The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Strong Enough
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137399Chapter: 1
Very Well Done

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107342Chapter: 1
How sweet! Imagine how difficult it would be to have to tell your husband something like that. I bet she was a Gryffindor. ;)

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77432Chapter: 1
When I first started reading this, I was like "who are these people?" but then when Peg said she was pregnant, I thought "I bet you anything these people are Seamus's parents!" and I was right, woo hoo! I really liked this story and it explains why Seamus said,"it was a bit of a nasty shock for him when he found out." I wish there were more stoires out there like this one, thanks!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72403Chapter: 1
I love this story. Fear, hope, love. . .this story has everything. Fantastic job!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71338Chapter: 1
very odd

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69197Chapter: 1
A FINNIGAN STORY! There are NONE of these. And people who know me are awaare that i am in love with Seamus! Thats why i'm a'rambling. WHEEEEE I love this!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68489Chapter: 1
never really thought about Seamus parents before, cool take on their situation

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56286Chapter: 1
Wow, this is really good! I thought it was Tom Riddle's parents at first.

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49374Chapter: 1
Oh, this is absolutely marvelous! I love how you took one little detail from the books and expanded on it. And it's so wonderful to read about the lives of characters who aren't Harry, Ron, or Hermione. Not that I don't love them, but the minor characters get neglected too often.

You've done a great job with these characters, giving them personalities. I actually guessed who they were in the first few paragraphs, and was sure of it when you mentioned Michael's sandy blond hair. But the way you showed how Peg told him and his reaction was very realistic, how he accepted her but was still afraid. Your eloquent writing gave the story life, and had me believing in the characters and sypathizing with them. "He wondered if she knew that even now he wondered if he was strong enough to accept her world. And yet he knew, without a doubt, that he was not strong enough to accept the alternative." Beautiful. Well done.

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49004Chapter: 1
i thougth so.
the sandy blonde hair gave me a tip off
and the fact that seamus did say "me dads a muggle. mums a witch. bit of a nasty shock for him when he found out"
hm
i thioght this was cute, and sweet. one of those love perserveres above all things.

Reviewer: LisalyDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46802Chapter: 1
I didnt have a clue of who the couple was until the end! But it was really good the story keep it up!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41691Chapter: 1
It's really sweet... sorta tying in with Seamus' father being surprised... hehe...

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40958Chapter: 1
sweet story..
great idear...

Reviewer: lyraDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22755Chapter: 1
wow, those are some random characters...great story! at first i thought i was tom riddle's parents.

Reviewer: EilanDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17762Chapter: 1
Hi,

this was really good. Very well-written, sweet and an interesting topic. Add to that two neglected charaters and you've got a story I love *g*.

Thies fic got me thinking. Thank you for writing it.

Eilan

Reviewer: TrinaDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15964Chapter: 1
Wow, that was a really cool fiction, I never guessed it would be them. Cool... really cool. Nice imagination thingy...;)

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15135Chapter: 1
hehe, nice one!!!

Reviewer: IlyssaDate: 2002-12-21
Reviewid: 13494Chapter: 1
Wow! aw that was sucha sweet little story! And with a GREAT twist, I would never have been able to guess. But now thinking about it, I can remember Seamus saying something to the effect of "I'm half and half. Me dad's a muggle. Me mum's a witch. Was a bit of a nasty shock for him when he found out" Hehehe. good story. Well written.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12459Chapter: 1
Poppy, could you possibly write a sequel or 2? I really love this story line.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10008Chapter: 1
oh, man...I LOVE stories like these. Stories that take little, overlooked things from the books and tell the stories behind them. I think you did a fantastic job with it, too; it's very realistic.

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9837Chapter: 1
What I really love is how your theme fits so nicely with one of the main themes of the books. Michael was faced with a frightening choice, and you've eloquently shown where he found the strength to do what is good.

Thank you,

Erasmas

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9827Chapter: 1
Very realistic rendition of what telling a Muggle spouse oneís secret must be like. Poor Peg Finnigan! Iím so glad that her husband accepted her, unlike in Voldemortís situation. It makes one wonder just how much importance a childís upbringing has on his personality. Iím glad Seamus got to grow up in a loving, supportive household.

Puts new meaning to the words, "Me dadís a Muggle, Mamís a witch. . . bit of a shock for him when he found out."

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9777Chapter: 1
Nicely done - very realistic interaction between Michael and Peg.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-10-24
Reviewid: 6952Chapter: 1
How about a sequel to this. Seamus birth and whether or not his father finally visited Hogworths. Besides, Michael Snr must have been a very proud Irish father, surely. Great short story.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-10-08
Reviewid: 5738Chapter: 1
"Me dad's a muggle, mam's a witch. Bit of a nasty shock for him when he found out." Well, according to this splendid fic, "a bit of a nasty shock" is quite the understatement! You did an excellent job on this one!

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2002-10-08
Reviewid: 5705Chapter: 1
Oh! *blinks*

Hee! This was fantastic! You totally had me going there. :D Although I must have picked up on that 'leprechauns and banshees' bit...

The ending is just adorable. What a wonderful fic.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-10-05
Reviewid: 5438Chapter: 1
Awww! This was so beautiful!! Peg and Michael are very well portrayed... their fear as well as their love for each other. Michael's wry "and here I was thinking it was because I wasn't Catholic" was priceless.

Reviewer: Hermione DuncanDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3325Chapter: 1
cute. I would give it a 5/10 for lack of plot, but it was nice.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --