The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-25
Reviewid: 127770Chapter: 3
An Excellent little story. Thanks.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100378Chapter: 3
great story. thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: Elizabeth GastinDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94452Chapter: 3
a very great story.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88602Chapter: 3
This is so cute! What a lovely fantasy! A very neat idea for a story, too! Reading it put a big smile on my face.

Reviewer: fluffy goldfishDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86095Chapter: 3
i like this a ton!!

Reviewer: rotemDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78489Chapter: 3
really cute!!! :)

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71601Chapter: 3
This is most certainly one of my favourite stories. I'm not British, but I have a bit of a habit of putting a 'u' in 'favourite' and 'colour'. See?

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64312Chapter: 3
That was a very good story! I loved reading about a muggle parent's reaction to Hogwarts and magic. And heck, I would love it if MY dishes would wash themselves.

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56666Chapter: 3
I think this calls for a sequel! It's just too cute to pass up! I want to see how David does at Hogwarts, darn it! :)

Reviewer: HyperActiveOwlDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50642Chapter: 1
I'm only reviewing chapter one, as i have to get off, but i really like it so far.. especially this line:

<< I couldn't shake the feeling that I knew his name from somewhere. "You know, your name sounds familiar. Have you written a book or something?" I asked him.

"No, but I did recently write introductions to two books that were sold to support a charity called Comic Relief, U.K.">>

I laughed at that. I can't wait to read the rest.

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42317Chapter: 3
Is there more to this story if not when will there be more...

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37806Chapter: 3
I loved this! I'm a Texan my self and would get lost just as easy. i also love just going playses. its a realy great fic! I'm guessing the author is a Texan too? *;)

Reviewer: richard downsDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34878Chapter: 3
For an English person reading the story, what jumps out at me is the American-English spellings or usages placed in the mouths of British-English speakers - color/colour, fibre/fiber, and so on. Nevil Shute in 'The Chequer Board' had the right idea, where color/colour changed in adjacent sentences depending on the nationality of the speaker. Also, the staff would talk of 'autumn term' rather than 'fall semester', and would say 'be back in a moment' rather than 'be right back'. And - the Brits watch programmes on television, and run programs on their computers!

Nitpicking, isn't it? But a nice story idea.

Reviewer: Alexandra GrayDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21058Chapter: 3
Sorry, I had to add this once I saw your other reviews. It is rumoured that Hogwarts is in fact in Scottland. So, don't you dare change a thing! :D

Reviewer: Alexandra GrayDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21057Chapter: 3
I enjoyed your story. I think Rowling herself would enjoy this particular fanfiction. I hope your son enjoyed it and appreciates his mom. ;)

Reviewer: sean pembrokeDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19701Chapter: 3
hogwarts is in england, not scottland! please fix this error. besides that this story is funny. especially the part where sirus comes in as the dog and is afraid that she'll take him home.lol.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18005Chapter: 3
That was a really good story! I dont know how you figured all that out. But I'm not sure if Dumbledore and all the other teachers would be at Hogwarts in the holidays! (Harry was curious about that too once)

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16879Chapter: 3
Excellent! You really know your Cannon! As another adult HP fan, I certainly saw myself in this story. If you ever learn a spell to make dishes wash themselves (I DREAM of this), please share!

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11215Chapter: 2
Love it! Being from Dallas I can just imagine what I would have done ;-)

Reviewer: SacBeagleDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10784Chapter: 3
Wow! OK - love this from Yolanda's POV....as a mom myself, how we would all be thrilled/be frightened of a Hogwarts letter coming for our little ones! Grand work twining the canon characters into the tale...especially Dumbledore.

Reviewer: Jedi KaceeDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10106Chapter: 3
I read this on a whim and it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable stories I've ever read. Bravo!

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9940Chapter: 3
I read this quite a while ago but back then I usually didn't do a lot of reviewing. Better late than never, I guess. I found this story completely charming. It is also a very unique premise. I loved your main character and how she gets this introduction to the world of magic. Her Muggle perspective is written so completely wonderfully, and she's so blatently (and unapologetically) American. Normally I shy away from HP fics with prominent American characters because they usually aren't done well and just serve as an excuse to change the setting/situation/etc. But yours is a big exception to that. I really liked her and how you handled the character and the plot. I also really like your Dumbledore character - the dialog for him is so right on the money.

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2002-10-22
Reviewid: 6829Chapter: 3
Very, very funny! I like it a lot. Especially the old hag and biker-boys-as-warlocks parts. Yes, I believe I've seen some of these guys, myself, then! You have a great and wicked sense of humor. And perhaps on the next visit, you could bring home, instead of books, a house-elf! That's what I want, too! Thanks!

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-10-03
Reviewid: 5228Chapter: 3
LOL about the Snape interaction. And loved the Sirius cameo at the end.

All in all, very funny!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-09-17
Reviewid: 4081Chapter: 3
Maria, I kind of fudged on the time. It's supposed to be the fifth year. I wanted to have myself meet Sirius in dog form because it's such a fun idea that someone can change from a human to an animal! Thanks for reading this. It all started at lunch when some of my friends asked if my son was expecting an owl.

Reviewer: MariaDate: 2002-09-09
Reviewid: 3594Chapter: 3
This is great. I can hear you speak, and it's funny to see
a mom's very modern concerns and Hogwarts' traditions juxtaposed.
I particularly like your portrait of Remus. But when is it set? Sirius
does not seem to have been rehabilitated yet ...

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1902Chapter: 3
Thanks, shilpa and Jenn, for reading this story. My friends and I were speculating at lunch one day what it would be like if one of our kids got a letter. I appreciate the feedback.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1801Chapter: 3
A lovely story. I really liked the juxtaposition of our "real" world with Hogwarts.
Now *I* want to go on vacation to Scotland, too!

Jenn

Reviewer: shilpaDate: 2002-08-12
Reviewid: 1703Chapter: 1
this is a good story but try not to let too many details from the real harry potter books come into your writing. we all know that prof. mcg. doesn't like divination but that doesn't mean she has to state that when yolanda firsts meets her

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --