The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Padma's Quest
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144374Chapter: 14
Humorious, well written, quite entertaining simply excellent.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108322Chapter: 4
'Oh, Parvati! Why don't you take your blooming orb and stick it up your-Hello!'
HAh! This is priceless! I think that 'hello' is my new curse word now, okay? I've read this story before, and i liked it so much that I came back to read it again!!
Happy Holidays!
AW
P.S- 'We...like...house-elves.' finished Harry lamely.

Reviewer: MariaroseDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106290Chapter: 8
typo: They lit their wanTs... wanDs

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40754Chapter: 14
I lurved this story vera much! It really gave a new aspect on Padma, who is one of my fave HP chars, though we don't know that much about her. I love the Dean/Padma, which is different than the Dean/Parvati that a lot of people assume. I'll go out on a limb here....I know this is the prequel to "I'm Like A Bird" (which was brilliant, btw), but could we see a sequel? Since this takes place during GoF, it technically isn't A/U. So, to be repetitive and daring...sequel? H/G, R/Hr, De/Pad, w.e?

Luv your stories, Poppy P!~

Merusa

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40566Chapter: 14
Oh! That was a very interesting story! Padma's confusion was AWESOME! YOu have a great writing skill! Very well done.

Reviewer: ArwenDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40506Chapter: 3
Argh! I know that chant- I once read a book... was it,'Are you there, God? It's me, Margaret' and it had that chant! I could've died laughing... I love her sceptism ,and the way that Padma tries to hit on Ron... Poor Padma.

Reviewer: *Ginny*Date: 2003-06-23
Reviewid: 38361Chapter: 14
*Another thing, I've sort of always disliked Cho, b/c of Harry liking her when I'm an ardent Harry/Ginny shipper, this puts her in a good light, though.*

Reviewer: *Ginny*Date: 2003-06-23
Reviewid: 38360Chapter: 14
*That was gr8! I was always a Dean/Parvati shipper, I'm having 2 switch that. Parvati can have some silly guy 2 match her. The thing @ the beginning of this chapter, I really liked that.*

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35917Chapter: 14
I've just read this straight through; and it has to be one of the best fics about GoF I've read in a long time; I love Padma to pieces, and you've made me into a delighted Dean/Padma shipper.

I love the R/Hr moments you have included, and it is an absolute delight to read such brilliant canon from this perspective.

I hope we see more of Padma/Dean. :)

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-03-28
Reviewid: 25581Chapter: 14
I've read this more than once but I've never reviewed it. I love what you've done with Padma and Dean, two minor characters we don't get to see very much.

I also love your glimpses into the inner workings of Ravenclaw House: their perspectives on Muggleborns, their reactions to Voldemort and especially the minds of the Ravenclaw girls like Penelope and Cho.

Reviewer: SlowFoxDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22828Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this fic, which was an exceptionally well worked story to complement the goings on in GoF.

Poor Padma, though! I thought it was hysterical the way she was virtually throwing herself at a clueless Ron (is there another type of Ron?). And the bit where Parvati and Padma are in the Hospital Wing, and alternating between being loving sisters and sniping (did you really thrown my butterflies in the lake?) was *superb*.

I like Dean/Padma, too, but (boo, hiss) I actually wanted it to work out with Ron for her in this story (and you wonder why I'm not actually a registered Quiller, huh?)

Excellent writing!

SlowFox

Reviewer: OowthDate: 2003-03-02
Reviewid: 22481Chapter: 14
^___^ that was great and cute. I loved it. Got the link off of FAP. And really enjoyed the good read.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18927Chapter: 14
Hooray, I finally reviewed (more than doubling your count in the process)! This was a very nice ending. I don't really like how JKR left everything hanging in GoF but it was nice reading about the realizations people may have during times like those. I'm definitely going to have to r/r the rest of your stuff now! :D

From Ara Kane, the Review Fairy

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18923Chapter: 13
Haha! The Easter egg bit was my favorite part :D I loved how Hermione was so hyperactive (and later flustered) in this chapter, and that the twins were hanging around each other again.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18921Chapter: 12
I must admit I got a little squicked at the idea of Percy being one of those to look out for, but hey, that's just you adding more depth (and warmth) to his character. It's too bad Dean misunderstood why Padma wasn't listening to him. (I'm also sorry that she had to drink ketchup in front of him!)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18918Chapter: 11
I like how you've given Mandy and Lisa personalities as well.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18916Chapter: 10
Sisterly fluff! *sniffle* I like Parvati when she isn't so ditzy. I loved her "best friend for always" statement. I don't think she needs a kick in the pants anymore.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18915Chapter: 8
You are heartily forgiven for the Ron/Padma interlude. The dance lesson was cute; and I really think Ron ought to see other girls for a while, anyway, just so he realizes he's cute and funny and desirable just as he is. I like how Padma found herself thinking that Hermione was actually rather nice.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18909Chapter: 7
I like the conversation between Dean and Padma :) It sounded very realistic and sincere. And I think Parvati needs a good kick in the pants. Poor, poor Dean!!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18905Chapter: 6
I think this was the most difficult chapter to read -- because you did such a good job capturing the mortification of being embarrassed in front of the cute guy in class! I don't think I've done anything this, erm, drastic, but I was cringing nonetheless. And poor Dean *sniffle* The bit about the clips falling like tears was a perfect way to depict the feeling when things are all mucked up and out of control.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18899Chapter: 4
>"Why don't you take your blooming orb and stick it up your-Hello!"

LOL! I can just imagine Padma's expression and tone of voice changing! I also really enjoyed the "socks" excuse. I would have loved to see Harry and Ron shifting around uncomfortably :D

I don't think you had to say "fellow Ravenclaw Cho Chang" since she's already been introduced earlier in the fic and is one of Padma's best friends, but that's just a teensy detail :)

Poor Padma, listening to Ron's exaggerations and joining SPEW! Ah, the things we do for love! :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18894Chapter: 3
I loved Judy Blume's books myself :D I still read them from time to time. (I never had to use the "Muggle incantation," tho, which I suppose is a good thing...)

Your Dean is so sweet. What wouldn't I give for a guy who notices little details like hair ribbons? (His artist's eye probably helps, but still, he's a guy!) And Ron's bewilderment at Padma's sudden friendliness was a scream.

I also love how you used "scuttled" to describe Mandy and Lisa's movements. The word always makes me think of bugs :) OK, I think I'm rambling now. Onward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18889Chapter: 2
I like the backgrounder on Padma, Penny and Cho's friendship. It was nice of you to give Cho a brother, and for girls of different years to become really close :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-04
Reviewid: 18888Chapter: 1
LOL! You really had me going there with Parvati and her almost-accurate predictions :D Oh, and the name "Mathieu" is really nice.

Reviewer: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO...Date: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15215Chapter: 8
...OOOOOOOOOO! And I'm done. I think you're turning me into an R/P shipper. AHHH!

Reviewer: pshycopathicmentalpatientDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15212Chapter: 5
I knew it! I knew those Ravenclaws were the ones that did it! You never suspect the smart ones. I should know. I am a smart one. :) {Grins evily}

Reviewer: Adam LaurentDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15210Chapter: 4
I do so love minor characters. Yu have so much to work with, and all that unused material! I'm tellin' you, minor characters are a gold mine.

Reviewer: arielDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13698Chapter: 13
Oh yeah...I forgot to tell you that you made me a devoted Dean/Padma shipper also. ( I have no regrets)

Reviewer: arielDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13697Chapter: 14
Through the whole thing I was thinking madly 'Padma not Ron. Ron has Hermione!!!DEAN!!!Do I have to spell it out to you. D-E-A-N!!!!!!!!!!!'
That was an awsome fanfic by the way.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12648Chapter: 14
Hi Poppy,

I read this entire story a while ago and I have ironed my fingers for not submitting a review sooner! That being said, I really enjoyed your characterization of the Ravenclaws (the Tolkien bit was a nice touch!), especially Padma and Cho. I never really liked Cho much from canon, I guess I lost respect for her during PoA when she marked Harry rather than looked for the Snitch herself, but your Cho was very well done and I really liked your Penelope (I did read "The Broom Shed Incident" as well). Padma *was* this wonderful mix of awkward, stubborn, hopeful, loyal, intelligent (except with love!), and driven.

I also liked how you made Mandy a bit of a jerk; all too often only bad people are Slytherins and it's a refreshing change to see some nastiness spread evenly throughout the houses. Even though Ravenclaws are the ones who like learning, I'm glad you didn't make them a bunch of socially isolated dorks.

Favorite line: Lavender needed a brain enlargement.

I'm now a devoted Dean/Padma shipper...can I be first mate?

Reviewer: kat097Date: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2755Chapter: 13
This is great! I've never really thought about Padma before but you portray here very well!

Reviewer: HighlandgurlDate: 2002-08-05
Reviewid: 1068Chapter: 14
This is one of the best stories on the web!!!!! i loved it, it was so interesting to hear the GOF from a minor character's point of view. I laughed, i (almost) cried,it was wonderful, WELL DONE

i now have a new found admiration for Dean :) (he'll never be as cute as ron tho)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --