The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Writing History
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: starfisherDate: 2006-08-05
Reviewid: 144640Chapter: 1
This is a great little story, definetely one of the best I've ever read.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-05
Reviewid: 143236Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I can't believe I've never read it before and I've read After the End twice!!!

~GW

Reviewer: LucienneDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122725Chapter: 1
Hey that was really good is that the real book?
or story? im a huge fan of harry potter and am playing the character of hermione for a drama monologue. hat was interesting but maybe everyone shouldnt die or it could be more subtle

Reviewer: keriDate: 2005-02-27
Reviewid: 115065Chapter: 1
aw! i love the ending! that is so cute! lol, thanx again for the add on's to After the End

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113035Chapter: 1
Just read this - loved it.

Reviewer: Jordana (NickMarin)Date: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75790Chapter: 1
It is a beautiful story! I loved it! You are a great writer.
I really like the fic After the End! It was the best I have ever read! I wish I could translate it so everybory here in Brazil would be able to read it!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66186Chapter: 1
I really love this piece. I read it while somewhere in the middle of AtE, but it really stands alone very well. The emotions are great, but what I really like is that by using her daydream of telling her grandchildren about this moment, you make it feel likeit is only now that she can envision a future with kids and grandkids.

Favorite bits:

The password. And the logic/love/knowledge behind it.
The way you describe the loss of the ceiling. Great timing and pace.
>>I should have told someone, but I didn’t even th-” She stopped herself, but what she had been about to say was not lost on Ron. He snorted.

“You didn’t think? Is that what you were going to say? Wait.” He held up his wand, which he still clenched tightly in his other hand. “Perscribus,” he said solemnly and held his wand up to her mouth. “Now, say it again.”<<

I am pretty sure I have read everything on your page, (most several time) but that was when I read and left. I'm trying to go back and leave reviews for all of you old timers. I mean all of the respected members of the community.

Reviewer: floraDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64561Chapter: 1
ohhh..you are so talented!I loved it..really!! :-)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46846Chapter: 1
hm. nice little revelation thing. its like a mini quasi-prequel to AtE.... which, once again was bloody amazing....

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46515Chapter: 1
I loved how Hermione undertook the task of updating "Hogwarts: A History" by herself. The lines that most struck me were:

"This book in front of her had been her guide, her comfort, her security. And yet, over and over, the older she grew, she had found pieces of information that didn’t quite make sense, that didn’t fit. All history was biased and tainted. House-elves were evidence of that. But the future was pure and unblemished. And in order for her to think about that, she had to first document the thoughts fighting for time in her head."

Your story highlights the importance of closure and the role that writing can play in achieving it. It also shows how recorded history invariably reflects the point of view of the writer. Hermione realized that even her own account would be biased, but she did her best to present a truthful account.

Reviewer: SteffDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40541Chapter: 1
I think this is a really good reflection on After the end, it is now attached to my favourites, along with After the End. This story, although only short, touches ur heart, it makes u feel emotions. And if a story can do that, the author has done their job. Great work

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34765Chapter: 1
i love it! hermione's feelings are so real, as is Ron's worry. I love the ending! I can't wait for the next chapter of ATE, you and Arabella keep on writing!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23127Chapter: 1
Beautiful, just simple and wonderful. Thank you for this marvelous tale.

Reviewer: Professor TDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16194Chapter: 1
Excellent! Very well written. I loved the part about Hermione changing the password and knowing that Ron would be able to figure it out (accidentally, of course). I just wonder how the other Gryffindors are going to be able to come inside for the night.

I would say that it should be attached to the AtE epic, but it would have to be a flashback, so I don't know where you could squeeze it in naturally.

As usual, you write Ron and Hermione with depth and realism and emotion that makes us want to be with them all the time.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2002-09-07
Reviewid: 3481Chapter: 1
I love love love the way you write Hermione. If she wasn't my favourite before, she definitely would be now.

I really liked the small inclusion of Draco at the start, too. Thought-provoking - how would he cope?

Reviewer: neshamniy2002@yahoo.comDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 622Chapter: 1
this story is very well written i just want to know one thing..... how the hell do you get the ideas for these stories?????

Reviewer: JillDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 268Chapter: 1
*Sniffle* I LOVE this story!!!!!!! It has caused me to go a wee bit dislexic. it took me 3 tries to type the word sniffle!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --