The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 53

Reviewer: crazymeggDate: 2009-02-13
Reviewid: 151403Chapter: 1
I love it! Thanks for posting such an interesting story. Very well written.

Reviewer: crazymeggDate: 2009-02-13
Reviewid: 151402Chapter: 1
I love it! Thanks for posting such an interesting story. Very well written.

Reviewer: pickledishkillerDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137422Chapter: 1
This is so great... You are right, though. Hermione is made of stronger stuff than that.

Reviewer: JennieDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118369Chapter: 1
I think you are right, Hermione's worst fear couldn't be failing a class. Seriously, this was a much better, well worse depending on how you look at it, fear.

Reviewer: MaginishaDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107548Chapter: 1
Hi!

Although I do believe, that Hermiones bogart really had the shape JKR described, I must admit, that your story is great.

Not being a nativs English writer I cannot jugde your writing skills, but they seem just fine for me.

Enchanting Greetings
Mag

Reviewer: ginnycDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105668Chapter: 1
this is great! so believable to, i can see it actually happening, cos well i dont think even hermiones greratest fear would be McGonogall telling her she'd failed! Great! keep writting! :)

Reviewer: vickiDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103405Chapter: 1
A very well written and beautiful interpretation of Hermione's greatest fear. Very intriguing how Sirius saw the same thing, his best friends dead. That shows a similarity between Hermione and Sirius that we have not seen before. I would have presumed Hermione to be most like Lupin so that was a nice suprise. And i do agree, that *nothing* could make that image funny. A good idea for Hermione to say that she saw McGonagall telling her she failed everything, that would make sense and need no questions asking to those who didn't see through her lie. I am very glad i found this fic as it has changed my view of Hermione, and made me see her as a more caring person than i originally did. She is the worrier of the trio and probably has more on her mind than she likes to let on. A very interesting well-written fic.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101686Chapter: 1
wow. that boggart bit was intense - really well written, it was like i was staring at them too... *cries*

i havent ever really considered harmione's part in that day in any great depth... and i didnt realise she faced the boggart the same day as all that sirius stuff... geez that must've been hard. i think if you wanted to do a longer fic, you could explore that a bit more - i'd love to see your take on it!

the bit at the end was really nice -how ron was teasing her :) yay nice ron

great fic, glad you wrote it

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95952Chapter: 1
That was neat. Part of me wishes that Hermione could have told them what she saw so they would understand and realizes how much she really does care for them, but I understand why she didn't want to tell them. I really liked it good job!

*Geena

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93238Chapter: 1
Aww, this is so sad, but it makes so much sense.

Reviewer: MaayanDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83271Chapter: 1
Ooh, damn, this makes so much *sense*! It agrees completely with the canonical facts and everything, because the books are after all only Harry's POV.
I always kinda thought it didn't make sense for Hermione to be *that* obsessed with her schoolwork, and they've been through so much there just *had* to be something else. This made perfect sense to me. I loved it.
Loved your Remus, he was perfect. This whole fic just had a realistic quality to it.
I gotta say, the description of the boggart was pretty creepy. I just got this flash of *my* best friends in those positions and GOD. Wigged me out completely.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 82982Chapter: 1
Very well done. I do believe in Sirius' Boggart, though his family history brings up a few other possibilities too.
I would also have believed in your story if not for the fact that JKR explicitely said that Hermione's greatest fear is failure.

But still, very well written. An interesting foreshadowing to OotP too.

Reviewer: MinaDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82524Chapter: 1
That was really good. And the thing is, I could see that being really what she saw in there. Great writing.

Reviewer: SaabiraDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78663Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful look at Hermione! And I love the way you wrote Lupin as well. Good job!

Reviewer: Nova KaynDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78397Chapter: 1
Absolutely lovely! You know, I actually didn't think about it that way before...always sorta bought the McGonagall theory, because whether or not we have backbone, sometimes fears can be pretty silly (though of course not to the person who is fearful). Afterall, Ron with his spiders...well i dont find them scary. gross at time sbut not scary. Still, I think I like your explanation loads better. =)

Reviewer: STARLIGHTDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76906Chapter: 1
i always felt the same, that the boggart couldn't possibly be Professor McGonagall telling Hermione she failed, surely Hermione would realize how unlikely that is. so kudos to you! great fic!

Reviewer: AlanaDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74800Chapter: 1
Oh!! I like it! It's really good.

Reviewer: Lindsay the R/H ShipperDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66736Chapter: 1
Sorry if am bothering ya with my compulsion to keep commenting but I have now read all of your fics in one night! I LOVE YOU! Err not in that kind of way... Ehem I love Remus this was such a great fic! Write some more! PLEASE PLEASE! You have all the characters down just right!! Are you sure you aren't JKR? *looks around suspicously* I am glad I took a break from Fanfiction.net!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65017Chapter: 1
awww

Reviewer: Ashtur an'VanganDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55808Chapter: 1
Great! I always more or less "bought" her boggart, as achievement oriented as she is. However, the way you draw it out works even better, especially the way Remus is able to see "through" her, and tie it to Sirius.

I wonder if Snape will ever realize what his fit of pique cost Hogwarts.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54566Chapter: 1
I didn't believe what Hermione said about that boggart either. This is much more believable :)

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50602Chapter: 1
yeah. i always wondered that.
i mean, as much of a bookworm as mione is, i doubt that her GREATEST fear woudl be failing. not with voldie running about.
especially by now, her boggart must look a lot lik mrs.weaslys.

Reviewer: AtheneDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50030Chapter: 1
After all those three have been through together, I didn't think that Hermione really saw herself failing, either. All three of them have come close enough to loosing each other to not fear that more than their grades. You did a really great job on this...It almost made me cry. (It would have, if my brother hadn't come up behind me and started tickling me.)

Reviewer: Indigo ZionaDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48966Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Plus your disclaimer really made me laugh. Anyway, you got Hermione perfect - you're now making me doubt seriously that she saw Professor McGonagall at all...

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48230Chapter: 1
wow. great story. I loved it.

Reviewer: VickyDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47820Chapter: 1
Actually, knowing a bit about the British education system I *can* believe that Hermione at that age would have been really, deeply bothered by the notion of failing. A lot of British parents drum it into their kids from an early age that academic success is everything and that their approval and the child's future as anything other than a deadbeat crucially depends on it; this kind of attitude is especially strong in the type of middle-class background Hermione comes from.

But otherwise it's really nice. Brilliantly written - and it's lovely to see Hermione with so much depth for a change :)

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44508Chapter: 1
Wonderful, heartbreaking and truly insightful! Just Perfect. It wasn't 'til I read the A/N at the end that I remembered/realised that Hermione seeing Harry and Ron dead *wasn't* canon!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44491Chapter: 1
That was lovely. And I like your version better than the original (plus, since the story is from Hr vp, it's credible, b/c JKR usually only gives us Harry's VP.) Lovely, lovely story. I especially like it in view of the events we see in OotP, where Mrs. Weasley's boggart takes on the form her family being dead.

Reviewer: SociofemmeDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44064Chapter: 1
I keep coming back to this story. This is one of the best Hermione stories I've ever read (and considering she's my favorite character to read, that's saying something).

Reviewer: tixDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43359Chapter: 1
ooh, so moving....
I really liked your idea, and if you've read OoP someone else thinks like you.

When I read the Boggart lesson in the book, I thought it was a good thing the lesson was with boys and girls so young: the fears, at that age, are very simple, because everything really scary will be fixed by adults.
But when you are older there are so many things... your parents'aging, you suddenly discover you are not ethernal, and every day possible disasters... and there's no way to make them funny.

I liked Hermione's boggart by JKR, by the way. I thought it was right to give this smart girl a less material fear: the fear of failure. And embodied in something really "girlish"... eams never end in life and sometimes you'd wish they were so simple as school exams.

In a certain way I prefer JKR's way: she shows a growing hermione, but not a grown up one.

Your version is more adult. It is enjoyable, I liked the story, but it belongs to a bit older Hermione...
In my humble opinion of course.

I hope you don't mind of this mild critic, but you are an adult, I think you can understand what I mean, and, obviously, you will survive even without a 100% from me (I am joking of course).

I hope you don't get offended: it is difficult to sound light and kind in a second language.

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 39035Chapter: 1
Even if I may have reviewed this before (don't remember...) I jut have to say now, that after the scene with Molly in OotP, this is really...chilling. It was soo soo good, but really, really chilling. I could really believe this. I mean, I believed it before, but now I really, REALLY believe this. Thanx,
Meghan

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30980Chapter: 1
*gasp* Wow, that was really intense. But wonderful. Oh, I want to hug them all.

You're right, I never bought Hermione's explanation of her boggart either. And I always thought that a lot of the students' boggarts in class were quite childish - mummies, severed hands, things like that. I think the idea that you've lost something - someone - who you can never get back is the most petrifying thing you could face. And I don't think Riddikulus would necessarily help.

Well done - this is a great fic. The only bit that sounded (to me) a little bit American is this: "There was no trace of the limp hed had earlier in the day. Hermione supposed hed finished healing up and had stretched it out some." It's just the 'some' at the end. But feel free to ignore me! (I do!)

Hey - I've read almost everything of yours on here, in one afternoon. I might go and complete the oeuvre! *g*

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26649Chapter: 1
hey! this wasn't awful at all!!! i agree with you, so this story is perfectly perfect!!! haha i loveD it & how hermione is so close to her boys!! (i like to call them like that!) haha
congratulations

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25385Chapter: 1
Your discriptions are wonderful. I love the way you describe death. It's bone chilling, it really is. This seems much more likely to be Hermione's boggart than McG telling her she failed a class. The way you put it, it seems like that's the reason Lupin didn't let her fight the boggart in class--that he knew it would be Harry and Ron dead. Amazing. Simply amazing.

Reviewer: Lily SolstarDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23099Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Speaking as someone who also felt short-changed by the Professor McGonagall bogart, I really like this. Gave good descriptions - especailly of the bodies (morbid, maybe, but good). Anyway, this was thoughtfully and *very* well writing. Loved it!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19623Chapter: 1
An interesting possibility (:

Reviewer: RenDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19414Chapter: 1
I maintain only what I have said in the past. You rule. Not only that, but this was terrific. You did Lupin perfectly, and Ron and Hermione. I cannot honestly say I've ever seen another story about this, but you...you did this just wonderfully. Congratulations on yet another beautifully written piece.

Reviewer: A. AlexanderDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17517Chapter: 1
I really like your take on Hermione's boggart. I thought the failing a class thing in the book was too simplistic. This was much better, more believable.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15717Chapter: 1
Oh, that's absolutely beautiful. I've always thought it a bit odd that Hermione just got Professor McGonagall for her boggart. This is a wonderful interpration. I love it to pieces.

Reviewer: annieDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14824Chapter: 1
This and TSEIMI are the two most beautifully handled stories I've ever read about death. I'm a big fan of all your fics, but these two (sorry I dont want to leave 2 reviews :) are some of my favorite fics ever. I seriously feel that kids should be read them to teach them about death, they're so simple, yet so poignant and true to the issue. I really love the subtle moral questions they raise, like in TSEIMI, under what circumstances is it right to use the Time Turner to save someone and whether someone should be judged on how they can "get over" their fears.
I think Hermione & Harry have something in common at this point in their lives in that they have that heavy feeling of, like Hermione said,being too old for their age & having that responsibility of knowing death too well. I don't think Ron has that gravity yet but I think he'll get it soon. They're all going to have to grow up really fast, as all kids do in wars.
I really love the imagery in this and it's sequel; the images of the corpses, the lifeless eyes, and in TSEIMI the ashes on Hermione's forehead, Ron carrying her, and the flashbacks in italics. But I think I'll stop blabbing now. Just wanted to let you know that you're a really excellent writer & I love your fics (which is why I read them over and over and over...:)

Reviewer: LoupLuneDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14797Chapter: 1
That. Was. Awesome. Simply awesome!!!!!
LL

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11364Chapter: 1
AMAZING STORY! It was more than can be put into words.

Reviewer: meDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10554Chapter: 1
wow! i never really thought about it like that, i mean i always thought it was wierd that what hermione saw was a professer but it actually made sense w/your idea!!! i loved it!!

Reviewer: RikaHPDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9137Chapter: 1
Wow. Not many fics can make me cry, and it's a sure sign of a good one when they can.
Excellent work, and amazing insight. Thankyou for such a beautiful piece.

Reviewer: monicDate: 2002-10-22
Reviewid: 6845Chapter: 1
wow. I am impressed, yes, I agree with you Hermione's fear in the boggart test had me puzzled but your explianation of the episode is more plausible:) Thanks for writing this

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2002-10-21
Reviewid: 6795Chapter: 1
Oh I love this story so much. I never bought Hermione's boggart in the books and this is exactly how I imagined hers to really be (written in a far more eloquent way than I could ever imagine though lol)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-10-13
Reviewid: 6176Chapter: 1
Brilliant!! I've always suspected that Hermione had too much backbone to have been that terrified of what she said she saw in the boggart's trunk. This story is powerful, and the interaction between Hermione and Lupin is very poignant.

Reviewer: majiklmoonDate: 2002-09-20
Reviewid: 4325Chapter: 1
that was great. Honestly, i had never given much thought to what Hermione saw, I just accepted it at face value. But, your story has shed a new light on PoA. Very well done!

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1847Chapter: 1
you know, i thought that if i had to face a boggart it would be a dementor but since iv read this mine would be like Hermione's. except mine would have my cousin Jackie who i love dearly and would give my life up for and my best friend Samantha who i would also die for would be in the place of Ron and Harry. I dont know what i would do if they died. I pray to god that i die before them. This story really touched me and made me think. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for writing it. email me anytime.
Jen

Reviewer: xellia metalliumDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 826Chapter: 1
my gosh!!!! 2nd story of yours that I had to run around looking for kleenex! I was never the sentimental, emotional type of person who cried over everything (heck, I LAUGHED while watching Titanic!) but damn.. your story trully touched my heart!! that is what you called heartwarming fic! grr!!

Xellia Metallium

Reviewer: WerrfDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 678Chapter: 1
Excellent. Quite a bone-chilling description of Dead Harry and Ron. Quite wonderful.

Reviewer: Philipppa SommervilleDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 554Chapter: 1
I love this one. Very good expalnation of Hermione's boggart.

Reviewer: angellindaDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 435Chapter: 1
I likes! Thanx for giving me something cool to read! I hope you write something else soon. :o)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --