The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Mother's Spell
Review(s): 65

Reviewer: bookishDate: 2008-02-13
Reviewid: 150510Chapter: 1
Great story!

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-06-12
Reviewid: 148243Chapter: 1
Wow. You made me cry. I'm not one to do that easily either. The Lily/Harry scene... I love the idea that Ginny's love for Harry is somehow connected to his mother's sacrifice.

Reviewer: Callista_HoganDate: 2006-10-09
Reviewid: 145623Chapter: 1
Wow. I really liked this, although I believe I have read this before. Do you have an account of fanfiction.net, by any chance?

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-05
Reviewid: 143237Chapter: 1
That was wonderfully written. It's an interesting way to explain why Ginny has always loved Harry, lol. *sigh* I kind of liked how you explained it in such a way that it wasn't just Lily's love, but spells she put in place that ensured Harry's safety.

~GW

Reviewer: fan_club_pres.Date: 2006-04-13
Reviewid: 141870Chapter: 1
wow, i really liked this one! it was so good how ginny being born to help harry made so much sense. i really enjoyed this one!

Reviewer: creevy girlDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134522Chapter: 1
besides the fact that i absolutly loved it
Ginnys b- day is in the spring like feb-march

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133968Chapter: 1
That's just heartbreaking to see the Potter's death so reallike that!
woo

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128409Chapter: 1
One word: EXCELLENT!

Reviewer: nicoleDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128126Chapter: 1
This was very very good...I've been searching forever for a story about what happend to the Potter's that was actually good....this one met all my requirements...very sad...and I love how you did the part about the Weasleys...excellent job.
~Nicole~

Reviewer: davidDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127910Chapter: 1
interesting, not a bad version of events at all

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123246Chapter: 1
*sob* What can I say.... that was sad! Especially for Lily and James! I nearly cried!keep up the writing you really have a gift for writing!

Reviewer: Rebecca Erin ConnollyDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116822Chapter: 1
THis had shivers running up my spine.

There are things I would change - more on Lily's htoughts, her fear that her son might die, her husband dead etc.

That and Ginny was born on August 11th. But (big BUT) she was convceived during the week of Hallowe'en. Perhaps a little rewriting could go a long way, but I think, in essence, this story is fantastic.

Rebecca x

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112338Chapter: 1
OMG, I love this story! It is such a cool take on things that could have happened before James and Lily died. I love the spells and how they all tie in with Harry and Ginny. XD This is the greatest!

Reviewer: Angel StreetDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111789Chapter: 1
I'd never thought about it like that, and hadn't even thought about Ginny's birth. But now.... wow... it fits in so perfectly with everything. so from now on, i am going to pretend that JKR actually wrote this (on second thoughts, your version is probs better) and this is actually part of the HP books.
LOVE it LOVE IT LOVE IT
wow
*ANGEL*

Reviewer: MegsDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108353Chapter: 1
Stunning. I can only hope that J.K. Rowling has the same idea! I seldom read fanfiction, but this piece was truly something I admire. Well done.

Reviewer: ^^Date: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107265Chapter: 1
His-tay s-iay ay ood-gay tory-say. S-iay y-may ig-pay atin-lay ny-ay ood-gay?

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99103Chapter: 1
"And as they enjoyed each other's company, none of them knew that miles away, little Harry Potter was crying in the remains of a cottage in Godric's Hollow, his forehead marred with a lightning-bolt shaped scar."

That was a beautiful phrase - the end of a beautiful story. Oh, I feel all teary now. Thank you, Zsenya.

Reviewer: Alex wimberleyDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97172Chapter: 1
Oh my god... you may not belive this but i went through TWO boxes of tissues crying over what a beautiful story writer you are!Oh i loved it and want you to continue writing!

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90556Chapter: 1
You are an awesome writer! I hope that's what you go on to do. I'm sure I would read your books!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89928Chapter: 1
This is a great story! I had heard a lot about it, but hadn't read it until today. No wonder it gets such high praise!

One of the real strengths of this story, that gives it the most impact, is the way you've written the relationships. Lily & James getting up to have a late snack, the Weasleys and their grandmother...it all felt very natural and real, so it made the tragic events seem that much worse.

And as a Mom, I have to say I sure wish those kind of spells were real!

Reviewer: Angel StreetDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89263Chapter: 1
Perfect. Just what JKR hadn't mentioned, you have created. You sure Zsenya isn't a penname for JKR. You sure?
But then, maybe not, becuase your work is different in its own special nice way. Love this site. Love these stories. Love everything!

Reviewer: JoeDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88961Chapter: 1
This is my first reply to any story on the Sugar Quill. This story was fantastic. Although the two tales had almost nothing to do with each other, they just felt...right... in the same story. A few pet peeves, though-
Arthur has two brothers, as cited on Jkrowling.com.
Voldemort didn't come via floo in the fireplace. Hr came in through the front door.

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87313Chapter: 1
Amazing!!! I loved that as much as I loved After the End!! It was wonderful!!

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75807Chapter: 1
Awesome. I cried and laughed out loud. I love the idea as well.

Reviewer: AinsleyDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75651Chapter: 1
That was simply beautiful... Perfect...

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75021Chapter: 1
Beautiful idea about Ginny.

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72511Chapter: 1
There's something else I want to say that I forgot. As of book five I have come to believe that girls would be one of the least important things to Harry in a dire situation and considering the fact that his parents' deaths was a pretty traumatic event, Ginny or any other girl wouldn't really have a part... That didn't make sense. Anyway, I'm saying that in this story you make it seem like since Harry's parents died the same time Ginny was born it was saying that it's fate they'll end up together. I'm still not making sense am I? Well, I don't think traumatic events and love life should be compared in such a way. When I read the this it seemed that most of it's purpose was to show that Harry and Ginny are meant for each other. I won't confuse you anymore:)
~Jell

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72510Chapter: 1
I really like the Lily and James part of the story but why the bloody hell does Ginny always have to make some spectacular appearence? Okay, sorry I overdid it there, but really I think it is a bit corny that she's born on Halloween.

Reviewer: JordanaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72094Chapter: 1
Great story! Very sad! And it is interesting that at the same time Harry´s parents died, Ginny was born. She came to give him the love he never had. Your fanfics and Arabellas are the best. (sorry for any mistakes, I can´t write in English very well)

Reviewer: DunnoDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60882Chapter: 1
Talk about the Opedidus *I forget how to spell it* complex.....lol

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59994Chapter: 1
Oh, wow...It's a new take, an interesting view to see that fateful night from everyone's favorite wizarding family's POV. I find it interesting how everyone makes Bill and Charlie different ages compared to the rest of the crew, but always a year apart from each other.

Reviewer: AmandaKedavraDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55484Chapter: 1
This story almost made me cry! Sooo sad...I can't find words, I just loved it!

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55436Chapter: 1
What can I say? What an excellent fic! I love the thought that Harry and Ginny were meant for each other from the second Ginny was born. Lovely.

Reviewer: Miss HermioneDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51208Chapter: 1
WOW!!!That is really
cool

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49295Chapter: 1
omg thats so sad. its really good too!! :) very well written!

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47092Chapter: 1
That was so touching. I haven't read many Lily/James fan fics and it was nice to read about how they might have been. The spell to transfer Lily's love to Ginny was really clever ^-^ Great job.

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43124Chapter: 1
Beautiful Zsenya! Simply beautiful.

Reviewer: JaiDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43104Chapter: 1
Wow, that was great. Very good early Weasley/Potter story. Love it!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40957Chapter: 1
As an H/G fan, I enjoyed this. :) Cute idea...

Reviewer: LanahDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36950Chapter: 1
this story is brilliant. any chances for it to be continued??? or at least a sequel??

Reviewer: T'MaiaDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36412Chapter: 1
That was disturbing. Deeply and utterly disturbing. I don't know what you weere trying to say, I'm guessing that you meant this story as a sweet tale of how much Ginny loves Harry. If you intended to do that, you have completely failed.

There is a good reason why (in fanon at least) love spells and love potions are considered to be Dark Arts. It is because messing around with one's feelings magically is cruel. Usage of love potions is no better than the Imperius curse.

And this is why the fic is disturbing.

What makes the whole thing even darker is that Harry has no clue who Ginny is. At the time the spell is performed there is no guarantee that he will ever meet Ginny. And even if he will meet Ginny, who is to say that he will return her feelings?

Unrequited love is bad enough. Unrequited love that is magically forced upon a person is just plain evil.

And don't get me started on the topic that motherly love is something completely different from romantic love. It is bad enough that Ginny has red hair like Harry's mother, if she also loves him like that any relationship between them is doomed to have huge oedipal issues.

If you intended to write a deeply disturbing fic, congrats, you managed it.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33370Chapter: 1
Oh god... this is sad... *whimpers* too sad... I can't... But I did like the idea with the spell and Ginny conected to Lily's love.

Reviewer: AshleighDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30593Chapter: 1
oh gosh,that was beautiful.....*sobs* I like how you tyed that spell in with Ginny's birth. well done,you're a great writer

Reviewer: NevDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30444Chapter: 1
Zsenya! I saw your name in a magazine today that had JKR on the cover! You were one of many fans speculating on book five! I flipped! :D

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24915Chapter: 1
Excellent!!

Reviewer: Brianna DarknightDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24840Chapter: 1
It made me cry! Thank you so much for such great fanfic. Lovely... sobs... just lovely. Well I'm off to crying some more... sorry... it was just too beutiful!

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23877Chapter: 1
Beatuifully written. I have never read a fan fiction with the words so much like JKR herself. The story is rather tragic, but Part VI: A Successful Birth, made me feel comfort, even the last sentence, because I felt assured that Harry would be safe of his mother's spell.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17455Chapter: 1
Wonderfully crafted. The juxtaposition of the Weasleys and Potters kept me in a whole range of emotions. And the Lily/Ginny thing was amazingly creative. I really loved this fic.

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17292Chapter: 1
Wow. just, wow. That was fantaststic, actually, I am still crying! That was the closest thing to canon that I have read, and so.... great job.

Reviewer: Professor TDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16200Chapter: 1
Wow! Very powerful stuff. So sad, of course. I wasn't sure if I wanted to read about the death of Harry's parents, but the flip side with the Weasleys lightened it up enough to make it bearable.

Very interesting twist about Lily's love for Harry being transferred to Ginny. I hope JKR knows how much we all want something like that to be true (that H & G are meant for each other in some way). She's just not very clear about foreshadowing that possibility, unfortunately.

Excellent handling of an emotional storyline.

Reviewer: ZipDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11617Chapter: 1
Actually amulder, that's not really true. Hermione's birthday is somewhere mid-September, if I remember correctly. If it's the way you put it, she'll be in the same year as Ginny.

Reviewer: JaymeDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11543Chapter: 1
This gave me chills! Very creative and well-written. I'm new here, so I'm going to head off and read some more of your fics. :-) Great!

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10601Chapter: 1
It's cute, but the dates/times don't work, do they?

This story puts Ginny at 15 months younger than Harry, whereas she should have a birthday somewhere before the 1st of September, otherwise she'd be two years behind Harry in School, not just one. (In the British school system your birthday needs to be before the 1st of Sept. So Ginny needs to be 11 before school, so a Halloween birthday doesn't work.) But I admit that AFAIK, Jo Rowling hasn't confirmed Ginny's birthday.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9972Chapter: 1
Oy. That was wonderful.

Reviewer: gwenalynDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9353Chapter: 1
At risk of sounding like a baby, that last sentance made me cry. This is a great story, I loved it.

Reviewer: ChosenblueDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8501Chapter: 1
This was a fasinating fic. I had to read the end a few times because I didn't know if the way I had read it was one of the possiable ways it could be taken.

I almost cried, it made me misty eyed, and I like how it appears as Ginny was the prayer from Lily that would make Harry happy in the future. It also, to me, seemed like Lily's soul was transfered to Ginny's for their deaths seemed very close in time. But thats just me. ^^ The story was extreamly endearing and emotional. I loved it. ^^

Reviewer: SailorcelestialDate: 2002-09-29
Reviewid: 4983Chapter: 1
Very, very nice. Imaginative and well-written. I loved the small touches that made it seem so realistic, such as the joking between Arthur and Molly about the name/gender of their child.

Reviewer: anneDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3951Chapter: 1
Very nice fic but I was kinda sad that it wasn't Ron who was the "chosen" one- it would explain their friendship so well and I would picture him as the "protector" of Harry, explaining the conincidence of them meeting on the train & in the station. Ginny's good too, but I'd prefer their relationship to be more coincidental, just because of them, not because of a spell. But good job anyway, sweet, you made me cry!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2686Chapter: 1
Very interesting story. Great insight on what happened the night of Lily and James Potter's death.

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1844Chapter: 1
ohhhhhhh this was excellent please please please continue with it soon!!!!!
Jen

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-08-10
Reviewid: 1590Chapter: 1
we all new that the weasleys were the coolest family around and that ginny was destined for harry. this fic just prives it :D great job!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1135Chapter: 1
*sniff* I feel like crying after reading that. Of course, reading all 4 Harry Potter books, I know that James and Lily died. But, never having read it in such detail, I've never felt like crying after reading about it. Very nice job. And good foreshadowing at a future relationship between Harry and Ginny. I need to go and cry myself to sleep, now...

Reviewer: Lady PythonDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 272Chapter: 1
Oh geez, I actually began to get tears in my eyes when I realised that Ginny was the one who would make Harry happy! That's so sweet!! I love it! Very well written!

Reviewer: Arabella FiggDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 269Chapter: 1
Nice Idea - but the Ginny thing is impossible, unless the Chamber was opened by someone other than Ginny Weasley.

Helen

Reviewer: LiralenDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 146Chapter: 1
Oh, this is a beautiful story. Definitely one of my very favorites.

The concept is so lovely that I've unwittingly adopted it into my own personal canon, and the way you've written it, with the small snapshots of Godric's Hollow and the Burrow, is wonderful as well. It's sweet, simple, and perfect.

I have to admit, I thought it was going to be Ron at first--which is crazy, because I've always been mulling over why Ginny loves Harry so much. Because, you know, despite the lack of evidence in canon, it's got to be something... But reading this, for some reason I was thinking, 'Oh, it's Ron--he's going to be Harry's best friend and make him happy.' And when I realized it was Ginny, I squeaked and squealed and generally made quite a racket :).

You know, even though I really love the idea and keep forgetting not to steal it from you and put it in my own as of yet nonexistent fics (don't worry, I won't), I'm almost, almost a little hesitant about the transfer of love, making H/G something so...destined. I get the niggling feeling that it takes something away from...free will? :blush: I don't know, I'm always torn between the idea of love for the sake of love, and the idea of love as something predestined and transcendent. (And that, my friends, was an entirely ridiculous-sounding sentence!) In other words, "They are in love" vs. "It's got to be something" ;).

But I guess that's the difference between R/H and H/G--Ron and Hermione love each other because they do, because that's the way it is, because he's Ron and she's Hermione. With Harry and Ginny, it's often rather different--sometimes it's the connection between Ginny and Lily, sometimes the interaction between Harry and Voldemort and Voldemort and Ginny, sometimes the wizard's debt of saving another's life, but their fates are often intertwined in a way they cannot ignore. It's interesting how H/G is developed like this, whereas (in my not-so-extensive experience, at least) R/H usually isn't. Sometimes it can be a bit much, really. In the case of "A Mother's Gift," it's perfect.

~Eleuthera,
who would like to apologize for being so long-winded, and who hopes she's doing this review thing right... :/

P.S. I just loved this bit: "Percy, who was still sitting properly at the table, said in a voice far too mature for a five year-old, 'Mother is going to make a baby, isn't she Grandmother?'" :D

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --