hard. This is such a beautiful story, so sad, and so poignant. I've been scared to death of late that our Moony may meet his end in JKRverse, there's been a lot of speculation about it. But I think poor Remus would prefer it this way, on his own terms. I loved Sirius, very much as I would imagine dealing with it. First anger, then great sadness, then attempting to lighten the situation with a joke. That's our Padfoot. Their relationship was portrayed beautifully, and the ending was perfect. I have to stop now, I really can't see, but needless to say, I love this story, angst or not. Thank you, Alkari!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36361Chapter: 1
I don't know if I reviewed this before, but even if I did, it's worth doing again. I've never read such a sad story that still has such a satisfying ending...and wow, have you done well. I'm almost in tears over here, and that never happens to me. I love the emotion you include: it's just enough to be perfect. And I love Sirius' care at the end, how he stays with the wolf until daylight, and then does what has to be done. I sincerely hope that JKR allows Remus a way out of this dreadful curse, but if not, your's is the perfect ending to it all. Again, great job. I love this story.

Reviewer: Anita StantonDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35055Chapter: 1
Soooooo saaaaad!!!!! *bursts into tears* Poor Moony!!! And poor Sirius for having to be the one to help him to his end!!!!

Reviewer: HorseGal777777777777777777Date: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32629Chapter: 1
Wonderful, {wipes tear off face}, so sad, so well writen, wonderful.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29037Chapter: 1
It is not the first time I read it, and I posted a long "essay" on "why I admire Alkari and "Frindship" especially" on forums a while ago, but today I have read it again... and I cried again... oh my goodness, this is just so absolutely brilliant...

Reviewer: LauraWeasleyDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26469Chapter: 1
Beautifally written...brought me to tears. I love all of your work.

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24967Chapter: 1
Okay, I read this after "That's What Little Boys Are Made Of" and when Sirius was listing the ways Remus could have killed himself, and he mentioned a silver arrow or bullet, wasn't Sirius's broomstick a Silver Arrow? That's scary. But anyway, this was so great and sad! I loved it! You have to write more!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24780Chapter: 1
That was so sad. Did you make up that whole Werewolves turn into Vampires thing or did that come from somewhere? I've never heard of that before (not that I'm really an expert).

I really love all these Remus stories! Even if this one was horribly sad.


Jennifer

Reviewer: AlexaDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24749Chapter: 1
Wonderful!!!!!Best story I every read about Padfoots and Mooneys life after school.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24527Chapter: 1
Oh my God--my heart's nearly stop. I want to cry. This is excellent. Although I don't see--I never thought about it like--oh dear. This is about as depressing as--but SO GOOD. *shivers* creepy...I think I need to go...read some fluff--but bravo for posting it. I don't know if I've ever read something so angsty before. Wonderful stuff.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23849Chapter: 1
That was amazingly beautiful. But also so upsetting. This better never, ever happen in the books or I'm gonna cry for weeks. Poor Lupin. Poor Sirius. Poor me.... I think I'll go and play some happy music to cheer myself up. And read POA where he's all alive and well.....

Reviewer: nikiDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21701Chapter: 1
that was so sad but very touching. Written almost too realistically . . . I had to run down stairs and consult "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" to make sure the "real" Remus wouldn't have to go through all that stuff like turning into a vampire and all.

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21608Chapter: 1
Gawd! I'm going to cry!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20441Chapter: 1
(Gives a shaky sigh) Wow... Just Wow... (Wipes eyes) That was amazing... The bond of friendship in this story... wow... I was downloading music *happy music* while I read through this breifly. Then when I realized what it was about, I stopped my downloads and played a really sad song and read it... It's sooo powerful... It's beautifully written... My God, you have a real talent to put me into tears... (Wipes tears that are blurring Liz's vision) I think this is one of the best Remus and Sirius friendship stories I've ever read... You should warn people in your summary that it is a real tear jerker...
(Sighs a more controled breath) Wow.... Just Wow....

I hope JK Rowling doesn't do that to poor Remus... I love him so much!

~Liz

Reviewer: yin_takuDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18781Chapter: 1
omg. let me cry. rite now. HOW COULD YOU DO THAT!?! ::tears up:: i mean, ok, it's written so amazingly well but THAT'S NOT FUNNY! you can't just kill him off like that! ::runs far away and yells:: ::comes back::
ok, that's out of the way now. ::lets out a breath:: but really, that was lovely. the sirius hug. ::makes a wierd inhaling noise:: and...and...the whole research thing w/ james, and ..and... it's so beautiful....

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16368Chapter: 1
Oh, how sad! I'm surprised I haven't happened upon this before, but I'm glad I came across it tonight. A very touching story - I never considered that werewolves might have an abnormally short lifespan. It was an interesting concept, and you wrote it well.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16207Chapter: 1
So I'm bad d: I thought I'd reviewed this, but after checking, I hadn't.
I think...it's very bittersweet, but it shows such marvellous strength on
the part of both of them.

Reviewer: Celtic EmberDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15917Chapter: 1
You've made me cry. After becoming so used to killling people off, you've made me cry.

Reviewer: LoupLuneDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14799Chapter: 1
....
*pulls out Kleenex* That made me back away from the computer, put my head in my hands, and SOB. For a very long time. Did the same to one of my other friends. This is an amazing story, and a major tear-jerker.
LL

Reviewer: GryphDate: 2002-12-29
Reviewid: 14329Chapter: 1
*struggles around the tears blurring the screen*
This story should have a warning. It's one of the *very* few that have actually induced tears... Remus and Sirius's friendship is so beautiful and heartbreaking. God, I hope something like this doesn't happen in the books...

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13260Chapter: 1
Eeeep! This story should come with a warning - I'm mopping my eyes with my coffee napkins, and my co-workers are looking at me strangely.

Wonderful, evocative writing that never falls over (or even begins to approach) the cliff of easy sentimentality. The facing of brutal truths, and making the hard choice is perfectly told. I love your portrayal of both Remus and Sirius, and the last sentence was heartbreaking.

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12699Chapter: 1
Very touching, i had tears in my eyes! shame no werewolf cure was found but a good way of saying goodbye.

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12692Chapter: 1
Not going to happen, but excellent nonetheless.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989Date: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12581Chapter: 1
That was so sad, but you are a great writer!

Reviewer: Georgia RussellDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7536Chapter: 1
It's a good thing this has to be typed, because I wouldn't be able to speak over the lump in my throat.Compassion, strength, friendship,love...we all wish we could be so blessed to have such a relationship...it is what we all want, but so few have. I know I don't have it. I want to believe you really care and that you cried as you wrote. Some writers make the mistake of writing something inane or silly at the end. You didn't. You let us keep our moment of silence. Can we look forward to more stories from you? I hope so.

Reviewer: MChipie36Date: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5609Chapter: 1
Well... That was... depressing. Very well-written but depressing. Especially since I already read "Little Boys" some time ago and had loved it. Okay. I'm just going to try and drown myself in the shower now... *thoughtfully loggs off*

Reviewer: AlisasDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1950Chapter: 1
Dear Alkari,
I read your other fanfic,"That's What Little Boys Are Made Of" and I loved it. I thought there wouldn't be a better one than that one. How very wrong I was.
Lupin is, besides Harry, and in many ways even more than Harry, one of my favorite characters, so naturally I was pleased when I read little boys. Besides pinning down Lupin's character so perfectly and doing the same for Sirius, you are absolutely superb in the way that you weave your tale. Who ever would have thought there was so much that happened before Harry was even born? I can only hope, dream, and wish that JK Rowling writes a series about what happened before Harry's time at Hogwarts-about Remus, James, Sirius, and Peter of course! Sometimes I find myself more fascinated with the world of those four boys than I do of Harry, Hermione, and Ron, and I have partly you and partly the third HP book to thank for that. You have created the world of the four Hogwarts boys to become so vivid in my mind that as I read the third book, I wonder if it didn't really happen.
I sincerely hope you will write more fanfics about Lupin and his fabulously written best friends, because you are a fantastic writer. I cried when I read this one-I am amazed at how easily you are able to pull and manipulate the heart of the reader. :) If you aren't already in the writing business, I say look into it! You're really very good at writing. Say, I'm writing a HP fanfic, and it's got a lot of Lupin in it. Since you seem to be as interested in Lupin as I am, please tell me you'll read it when I'm done. I'm hoping for Sirius to be in it too, but since I jump all over the place writing scenes when writing my story, I haven't been able to write him in yet. See, if I don't wait to write a scene for my story, I can picture it better in my mind so therefore I will write a scene even if it comes at the very end of the story, and it flows easily from my fingertips and the scene is written much better than leaving it until it would normally be time to write it. And this is my first fanfic, so I'm hoping you will. I loved your stories, and I can hardly wait to read the rest of them.
Luv,
Alisas

Reviewer: KenDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1550Chapter: 1
I think it is a great story. Unexpected, yes. However
does well to express the truth of true friendship
and the need for those one can trust for anything.

Reviewer: BaiLingDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1048Chapter: 1
I think I need a whole box of tissues. My god--you certainly know how to make one's heart ache! At the line, "The wolf had only been able to go a short way this last time, just to the gate into the field and back" I just had to swallow back some tears (oh to be so affected by a story!! I guess that's just an indication of a very good writer...). You conveyed Sirius's stoicism well and managed to make Remus' passing not the least bit maudlin. I still can't get over how very very sad this bit is--the bonfire and the pledge to the Marauders... Well done.

Reviewer: sasha b.Date: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 855Chapter: 1
now that i've partially recovered from shedding tears, i just want to say how wonderful this is...but so heart-wrenching...i remember reading this before, but this just refreshes my memory, totally...and although i think i prefer death over prolonged pain, i just can't help but agree with Phillipa's comment...

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 374Chapter: 1
*Bawl*

Not fair!!!

Please tell me it doesn't take place in the same universe as your other two stories....
I am going to pretend that "What little Boys made of" and "Unusual student" both take place in Thing1's world or some other world. And this is a standalone. otherwise I wouldn't be able to reread any of the others...

*bawl*

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 159Chapter: 1
When I was in school, I wrote a paper about allowing a terminally ill person to choose death instead of a painful, drawn-out illness. I really believe that people should be given the choice, even though I probably wouldn't do it myself. This must have been very hard to write and you did a great job of showing the issues involved in making the decision. Both Sirius and Remus were well done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --