The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Last Embrace
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134874Chapter: 1
oh that's sad

Reviewer: Hannah MarderDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119377Chapter: 1
Powerful stuff. I like the way you portray Petunia as a real person, with different motivations and emotions. The incident with the magic is a good way of explaining why Petunia has treated Harry as she has. You have made her sympathetic and believeable without excusing her behaviour towards her nephew. And her mixed bitterness and grief over Lily is well in character. Very well written, well done.

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118451Chapter: 1
that's so sad...it's like you can see all of the missed chances in that relationship consolidated into one moment. lovely job.

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115710Chapter: 1
Cute story, sad.

Reviewer: James and Lily 4evaDate: 2005-01-28
Reviewid: 112293Chapter: 1
I don't think I ever ever detested Petunia more than I am right now

Reviewer: Edith SmithDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105073Chapter: 1
That was so wonderful. I was completely touched. I also write fics that make Petunia seem almost human. if you have time,could you please read mine and tell me where I've gone wrong? Milliemione is my fanfiction.net name.If you can't, then thankls anyway. Your fic was wonderful.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99604Chapter: 1
Found this off a link on FictionAlley, it was quite good. I can see it happening actually, Petunia was very IC.

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97194Chapter: 1
Wow! That was so...I cried!
Lol, note to self, do not read sad story while listening to sad music.
You're a very gifted writer! Personally, I hope to see Petunia embrace Harry again, in the future Harry Potter books.
Great work!

Reviewer: Lacey from PhoenixDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97046Chapter: 1
Not bad, not bad at all. I liked it a lot. You are very good. That would make a very good first chapter to a longer book as well. Like a Prolauge.

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91083Chapter: 1
wow,this story was great!! it sounded just like what petunia would act like, and exactly what harry acted like when he was small! keep writing! thanks!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 76951Chapter: 1
This was so sad, but so good. I thought it showed that Petunia does have a heart, some good in her. I have never read anything like this before.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76871Chapter: 1
Nice! I thinkit is hard to humanize characters like Petunia and still keep them villains. You do a good job of letting us peek into a window of her resentment of Lily's attention and power. Her sense of abandonment when Lily changes worlds, leaving her behind. And we see a rationale for giving Dudley preferential treatment as "payback".

But after letting me see this, you left it so I still loathe her. Great work!!

Reviewer: HPGirlDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67715Chapter: 1
sweet and sad

Reviewer: RubyDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66958Chapter: 1
Your story was so real it had me in tears.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64971Chapter: 1
Awww... just... awww

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56282Chapter: 1
Great characterization! So sad, though. Poor Harry, and poor Petunia.

Reviewer: lindaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52400Chapter: 1
really interesting. i hope you continue on...

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46893Chapter: 1
aww so sad :( poor Harry. Really heart-touching fanfic, nicely written. I think it was a very brilliant idea, and ure story left me with this tingling feeling of sadness. great job!

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41537Chapter: 1
so sad...the last embrace....And you're right, it would have made a goo song fic. It was great as is though, thumbs up! The idea of not holding a baby is a bit disturbing though. :(

Reviewer: Hermione girlDate: 2002-12-21
Reviewid: 13546Chapter: 1
(sniff) SO cute and sad. I love it!

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6213Chapter: 1
Oh, *wipes a tear* that is so beautiful! It's just...wonderful! in the book Patunia never seems to be a very complex character...she hates all tings magic, especially Harry, she is jelous and nosey, the end! But you have taken cannon Patunia and made a fannon petunia so close to cannon I could hold it in my hand.
That made no sense at all, did it?

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-10-08
Reviewid: 5740Chapter: 1
Aw! :( I'm all sad now. What a well written fic, even if it is sad.

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2002-10-08
Reviewid: 5706Chapter: 1
What a great insight into Petunia's character. And baby Harry's just the sweetest thing. Wonderful backstory! I loved it. :D

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-10-07
Reviewid: 5617Chapter: 1
I have tears in my eyes. This is heartbreaking. You describe baby Harry so well that I can actually feel the little warm body in my arms and smell that soft baby hair.

And this made me feel for Petunia too. Even though she's horrible to Harry, she's not completely incomprehensible. Her tangled feelings for Lily, for the world of magic were so beautifully captured. This story is incredible!

(You are an excellent and versatile writer!! I'll be back to read more soon!)

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3320Chapter: 1
That was cute!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --