The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Bedtime Stories
Review(s): 117

Reviewer: rotemDate: 2007-05-24
Reviewid: 148074Chapter: 1
one of the cutest fics i've had a chance to read :)

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2007-01-25
Reviewid: 146995Chapter: 1
Yes, but what about the part where "Harmony" becomes Minister of Magic???

Reviewer: SillyGillieDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140145Chapter: 1
Really cute. I loved it!

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139409Chapter: 1
The Fic, Bedtime story's needs to be continued. Now
that we know the real players.I really think that
it would be nice to get them to confess to their
son and tell Him their real names and to inform him
that he is a young wizzard. But the fic is a very well
written story .Please continue with it if you can.

Reviewer: Timothy T KroggDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135562Chapter: 1
This is a very enjoyable read, Please continue with
it as this could be very exciting. firstly to have
a son and be the Son of Harry and Ginny Potter.
That is quite Fantastic. Please continue

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135414Chapter: 1
Aw, that's cute! Would it be a bad thing for me to admit that a few years ago I used to imagine the books were real as well?

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134614Chapter: 1
Aww, so sweet! I love the ending to the canon - "But this was now a different world. A world where they didn't fear for their lives. A world where Harry Potter would always be 'the Boy Who Lived' ...with or without his scar." Fabulous!

Reviewer: accentDate: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133638Chapter: 1
Good, but I think it would have been interesting and cooler if they were the HP charecters but changed their names so no one would find them...that ii just me though....

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130594Chapter: 1
EARNEST WHITE!

LOL. Simply brilliant! And Henry Gardner?! LOL.

Love the names!

Nice job!

~ DS.

Reviewer: FranDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122196Chapter: 1
Ingenius, I love the idea. Earnest White aka Sirius Black and Jimmy Gardner who just has to be James Potter, Harry and Ginny's son. Every child (or even 20 year old who should know better) dreams that their favourite fiction becomes reality with them as a star character. lol

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-05-15
Reviewid: 122117Chapter: 1
HAHAHA! THE NAMES WERE JUST TOO GREAT!

Earnest White...Sirius Black
Gardner...Potter

:)

What a great idea. Awesome short story!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118430Chapter: 1
Cute

Reviewer: Tabitha H.Date: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 116966Chapter: 1
Aw! I really like this story. I'd love to see more of it! Very intriguing idea. Also, I read the reviews before hand and whoever it was that said they'd always fantasized about JKR being a witch writing about a real wizard... I've done the same thing! Then again, when I was a little girl and my mother read me The Hobbit, I thought something similar of JRRT and Middle Earth... wouldn't it be wonderful if that were all true? That's why you need to write more. ;)

Reviewer: Ashlee SincockDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115862Chapter: 1
I think this was a great story, though it got a tad confusing when you used the names henry and jenny, don and harmony instead of the names from the book so it made me skim back over it a few times to check that it wasn't just a mistake. Other than that fantastic, i'm actually trying to write my own sugar quills story for a subject at school and i had no idea what to do so thanks for the inspiration!

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 115032Chapter: 1
That is such a cute fic!!! Your part about when Harry defeats Voldemort and his scar goes away is something i have never thought of before!!! Props for that one!!! I like this fic alot! Keep writing your fics are all so good!

Reviewer: Lyny AngellDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113250Chapter: 1
That's really really neat! I like that! You have an imagination! Way to go for using it.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110255Chapter: 1
Nice twist. That made me laugh quite a bit. It's funny, the idea that Rowling 'changed the names to protect the innocent'. Heehee. Interesting idea.

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110143Chapter: 1
This was wonderful, and so funny!!!!!!!!!

Earnest White! HAHAHA!

Great job!

Earnest...hehe...

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103073Chapter: 1
You HAVE to write more about this! It leaves me in the same sense of frustration as Jimmy!!!

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103021Chapter: 1
LoL, I like it! It's kind of strange, but it's kind of cool, too. :D

Reviewer: Yes, I Love ConspiriciesDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102714Chapter: 1
Ok, has anyone noticed that JK had red hair and green eyes before she dyed her hair blond? Yeah,conincidence? Maybe not.....Amd Neil, her husband, has black hair and glasses. Does this remind you of anything?


Dun dun duh.....

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102533Chapter: 1
That was hilarious, lol. I liked how you made the names so similar to the HP characters. Good work.

*Geena

Reviewer: LorinDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101184Chapter: 1
GREAT!!!!!
Earnest White is my new idol!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99747Chapter: 1
Very cute story! A clever concept. And don't we all wish that it really was true? One thing I was confused about, though, was who Earnest White stands for. It's probably obvious and I'm just being a dunce. =)

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99617Chapter: 1
WOW!!! I can understand why the kid felt like that. Now I wonder what the real ending will be like! DRAMA!!!
~Artemis, The Hunter~

Reviewer: JenniDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97566Chapter: 1
I really liked this! hee hee, that names made me giggle so much that a customer just looked at me funny (I'm at work at my store right now.) Great!!

Reviewer: mirandaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95881Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I love all the name changes and everything. It makes it seem as though there really is a wizarding world we just don't know about.

I read somewhere that the last word of the seventh book was going to be 'scar', and I have no idea if you knew that or not, but the your ending was great. The whole thing was amazing :D

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94695Chapter: 1
*sigh* i love fics like this.....
it IS real, i know it is!
makes me feel justified in my assumptions that any couple vaguely resembling harry and ginny really is them.... :P yeh i know im sad.

thanks for putting some SQUEE in my day.

(... hehehehe earnest. i have to laugh.)

Reviewer: ShadowTigerDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91726Chapter: 1
Amazing, totallly originial!

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91268Chapter: 1
That was increadibly sweet! :) I particularly liked your characterisation of Jimmy and how much he loved to hear the books. The little snippet of "canon" was very plausable; I would just like to have known, though, how J.K. Rowling got word of Henry Gardner and how she came about writing his story.

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90072Chapter: 1
*snicker* Heheh. That was pretty good. Sorry, I wish I had something better to say, but... I don't. -.-
-Cheesy

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89913Chapter: 1
I've always had a private fantasy that JKR was a witch and stole the story of a real wizard's life...just changing it a bit!!!! v v v gd!

Reviewer: BoonsDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88937Chapter: 1
that was really good

Reviewer: Raven CDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88909Chapter: 1
strange. a bit different than what i'd thought by the description.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88785Chapter: 1
Very Original/Unique/Interesting, excellent work. Just one thing I don't get... Who is Earnest White? Oh wait, just as I am writing it I think I get it... Sirius Black? That's got to be it, took be a bit longer since, well... this must've been written before OotP. ^^ Quite enjoyable, thanks.

Reviewer: elanineDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 88003Chapter: 1
good story....but i'm confused at who Earnest is supposed to be...

Reviewer: HItchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87170Chapter: 1
wow, what a riot! very original

Reviewer: abcDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86977Chapter: 1
To HeatherK - Sirius Black is Earnest White as a play on serious = earnest and... well, black/white is more obvious.

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86976Chapter: 1
Oh, I absolutely LOVE the name changes. Earnest White!! And Gardner for Potter is great. Such a sweet story...

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86873Chapter: 1
Oh I love it! That's so cute! I suspected when his case showed up that he was magic, but for them to be Muggles?! Oh I love it! "She brushed through her long, red hair" that was the giveaway, but really...Earnest White? ROFL that just does not sound like a proper name for the trouble maker! Great story though, absolutely adorable!

Reviewer: LannDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86049Chapter: 1
Oh wow. That was good. Henry=Harry and Jenny=Ginny, and so on... THAT WAS FANTASTIC!!!!!!

Reviewer: MysticDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86044Chapter: 1
I've read this ficlet before about a year or so ago and just came across it again...still I love it. So goes with the rumour of the 7th book having the last word as "scar". I really enjoyed the real-life feel of the story. Thank you...it was endearing...*grins*

Reviewer: mandyDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86038Chapter: 1
that kid that said that this story sucked is a loser. this story was very creative and cute

Reviewer: billeeDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85866Chapter: 1
this storee was dumb

Reviewer: AriadneyDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85719Chapter: 1
Awww, really sweet and cute!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85604Chapter: 1
This is such a cute story! I like it a lot! I'll remember this plot if JK Rowling's book really does end without telling us the rest... it is adorable! Great job!

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83075Chapter: 1
Oh, this is really cute. I particularly love "Earnest White."

Reviewer: Donna Irene MohrDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82345Chapter: 1
Great. I could see this as a movie. You know it would be kind of cool if the Harry Potter movies were set like this. A princess bride sort of format, but I guess there's too many books to have that scenario over and over. Write a sequel or prequel or something.

Reviewer: TiaDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81726Chapter: 1
OOOH! :D How sweet little story! I love it. The ending of the book was sad, but it was good to know that it ended happily. :)

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81224Chapter: 1
Your story is such a pleasant conclusion for the very last chapter ever. It was short and sweet(in a good way). *sniff* It even made me tear up a little.

Reviewer: azaleaDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81221Chapter: 1
i really enjoyed this fic...the way it makes you think about everything from a different perspective

Reviewer: LineDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80645Chapter: 1
Priceless.... magnificent... I loved it!
~Line

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77868Chapter: 1
I love this. So cute and fun! :)

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77459Chapter: 1
This is BRILLIANT!!! You almost made me cry. I certanly will if the story ends licke that. I hope Harry won´t let them behind.

Reviewer: Tabbycat2000Date: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76289Chapter: 1
This is just so cute! I love it!

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73387Chapter: 1
Great Story! Now that I think about it, I'm going to be devastated when the Harry Potter books end- I'm going to cry! I hope the 7th book doesn't end like that! That's funny how the names are sort of alike- Don and Ron! hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.............................

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73337Chapter: 1
That's brilliant!!!

I honestly thought it was a fic that was kinda making fun out of how the seventh book is going to end and I found your concluding sentences very convincing. When I went on to read about mum and dad as Jenny and Henry, it brought a huge grin to my face! It's just like reading the real Harry Potter books, you get to a point where everything is turned upseide down.

It's great. Very original and very witty.

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72545Chapter: 1
Eeheehee!! How silly! I just loved it!!

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72493Chapter: 1
AWWWWWW I really loved this ficlet :). it was very nice to see in the end that Jimmy's parents were Harry and Ginny (oh, well, Henry and Jenn, of course!). I think you did a great job in giving different but similar names to the characters :)

I bet Jimmy will be a bit shocked the day he'll receive his Hogwarts' letter :) *I* would be shocked to know that the character of whom I've read the story until a few days ago is in reality my dad :)

I enjoyed the story very much. Bravo!

PS: Jimmy's right, it's a lame ending ... but I think you wrote it like this on purpose :D)

PS2: Oh, I join the general question: who's Ernest White? Maybe Sirius?

Reviewer: OccamyDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72422Chapter: 1
Uh... it's so weird when you go back and remember all those little jokes you had about a character in a book, or read a fanfic that was written almost ages ago, and you think, "He's dead now. He won't have any more sarcastic comments and the epilogue won't say that he's now an Auror and it won't all be very ironic that an escaped convict is now an Auror, it'll just be ironic he died saving Harry when Harry was trying to save _him_!" Oh, and this is interesting, maybe could you continue it? *giggle* Although I bet I won't be able to risk the temptation to take the mickey at a dead person's "real" name next time!

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72291Chapter: 1
Awesome story!! LoL I love how you had his reaction to the ending and then his parents were Harry and Ginny, or should I say Henry and Jenny! Great job I loved it!!

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71370Chapter: 1
This is sweet. I like the idea that Harry, or "Henry" managed to escape the famous father image until it is likely that Jimmy could appreciate it.

Thank you.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71297Chapter: 1
i love this small fic! i always read it once in a while.....its feel-good!

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71259Chapter: 1
ow...that was....weird...but...nice.....I gotta tell ya..."A world where they didn't fear for their lives. A world where Harry Potter would always be 'the Boy Who Lived' ...with or without his scar." ...it was a STUPID ending...anyway...the rest of the story...I loved it... ;)

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70329Chapter: 1
this is one of the cutest fanfics i've read...and the most original idea :) Good work!

Reviewer: David JordanDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70031Chapter: 1
Excellent!!!!! I loved it.

Reviewer: ElvishPrincessSaggieDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68851Chapter: 1
Good good.. Keep up the good work!!!!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65547Chapter: 1
interesting story, very different

Reviewer: silver stagDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63239Chapter: 1
loved it! verry cute story and a great idea! :)

Reviewer: Timothy TDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63206Chapter: 1
To Alphie
From Baron Von Krogg
A very excellent Story, It would be so nice to see
it continued as the Fic could really lead somewhere.
Have a very enjoyable Holiday Season

Reviewer: kochokwaloDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63037Chapter: 1
That's a cool!! But i do prefer the names from JKR better. Good job. I'm also a big fan of you "sex talk" series. That made me cry from laughing so hard!! Well anyways that was a good read.

Reviewer: mattyDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63014Chapter: 1
that is such a good one! really good. but you shouldn't have made the names like that. it confused me a bit. but once i saw the " red hair ...black hair" part i knew who you were talking about...even if they had different names.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62999Chapter: 1
This story is so cute!!!! It's so creative! Everyone wishes Harry Potter were real, but you are the first author to write about it!!!!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62277Chapter: 1
Very cute. I enjoyed it a lot!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61942Chapter: 1
Funny story, the only one of it's kind I've come across.
I saw it coming as soon as I read about the glasses and the long red hair.
I like this a lot!! But whay did Harry and Ginny "go into hiding", as it were?
:-)

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61941Chapter: 1
Earnest White is Sirius Black, of course! Or so I imagine...

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61793Chapter: 1
Harmony: Hermione
Don: Ron
Henry: Harry
Jenny: Ginny
i liked this story, but who is earnest white?
i didn't get that. maybe i didn't read it thoroughly enough? will u email me telling me who earnest white is supposed to be? pleez?
thanx!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61412Chapter: 1
that was a really cute story =)

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61095Chapter: 1
Cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59657Chapter: 1
How cute is that! Ginny and Harry have been reading the books to their child. Great Idea.

Reviewer: The Ultimate OtakuDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52947Chapter: 1
OH, wow, genius, pure genius! I have never read a fanfic like this, ever. It was extremely creative and unique, I loved it! Cute, funny, and sweet, how interesting! Harry going off to live with the Muggles, wow! I wonder how he lost his scar? This is all very interesting! And the thought that Jimmy is actually the son of Ginny/Jenny and Harry/Henry! Incredible. Excellently written fanfic, in character, and just overall fantastic!

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51630Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this story! This kid is living my dream! How many times this fantasy played through my mind I don't know but he's so lucky! Unfortunatly though, I'm 13 so my letter will never come. :( LOL

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49013Chapter: 1
*grins broadly*
Don playing in the cup, marrying Harmony, Henry FINALLY getting with Jenny, and Earnest getting pardoned.
what more could we ask for?
this was just.......
i loved it.
boy, is THAT kid gonna be happy when he realised that harry potter's based on his DAD.
oh, can you write a sequel? maybe you have. i'll have to check.

Reviewer: Mini GinnyDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48499Chapter: 1
Loved ur story was s ceative!Please write more!

Reviewer: JoDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48445Chapter: 1
That was just too cute. :0)

I could see it coming a mile away, but it was still an enchanting little story.

Reviewer: glitterDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47361Chapter: 1
Ahhh,s o funny!! i love character play on names!!! that was very clever, i like ur ending very much!!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-06-27
Reviewid: 38682Chapter: 1
That was awesome! i seriously hope that the books don't end that way *shudders*, but i like the name plays. It's cute. Awesome, spectauclar, EXCELLENT!!!!!

Reviewer: FalrowDate: 2003-06-25
Reviewid: 38501Chapter: 1
That's stuch a cool endding!!!!

Reviewer: Delirious?Date: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37234Chapter: 1
That was awesome!!! Very thought provoking.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35743Chapter: 1
Hee hee hee. Very cute story, and it's undoutedly unique. The play on the characters' names is great: Harry and Henry, Jenny and Ginny . . . I love it.

Reviewer: CarpeNoctemDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35024Chapter: 1
That was adorable!

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32306Chapter: 1
Very clever with the names! A nice, short fic, and one that I'm sure all us devoted Harry-lovers have dreamed of living. Thanks!

Reviewer: googligooDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31080Chapter: 1
just to tell u something. in the end of harrypotter7thbook[which will be a very sad day indeed] jkr tells what happens to each of them. their carrer, spouses, and children.

Reviewer: JonnyDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30853Chapter: 1
OMG that was fantastic, a lovely different perspective, great stuff!

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30417Chapter: 1
OMG! That was so cool! What a neat twist. I was kind of thinking it was really Harry and Ginny for most of the story, but I knew for sure when it said she had red hair :-) I thought the whole thing with the names was really interesting. At first, I was under the impression that Harry and Ginny and everyone had changed their names so that people wouldn't know it was them. But, I think the fact that those were their real names and the books changed them was a much cooler and more original idea. Very good story! I really like it ^_^

Reviewer: PriscaDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28640Chapter: 1
This is adorable! I wish my parents would tell me something like this.

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28548Chapter: 1
to sparkysparkles
earnest white is sirius black. think about it.

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28547Chapter: 1
i love the names!! earnest white. took me a second to figure that one out. then i saw his last name...
i think i much prefer sirius however. oh well doesnt stop me from enjoying a GREAT fanfic

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27343Chapter: 1
Lol! That was so cute!

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27181Chapter: 1
Love it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --